When to change RIMS

Simonsoh

scratched rim not safe? first year of driving, my rim kissed kerb many times... some jialat one.

Scratches r harmless. Only cracks n dents r dangerous.

hi friends.... my first (and i believe last) car is forte, now abt 4 yrs old. rims have been stock since day one. for me, i dun care abt looks or what.. juz point A/B guy. I juz want to ask what is the function of rim? for nice nice only or must it be inspected and changed now and then for safety? people normally change rim is to nice nice one only is it?

if you drive gently without hitting your rims, they should last very long, even up to COE expired. but nowadays, more and more potholes...

most drivers change rims for the looks and nearly all who changed rims usually up size.

if you can tahan, just continue stock rims. no problem at all.

if your backside itchy, a decent set of 17" rims will not cost you a bomb either.

optional to change (maybe can be repair, depends on how serious):

- scratches

- kerb rashes

- small chipping

- small dent

good to change:

- dented (unable to perform balancing)

must change:

- crack (be it small or big crack)

just my two cents. ^_^

TS u so good ah.. I wish I can be like u but I can't.. :( the 1st thing everytime I change a car regardless new or old 1st thing I change is the rims.. unless personally I like the rims then nv change. But tyres confirm must use good 1 la that 1 is a must..

thanks thanks i feel so assured now. but if anyone wants to sell their stock or good condition rims suitable for a 17" FORTE 1.6 pls PM me... sell me cheap cheap lah....

TS u so good ah.. I wish I can be like u but I can't.. :( the 1st thing everytime I change a car regardless new or old 1st thing I change is the rims.. unless personally I like the rims then nv change. But tyres confirm must use good 1 la that 1 is a must..

no good or bad... juz money very hard to earn lah... haha...car can move and safe can already... keke...

i'm with u on this....not only the rims....i also wun spend $ on a number plate....

maybe when i strike toto, i'll go n get a number plate n change to bling-bling rims [cool]

I believe if your rims have any problems, when you go do your tyres rotation, the mechanic should notify you. If not, dont think there is a need to change rims.

u guys change tyre got receive services like balancing, rotation etc? i go hor, park by shopfront, jack up and change all 4 tyres. game over.

thanks thanks i feel so assured now. but if anyone wants to sell their stock or good condition rims suitable for a 17" FORTE 1.6 pls PM me... sell me cheap cheap lah....

U can chk wh some of e tire shops mentioned here who sell a lot of rims cos ty wil do a trade-in n hv lots of 2nd hand rims fr sale.

I got my original optra 16" rims wh good tires fr only abt $250 fr 4 pcs.

There r many 2nd hand rims fr sale at most tire n rim shops.

u guys change tyre got receive services like balancing, rotation etc? i go hor, park by shopfront, jack up and change all 4 tyres. game over.

If you change new tyres the tyre shop must do wheel balancing. As for wheel alignment some shop dont give free and some need you to pay for wheel alignment service. Even when you go rotate your tyres, tyre shop also will do wheel balancing.

Edited by 13177

Original from AD or Factory. Factory original is the best. if you have Factory fitted rims and not damaged, stick to it.

Yes fully agree. Factory rims r most suited fr yr car cos e factory wil only use rims wh correct dia...offset n width. Plus e center hole fits e wheel sub just right n u dun need to use an aftermarket adapter.

Usually factory rims r a little heavier but thats cos ty r stronger n can take more hard use.

Yes fully agree. Factory rims r most suited fr yr car cos e factory wil only use rims wh correct dia...offset n width. Plus e center hole fits e wheel sub just right n u dun need to use an aftermarket adapter.

Usually factory rims r a little heavier but thats cos ty r stronger n can take more hard use.

how you define factory or AD rim?

Factory/original rims r comissioned by car manufacturer to b made fr their cars according to their specs. Usually u can find e car logo embossed on e inside of e rims. These r rims specially made fr their cars.

Usually when u buy...it wil hv e car brand logo on e center cap of e rims.

Factory/original rims r comissioned by car manufacturer to b made fr their cars according to their specs. Usually u can find e car logo embossed on e inside of e rims. These r rims specially made fr their cars.

The brand logo on the center of the rims usually will come off after many years. [:p]

One of mine got stolen. Basket.

And a replacement abt $30 plus. Knn. [mad]

Now i just leave it blank. Maybe :angry: i just spray it black one day.

3 over years back my Uncle bought a Toyota camry , when he sent his car for tyre change ,he out of curiousity ask the tyre shop the rim is it original?

they claimed those rims are installed locally and is not Original fro toyota [confused]

But my Uncle remember when he buy the car the SE told him whole car are Original factory fitted [smash]