Scion Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 aiyah, you guys argue till the cows come home on which country's mrt system is better so what? it's the mrt management team who need to go out there to HK, japan, china, taiwan, south korea so that they can see where we stand... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 You might like to know that both Beijing Subway (16 lines excluding Rail) and Shanghai's Metro (13 lines excluding Maglev and Rail) networks are both 4 times longer in length than Singapore MRT (4 lines excluding LRT). Thats obvious. May I know the point you are trying to make? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 First you said Tokyo system is too big and cannot be compared with SG, then you said BJ system, although much bigger and higher traffic, is similar to SG ? What's your point ? You mind reading my posts again? Which of my post mentioned that Tokyo is too big and cannot be compared to Singapore's? My issue is with your comparison just on peak hours. Later, I used Beijing as a proxy for SZ and GZ not Singapore. You wanna go through my posts again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 i did. same capabilities as in? waiting time few mins, clean, spacious, reach destination, aircon cold, gantry working, etc same as most mrts..... never been on japan, seoul and taiwan but for hongkong, the seats are much smaller, the tvs while nice can be too noisy (depending on perference) Hmmm... we were talking about Japan vs SG and you said "if like that, i think the shenzhen mrt and guangzhou mrt also equally good....." Now you mentioned you have not been to Japan. Then based on what are you making the claims? What I was curious to know is whether GZ and SZ have trains schedules down to the minutes that is adhered to? Rapid and Super Rapid services that allows passenger to bypass stations and seat reservations systems? Also how does the cleanliness and crowdedness compare? Unfortunately, you have not been in Japan and so your post on GZ and SZ was not relevant to the discussion then. Cheers. if you ask me compare hk to sg.. i also tell you similar... not much diff..... why is sg behind them? care to advise? HK > Singapore becos: 1) Their trains are more frequent 2) Their train the passengers which side of the door will open 3) When waiting for train the info system actually tells you what time the next train is coming instead of playing commercial 4) Less crowded 5) Air Con generally better (never had a stuffy train ride there) 6) At their interchanges, e.g at causeway bay, they timed the train so that whenever possible both trains come in at the same time so pax just cross over (I know someone working there) 7) There was a report in the straits time that the signaling system of SMRT does not allow frequency of trains to be below certain time, a feat that the HKG MTR allows. 8) I think there are more that other forumners can add... I saw a couple who mentioned they rate HKG's MTR > SG's MRT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Hmmm... we were talking about Japan vs SG and you said "if like that, i think the shenzhen mrt and guangzhou mrt also equally good....." Now you mentioned you have not been to Japan. Then based on what are you making the claims? What I was curious to know is whether GZ and SZ have trains schedules down to the minutes that is adhered to? Rapid and Super Rapid services that allows passenger to bypass stations and seat reservations systems? Also how does the cleanliness and crowdedness compare? Unfortunately, you have not been in Japan and so your post on GZ and SZ was not relevant to the discussion then. Cheers. HK > Singapore becos: 1) Their trains are more frequent 2) Their train the passengers which side of the door will open 3) When waiting for train the info system actually tells you what time the next train is coming instead of playing commercial 4) Less crowded 5) Air Con generally better (never had a stuffy train ride there) 6) At their interchanges, e.g at causeway bay, they timed the train so that whenever possible both trains come in at the same time so pax just cross over (I know someone working there) 7) There was a report in the straits time that the signaling system of SMRT does not allow frequency of trains to be below certain time, a feat that the HKG MTR allows. 8) I think there are more that other forumners can add... I saw a couple who mentioned they rate HKG's MTR > SG's MRT. to add on to HKG trains: 8 carriages moves faster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 (edited) Hmmm... we were talking about Japan vs SG and you said "if like that, i think the shenzhen mrt and guangzhou mrt also equally good....." Now you mentioned you have not been to Japan. Then based on what are you making the claims? based on what you mentioned below. sit in train during off peak and getting into train during off peak. I have been to Japan more than 10 times last 5 years and stayed there a while every trip. Guess what, when people say Tokyo, they are talking about JR Shinzuku station during the peak hours and the part where people are packed in are during the peak hours. I sometimes get to sit in Tokyo's train during off-peak and getting into the train is very very easy during offpeak. And during peak hours, no matter how packed, once you get into the train, you know exactly (down to the min) when you will reach your destination. What I was curious to know is whether GZ and SZ have trains schedules down to the minutes that is adhered to? Rapid and Super Rapid services that allows passenger to bypass stations and seat reservations systems? Also how does the cleanliness and crowdedness compare? Unfortunately, you have not been in Japan and so your post on GZ and SZ was not relevant to the discussion then. Cheers. you want talk about reserved seating for long haul trains then yes they have it too and the seats are unlike mrt seats, more like coach seats. spacious and clean. they even have first class and 2nd class seats. it's known as he jie hao. runs from GZ to SZ. as for knowing exactly to the min when you reach destination. it is roughly 2-3 mins for each station. except maybe for a few longer stations. crowd? except for period around CNY, i never failed to board the train. cleanliness? you got a bacteria count meter? cuz i hardly see rubbish around. do not forget, i did not discredit japan but i gave credit to sz and gz instead. japan