When to change RIMS

Simonsoh

3 over years back my Uncle bought a Toyota camry , when he sent his car for tyre change ,he out of curiousity ask the tyre shop the rim is it original?

they claimed those rims are installed locally and is not Original fro toyota [confused]

But my Uncle remember when he buy the car the SE told him whole car are Original factory fitted [smash]

Yr uncle sud hv chkd if there was a toyota logo embossed on e inside of e rims n get e SE to state on e contract that he was given original toyota rims.

Did e rims hv a toyota logo in e center caps?

So far e rims i was offered as original factory rims had e car logo embossed on e inside of e rims.

Also chk e center hole fits snugly on e wheel hub so e wheel wil always b perfectly centered on e axle so it wil not wobble or shake n wil b stronger. Rims sud never b supported by e 4 or 5 nuts. The wheel sud b supported by that hub tru e hole in e center of e rim to take e full weight of e car.

Yr uncle sud hv chkd if there was a toyota logo embossed on e inside of e rims n get e SE to state on e contract that he was given original toyota rims.

Did e rims hv a toyota logo in e center caps?

So far e rims i was offered as original factory rims had e car logo embossed on e inside of e rims.

Also chk e center hole fits snugly on e wheel hub so e wheel wil always b perfectly centered on e axle so it wil not wobble or shake n wil b stronger. Rims sud never b supported by e 4 or 5 nuts. The wheel sud b supported by that hub tru e hole in e center of e rim to take e full weight of e car.

that was the tyre shop people told him, no doubt that is Toyota logo cap on the wheel.

So that means center cap logo does not tell us the wheels are Original rim.

but we can see some corrosion around the 5 nut holes :angry:

But the shop told him not all after market rims are poor quality and NOT all OE rim are Superb quality

One of mine got stolen. Basket.

And a replacement abt $30 plus. Knn. [mad]

Now i just leave it blank. Maybe :angry: i just spray it black one day.

So if the rims is original fitted by AD, you can get replacement for the centre cap of the rims? [:/] I know if you buy those after market rims from outside, if the centre cap dropped, dont think there is any replacement?!

that was the tyre shop people told him, no doubt that is Toyota logo cap on the wheel.

So that means center cap logo does not tell us the wheels are Original rim.

but we can see some corrosion around the 5 nut holes :angry:

But the shop told him not all after market rims are poor quality and NOT all OE rim are Superb quality

Yes agree e center tire cap u can buy e toyota logo center cap but seldom pple do. If e agent do it..ty tyring to trick u into thinking u got original toyota rims. But e toyota logo embossed on e inside of e rim that one cannot bluff.

It is true not all aftermarket rims no good n not all original rims r good but it is more likely original rims r better cos the QC on original rims very strict but aftermarket rims sometimes dun hv any QC at all.

So if the rims is original fitted by AD, you can get replacement for the centre cap of the rims? [:/] I know if you buy those after market rims from outside, if the centre cap dropped, dont think there is any replacement?!

The center cap ty do sell at tire shops. U can put all sorts of designs but if u wan original car logo like toyota...nissan...merc etc...u can mostly find at agent n quite ex. My chevy cap abt $30ea. Most normal logo abt $5ea only.

Sometimes pple trade in their original rims wh tire shop. Then ty get e original logo center cap. Whether ty wan to sell to u or not its up to them.

The center cap ty do sell at tire shops. U can put all sorts of designs but if u wan original car logo like toyota...nissan...merc etc...u can mostly find at agent n quite ex. My chevy cap abt $30ea. Most normal logo abt $5ea only.

Sometimes pple trade in their original rims wh tire shop. Then ty get e original logo center cap. Whether ty wan to sell to u or not its up to them.

Can buy those after market rims centre cap from where ar? [:/] Even got sell and cost $5 each, i rather leave a hole on the rims. [:p] Actually got cap or no cap doesnt make any difference?!

Usually those tire shop wil sell. I think e hole looks untidy. U put e cap looks neater lah.

But price i chk fr $5ea was long ago. Now dunno how much n also depends on pattern n design.

I see those very nice type in jb selling RM100plus fr 4pcs. :wacko:

Usually those tire shop wil sell. I think e hole looks untidy. U put e cap looks neater lah.

But price i chk fr $5ea was long ago. Now dunno how much n also depends on pattern n design.

I see those very nice type in jb selling RM100plus fr 4pcs. :wacko:

The cap can be fixed on any type of rims according to the rims size ar? [:/] Long time ago i asked before at the tyre shop whether they sell the cap, they said dont have and they suggested to change to new rims better and nicer?! :wacko:

Edited by 13177

The cap can be fixed on any type of rims according to the rims size ar? [:/] Long time ago i asked before at the tyre shop whether they sell the cap, they said dont have and they suggested to change to new rims better and nicer?! :wacko:

The center hole got a standard size but some rims size is different.

Tire shop sell u cap earn $2. If ty sell u new rims can earn $200.

Which one u think ty prefer to sell u? Hahaha. [laugh] [laugh]

The center hole got a standard size but some rims size is different.

Tire shop sell u cap earn $2. If ty sell u new rims can earn $200.

Which one u think ty prefer to sell u? Hahaha. [laugh] [laugh]

The tyre shop i went to they confirmed that they do not sell rims cap at all. But i dont know true or not lo. They said if the cap dropped mean dropped liao, no replacement.

Hahaha. I wud then tell him so if my wheel also drop off also no replacement ah?

Then i wil look him hard n straight in e eye n see if he still dare to lie to me. <_<

for me if my rim centre cap lost i usually goback to where the rim got from and ask them for help .

COST should not be the key issue , if one always place the cost the key issue i think you can save your time looking around.

Because your trip to the shops already drink your petrol.

Most ex centre i heard was $150 per pc, and the owner paid and walk off happily.

WHY ? becuz his rim cost around $1k each and looks very urgly without cap.

those rim fitted by car AD i think they should provide the after sale by able to supply you the parts

for me if my rim centre cap lost i usually goback to where the rim got from and ask them for help .

COST should not be the key issue , if one always place the cost the key issue i think you can save your time looking around.

Because your trip to the shops already drink your petrol.

Most ex centre i heard was $150 per pc, and the owner paid and walk off happily.

WHY ? becuz his rim cost around $1k each and looks very urgly without cap.

those rim fitted by car AD i think they should provide the after sale by able to supply you the parts

I tried several tire shop. All dun hv.

I chk chevy agent its abt $30ea. Too ex so i just leave it. Only look odd but dun affect handling at all.

anybody have idea how much roughly does a 2nd hand 16"SSW rims cost? how much are 15" 195/45 michelin primacy tyres trade in value?