• 40-50k
    • 50-60k
    • 60-70k
    • 70-80k
    • 80-90k
    • 90-100k
    • >100k

I am also thinking of bidding own coe.

However, my worry is that if there is a freak result of coe dropping from 78k to 10k, the selling price of the car will not drop by the same 68k, instead maybe abt 40 to 50k, then individual buyers will lose out while the sellers will continue to enjoy large margins.

Any thoughts to this?

It is better to get a firm quote (preferably valid for 3 months) from the AD before you start bidding.

That's why so many people still confused with COE and base car prices.

The selling price from AD, you r referring to is the total package price (COE + base car price + operating costs + fixed profit per car + variable profits margin).

I may be wrong here. Just my personal understanding.

The usual price quoted by AD without the COE, is high simply because it also included the 'variable profits margin'.

If you analyse the price list from some AD and knows how much AD bids for the COE, you can roughly gauge this 'variable profit margins'.

Say AD give rebate at $80k. But AD is bidding the COE at $90k for you. It can mean the 'variable profit margin' is $10k.

Remember AD will never overbid for a COE or make a loss. The overbid value is worked into the car selling price, and incidentally paired by the car buyer. But most car buyers are not thinking hard enough, to think that the AD is so kind to bid much higher COE for them.

Example the average COE is $80k for past few result. The rebate level is set at $80k. And car buyer saw from the Internet that AD is bidding $90k for this COE.

Say the result the COE is $80k, the AD would have 'earned' this $10k.

>>>AD most happy in this case.

However if the result COE is $90k, then the AD would have missed out on this $10k variable profit margin.

>>>car buyer most happy in this case, since the paper value is high.

AD has made their profit and did not lose at all since the operating cost and fixed profit already covered in car prices!

If one can negotiate with the AD to reduce this Variable profit margin, that will be good.

My understanding is this variables profit margin is like a hedging factor.

If one bid for own COE, this hedging factor is no longer needed by AD, in theory lah.

I am also thinking of bidding own coe.

However, my worry is that if there is a freak result of coe dropping from 78k to 10k, the selling price of the car will not drop by the same 68k, instead maybe abt 40 to 50k, then individual buyers will lose out while the sellers will continue to enjoy large margins.

Any thoughts to this?

Edited by Leepee

3% is too little lah.3% of a $90,000 COE is only $2,700.

It will easily be worked into the total car packaged price. And all AD will have the same mark-up eventually.

Good point. That's why in last year I have suggested government to charge a 3% administration fee (Min S$100) on COE bidding by car dealers. It will encourage many internet savvy buyers to bid COE by themself.

Current COE system only benifit the big dealers. Also government should charge additional 5% every month if the COE is not used to register cars in the 6 months grace period.

改进拥车证机制

近期拥车证价格暴涨,引起很多中产阶层的不满。这种不满对刚刚结束的后港补选可能有影响。其实如果将拥车证的费用视作对奢侈品的课税,那么其政治影响就完全不一样了。

作为一项税收,政府应该专款专用,只用于公路扩建与公共交通补贴。公交补贴应该补贴在明处。比如以过去十年的拥车证平均价为基数,如果今年的拥车证价格超过均价,则额外增加的收入将用于补贴公交,明年前三个月所有地铁的车资应给予相应的折扣百分比。拥车证价格越高,公交价格越低,两者直接关联。这样既鼓励人们乘坐公交,也保证补贴主要是给中低收入阶层,缓解拥车证价格高涨的政治成本。

另外,在拥车证的投标方式上,当前的机制有利于大车商,他们每个月都有稳定的订单,把握了市场行情。拥车证的注册有效期长达六个月,大车商可以低吸高抛,操纵市场。而那些小车商对市场行情了解要慢半拍,也没有雄厚资本炒作拥车证,最终要被挤出市场。因为无论车价多高,汽车总销量是刚性不变的。结果是拥车证价格越高,大车商的利润越丰厚,受害的是众多中小车商与广大消费者。

个人以为,要解决这个问题,其中的一个办法是对车商投标的拥车证,一律加收3%的管理费,以鼓励消费者自行上网投标;另一个办法是规定凡是标得拥车证超过一个月未用于注册车辆的,逐月加收5%的管理费用。

联合早报 Tue, 05 Jun 2012

Some posters here have recommended for govt to disallow dealers from bidding coe on behalf of buyers.