may be better but how much.. is it enough to put 1 above another? so far what you say japan have, china also have leh so why not relevant? or because you also never go before so not relevant? HK > Singapore becos: 1) Their trains are more frequent is it? i waited 6-7 mins for one in hk before during non- peak. peak hours sg about 2-4mins, hk also about 2-4mins no meh? 2) Their train the passengers which side of the door will open you confirm never sit sg mrt for very long time. 3) When waiting for train the info system actually tells you what time the next train is coming instead of playing commercial hahaha... like that i think you cannot comment on SG mrt liao.. cuz what you say is so untrue.. look at bottom right hand corner of the advert 4) Less crowded subjective. i disagree 5) Air Con generally better (never had a stuffy train ride there) agree on never had a stuffy ride in hk. but sg only once awhile. unless live in hk for a certain period of time then can ascertain 6) At their interchanges, e.g at causeway bay, they timed the train so that whenever possible both trains come in at the same time so pax just cross over (I know someone working there) try raffles place. paris ris line and woodlands line. works similarly 7) There was a report in the straits time that the signaling system of SMRT does not allow frequency of trains to be below certain time, a feat that the HKG MTR allows. HK got interval of 30secs? i am sure this is a safety feature 8) I think there are more that other forumners can add... I saw a couple who mentioned they rate HKG's MTR > SG's MRT. for your reference on point 2 point 3 go and find yourself pls... if you want to discredit your own country transport system (if you are a citizen), at least take own country transport first ... what you dunno does not means don't have.... haizz.... Edited February 15, 2013 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 he say empty... i think empty means more than just able to board.... i have also never encountered once that i unable to board but i usually avoid the similar working hours as us. Im trying to say: In Singapore, during peak hours.... most of the time you have to wait a few trains before you are able to board. But in HK, I've never encounter before even during peak hours. Thats why wondering is it the norm or Im just lucky. cause judging from my own experience, HK MTR system is more efficient then our MRT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Im trying to say: In Singapore, during peak hours.... most of the time you have to wait a few trains before you are able to board. But in HK, I've never encounter before even during peak hours. Thats why wondering is it the norm or Im just lucky. cause judging from my own experience, HK MTR system is more efficient then our MRT. nope.. HK peak also can squeeze in within 1 train. same for tokyo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 nope.. HK peak also can squeeze in within 1 train. same for tokyo huh? think u misunderstood my post? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 (edited) Im trying to say: In Singapore, during peak hours.... most of the time you have to wait a few trains before you are able to board. But in HK, I've never encounter before even during peak hours. Thats why wondering is it the norm or Im just lucky. cause judging from my own experience, HK MTR system is more efficient then our MRT. actually after the breakdowns and complaints i see much improvement... most of the time i can go up the first train liao..... i think it also depends.... unless we have statistics to see ridership, hard to determine is really HK MTR more efficient. if you want try not to go up first train in HK. you can try the MTR between SZ and HK during peak hours. Edited February 15, 2013 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 actually after the breakdowns and complaints i see much improvement... most of the time i can go up the first train liao..... i think it also depends.... unless we have statistics to see ridership, hard to determine is really HK MTR more efficient. if you want try not to go up first train in HK. you can try the MTR between SZ and HK during peak hours. haha. SZ to HK.. u think i eat full nothing to do argh true also la..no statistic its all just butt feel. but then the latest fire in newton station hor.. why fire alarm never sound ar... dangerous leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 nope.. HK peak also can squeeze in within 1 train. same for tokyo okie i think u typo error u meant can't right? then maybe I was lucky lor.. i travel all around HK during my stay at different timings.. peak and off-peak.. it was a breeze. one thing i observe though... through out the day, the crowd was rather consistent. unlike SG whereby difference between peak and off-peak is quite big. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 haha. SZ to HK.. u think i eat full nothing to do argh true also la..no statistic its all just butt feel. but then the latest fire in newton station hor.. why fire alarm never sound ar... dangerous leh. dunno what happen there so cannot comment..... but i know if smoke at alot places, fire alarm also won't sound.. i think must see how bad...... anyway... our MRT got fire alarm in the first place anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 okie i think u typo error u meant can't right? then maybe I was lucky lor.. i travel all around HK during my stay at different timings.. peak and off-peak.. it was a breeze. one thing i observe though... through out the day, the crowd was rather consistent. unlike SG whereby difference between peak and off-peak is quite big. its can la. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 i going end march again.. when you going? No chance now leh.......company cut cost and all long distance travel shelved....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holdenutessv Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Like that 6.9m how?? Gonna be like India soon liaoz... Follow them loh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 No chance now leh.......company cut cost and all long distance travel shelved....... sadded.. SQ only $380 return ticket, all in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 sadded.. SQ only $380 return ticket, all in. Paiseh, to where? I initially thought you meant Europe...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...