no need branded anything.. where to find?.. [laugh]

my wife only wanted 1 type of car ...

that has 4 wheels , working aircon ..

nothing else..

no need branded anything.. where to find?.. [laugh]

you need a steering wheel? [laugh]

I think COE should be tweaked like this...

1. Live in HDB - got discount on QP

2. Discount on QP for every child you have

3. If three generation household got discount on QP

4. If in sales line got discount on QP

5. If must make 3 or more transfers to get to work - got discount on COE (transfer is change MRT line, change from MRT to bus, change LRT to MRT - so for example if take LRT transfer MRT transfer BUS that is two transfers)

Each item 1-5 is a 20% on COE price

You have taken it quite literally!! Hahaha

Yes a steering wheel!! Momo pls?? And then the poison list continues ...

5. If must make 3 or more transfers to get to work - got discount on COE (transfer is change MRT line, change from MRT to bus, change LRT to MRT - so for example if take LRT transfer MRT transfer BUS that is two transfers)

You forgot:

6. If Singaporean citizen get discount on QP

7. If served national service get discount on QP

8. For every child born, get discount on QP

Everyone wants to be entitled to a discount, when the list gets long enough QP will keep going up while discounts remain the same. Up to a point when nett nett we are back to square one. :huh:

You forgot:

Everyone wants to be entitled to a discount, when the list gets long enough QP will keep going up while discounts remain the same. Up to a point when nett nett we are back to square one. :huh:

6 and 8 agree with...

number 7 don't agree - politicians have already said that serving NS in and of itself is a privilege - if serving NS is a privilege why get more benefits? :omg:[smash][;)]

6 and 8 agree with...

number 7 don't agree - politicians have already said that serving NS in and of itself is a privilege - if serving NS is a privilege why get more benefits? :omg:[smash][;)]

Well, that is another can of worms. [laugh]

You forgot:

One more

9. PAP supporter get 25% discount.

[drivingcar]

Ya lor, got aircon but no doors and roof how to keep the cold air in?

One more

9. PAP supporter get 25% discount.

[drivingcar]

\10. Then vote WP have to pay 300% PARF?

Nowadays people pocket bigger so cars getting bigger. Nowadays see so many 2.5 litres and above cars on the road.

Wah.. your rationale means at least 50% of the locals cannot afford a car... hahaha.. at current COE prices

Well, it is my opinion that at current prices, >50% really can't comfortably afford a car. I have never paid over my yearly take home pay for a car actually, that's why always end up buy used car...

Edited by Ake109

10 more years, the population will be 6M maybe 7M, and COE premium will be $200k. Give you 25% discount, so $150k, ai mai?

Given all the current screaming about 60-70k COE, it is interesting to look back and think that for a short period in the 90s, when wanton mee at Neo Tiew was still $1.50 and taxi flagdown was can't remember 1.80 or something like that and max bus fare was $1.20 or around there, COE was $100k and people were still queuing up to buy cars.

11. If you take public transport also got discount in QP ( rebate base on your ridership over the annually )

Edited by Char

To me, the cost of a car should be at least on par with your annual income. Anything less than that, it would be a stretch. Note that i mentioned about your annual income, not the household income.

For example, if you buy a Hyundai Accent at $85,888. Your annual income should at least match that. You know you are ready for a car when you can pay for the entire sum in cash.

hmm act is it the T2 effect tat pple keep having to say need to pay in cash then means can well afford?

with the impending increase in interest rate, there are now so much more instruments to help u earn a bigger interest than the 1.88% loan interest. Right now u look hard u wil alr see FD% above 1.5%pa.

paying in full good. but paying in full while depleting most of one's savings not tat good.

hmm act is it the T2 effect tat pple keep having to say need to pay in cash then means can well afford?

with the impending increase in interest rate, there are now so much more instruments to help u earn a bigger interest than the 1.88% loan interest. Right now u look hard u wil alr see FD% above 1.5%pa.

paying in full good. but paying in full while depleting most of one's savings not tat good.

1.88% for car loan is HP interest, not same as FD 1.5% APR.

1.88% equates to over 5% over 5 years if using APR.

And I wouldn't even go as far as to say paying full cash means can afford.

I theoretically can buy a brand new M3 in full cash but that doesn't mean I can afford the car still. If I was 21 yrs old maybe (and even then it is not a prudent financial move), but at my current age it is crazy to have no cash savings/liquid investments.

I would put it as about 100% of disposable annual income (not take home but disposable) to be really comfortable. Again, this is for my age group at about 40. If you are younger you can splurge more of your disposable income but the older you get, the less you can afford such cash outflows.

Edited by Ake109

1.88% for car loan is HP interest, not same as FD 1.5% APR.

1.88% equates to over 5% over 5 years if using APR.

And I wouldn't even go as far as to say paying full cash means can afford.

I theoretically can buy a brand new M3 in full cash but that doesn't mean I can afford the car still. If I was 21 yrs old maybe (and even then it is not a prudent financial move), but at my current age it is crazy to have no cash savings/liquid investments.

I would put it as about 100% of disposable annual income (not take home but disposable) to be really comfortable. Again, this is for my age group at about 40. If you are younger you can splurge more of your disposable income but the older you get, the less you can afford such cash outflows.

yes ever since the pay in full became the bnb term in mcf for affordability, it seems pple jus keep harping on this. to me it means nothing. all im trying to say is (1) FD% will increase (yes even above car loan %) and (2) if paying in full meant using most of one's savings tat is not good too.

my personal experience my FD% interest is higher than my car loan %. I take the loan amount i got from bank X and put into bank Y and i stil in net positive. and i use FD% becos if i touch on the potential higher returns from stocks & reits, can argue until the cows come home [flowerface]

Got this kind of lobang can share? Any FD that can give higher than car loan APR I confirm put all my money in there!

You took a 1.88% 1 year loan?

Or you are talking about FD not denominated in SGD?

Even SGS 5/10 year bonds are lower than equivalent 1.88% HP over 5 years. What bank can give such high FD?

Unless you are extreme level private client with super preferential rates can buy 1 car per week type.

Edited by Ake109

You're right. I am unable to pay in full - only can pay 40% downpayment. I need to reserve cash for my three children Uni education as I do not want them to take any Education Loan.

no la, their model for distribution of HDB is skewed anyway, you award benefits based on skewed model is going to make it even more skewed.