Suggestions like imposing a fee etc has been suggested. Whilst I'm also in agreement on this, I think it would be difficult if not impossible to implement; reason is that when dealers bid; they actually use our individual IDs

so how to differentiate its applied by individual or dealer??

On another issue, for those posters who had bought cars at reduced prices by dealers in expectation of drop in coe, kindly share what price your dealer bid for if you don't mind.

You can check at this link:

https://ocoe.lta.gov.sg/PaInternetAction.do

Thks!! If you feel its confidential, pls feel free not to disclose

COE Open Bidding

Bidding will end on 13/03/2013 16:00 hrs

BIDDING STATUS AS AT 11/03/2013 14:10:24.00 HRS

Category Current COE Price ($) Quota Bids Received

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) 1 336 5

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 1 326 13

C GOODS VEHICLE & BUS 1 225 0

D MOTORCYCLE 1 510 3

E OPEN 1 255 0

Some posters here have recommended for govt to disallow dealers from bidding coe on behalf of buyers.

Suggestions like imposing a fee etc has been suggested. Whilst I'm also in agreement on this, I think it would be difficult if not impossible to implement; reason is that when dealers bid; they actually use our individual IDs

On another issue, for those posters who had bought cars at reduced prices by dealers in expectation of drop in coe, kindly share what price your dealer bid for if you don't mind.

Intention good but is it useful? Because if we monitor the bid we will always know the current bid price. For example, now is $1. Tomorrow throughout will be $1 too. We also can't tell how much our dealers bid until maybe the last hour or last 2 hours. By then, we can see the price movement in real time liao.

Will monitor it tonight again...

These $1 bidders have made their intention known very early this time round.

The reading is out.....they expect Cat.B to have lesser buyers and more downside?

COE Open Bidding

BIDDING STATUS AS AT 11/03/2013 14:32:24.00 HRS

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) 1 336 5

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 1 326 13

D MOTORCYCLE 1 510 3

E OPEN 1 255 0

Edited by Leepee

Intention good but is it useful? Because if we monitor the bid we will always know the current bid price. For example, now is $1. Tomorrow throughout will be $1 too. We also can't tell how much our dealers bid until maybe the last hour or last 2 hours. By then, we can see the price movement in real time liao.

I think the idea is that dealers will always bid high esp as they have their quota to meet.

Individuals will be expected to bid lower because it comes out from our own pocket.

That's the rationale behind this suggestion but like the suggestion on pay what you bid,

it's near impossible to know which system, idea etc is workable.

I suppose we will have to try out to know the answer but I think the authorities would

like to make the system as simple as possiblr for the average layman to comprehend.

Still so much confusing about COE bidding. No wonders AD and dealers are eating many car buyers for lunch and supper.

We are interested to know AD bid levels.....NOT the final COE price.

Once the AD put a bid in, the range is somehow there about. No need last two hours or last 10mnutes.

COE Open Bidding

BIDDING STATUS AS AT 11/03/2013 14:45:14.00 HRS

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) 1 336 6

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 1 326 14

D MOTORCYCLE 1 510 4

E OPEN 1 255 0

COE Open Bidding

BIDDING STATUS AS AT 11/03/2013 15:09:59.00 HRS

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) 1 336 7

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 1 326 16

D MOTORCYCLE 1 510 4

E OPEN 1 255 0

Buying a car with COE priced in is like buying a set meal in fast food outlet. If you ask AD to quote car price separately, it will add up more than selling u as a package.

Fast n furious.....many $1 hopefuls.

COE Open Bidding

BIDDING STATUS AS AT 11/03/2013 15:21:54.00 HRS

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) 1 336 9

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 1 326 21

D MOTORCYCLE 1 510 8

E OPEN 1 255 1

Fast n furious.....many $1 hopefuls.

i thot it's becos the number of bids hasnt exceeded the number of COE yet, so u can't see the price yet....dun think all those ppl put $1 for their bids [;)]

Really joke these $1 hopefuls.

So many of them.

COE Open Bidding

BIDDING STATUS AS AT 11/03/2013 15:31:04.00 HRS

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) 1 336 11

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 1 326 25

D MOTORCYCLE 1 510 8

E OPEN 1 255 2