Kungfu Clutched March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 (edited) Wonder anybody experience the following..........I was too shocked for words. My 5 years old gal was enrolled with "Berries" & " I Can Read" for pte lesson for some time. Last week, junior fell sick and was given MC by KKH due to Viral fever and hence missed a lesson form both of the above institution......then the shock came....both ctr said they dun do refund but will make up class....."I Can Read" said they will make up 1/2 hr (normal lesson 1.5hrs).....I was like :wacko:, I ask thme what then happen to the 1 hr.....they said is their rules. The more shocking came...."Berries" said they will make up.....15mins (normal lesson 1hr 45mins)........I more :blink:, what then happens to the 1hr 30mins....again rules...wow my blood really boils.........meaning the kids can't fall sick and each time they sick the ctr gonna benefit from 1hr to 1.5hrs, what more kids fall sick easily..... Are they regulated by MOE....or sukar sukar set rules?????? Feell like asking our Minister via his FB is there anything to do about this??? (already did shared on his FB) Edited March 19, 2013 by Kungfu ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Wonder anybody experience the following..........I was too shocked for words. My 5 years old gal was enrolled with "Berries" & " I Can Read" for pte lesson for some time. Last week, junior fell sick and was given MC by KKH due to Viral fever and hence missed a lesson form both of the above institution......then the shock came....both ctr said they dun do refund but will make up class....."I Can Read" said they will make up 1/2 hr (normal lesson 1.5hrs).....I was like :wacko:, I ask thme what then happen to the 1 hr.....they said is their rules. The more shocking came...."Berries" said they will make up.....15mins (normal lesson 1hr 45mins)........I more :blink:, what then happens to the 1hr 30mins....again rules...wow my blood really boils.........meaning the kids can't fall sick and each time they sick the ctr gonna benefit from 1hr to 1.5hrs, what more kids fall sick easily..... Are they regulated by MOE....or sukar sukar set rules?????? Feell like asking our Minister via his FB is there anything to do about this??? now CNA got Talking Point, Ask the Minister and it's the education one. but not sure if it's live...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 (edited) I dun think private tuition centre or enrichment course are under MOE. also because those classes your daughter attend are non academic, it is common for no make up class (I actually thought you mean the really make-up class ) finish the term and quit lor, then go around bad mouth them Edited March 19, 2013 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Wonder anybody experience the following..........I was too shocked for words. My 5 years old gal was enrolled with "Berries" & " I Can Read" for pte lesson for some time. Last week, junior fell sick and was given MC by KKH due to Viral fever and hence missed a lesson form both of the above institution......then the shock came....both ctr said they dun do refund but will make up class....."I Can Read" said they will make up 1/2 hr (normal lesson 1.5hrs).....I was like :wacko:, I ask thme what then happen to the 1 hr.....they said is their rules. The more shocking came...."Berries" said they will make up.....15mins (normal lesson 1hr 45mins)........I more :blink:, what then happens to the 1hr 30mins....again rules...wow my blood really boils.........meaning the kids can't fall sick and each time they sick the ctr gonna benefit from 1hr to 1.5hrs, what more kids fall sick easily..... Are they regulated by MOE....or sukar sukar set rules?????? Feell like asking our Minister via his FB is there anything to do about this??? (already did shared on his FB) Imagine it this way - You order pizza for delivery, but 5 minutes before pizza arrive your wifey tell you have to rush out somewhere and you don't eat pizza...would you expect refund from pizza company? You have "contracted" with the schools for certain time and place. Is not their fault your kid didn't attend - you think that they can ask for discount from landlord, showing MC as valid excuse? Or that the teacher will be paid less as your daughter not there? That they offer a make-up lesson is good already - although I think that is better not to offer at all than to offer half farked. BTW - 5 years old and tuition already? What happened to simply reading bedtime stories? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 proper academic class for primary or secondary school usually allow make up class or change timing. Imagine it this way - You order pizza for delivery, but 5 minutes before pizza arrive your wifey tell you have to rush out somewhere and you don't eat pizza...would you expect refund from pizza company? You have "contracted" with the schools for certain time and place. Is not their fault your kid didn't attend - you think that they can ask for discount from landlord, showing MC as valid excuse? Or that the teacher will be paid less as your daughter not there? That they offer a make-up lesson is good already - although I think that is better not to offer at all than to offer half farked. BTW - 5 years old and tuition already? What happened to simply reading bedtime stories? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 proper academic class for primary or secondary school usually allow make up class or change timing. "allow" and "obligated" are two different things. Quite honestly, if I miss the lesson due to my own "fault" (and yes, sickness I include in my own fault) then any make-up I am happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 FYI, if lesson falls on a holiday, there is no make up class also. So how? Report MOE that they cheat you? Every enrichment centre has their own rules, I suggest that you ask first before you sign up, they are all about the same. No need to KPKB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 BTW - Pte Lesson means 1 to 1? So the teacher shake leg if dorter don't go? And make up lesson needs to come from her "off" time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched March 19, 2013 Author Share March 19, 2013 (edited) Lessons falls on holidays---fine, understands.....teacher also have to rest what. But the amount of make-up lessons is like what - 15 mins...tell me what to do with 15 mins,might as well dun make-up and do refund better, and these pte lessons dun come cheap Yes...make-up is one to one....and one to one for 15 or 30 mins......what to teach one to one....really does not what goes on behind...teacher can just open up the book and tell my gal to sit down and do...that's it.... Edited March 19, 2013 by Kungfu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Lessons falls on holidays---fine, understands.....teacher also have to rest what. But the amount of make-up lessons is like what - 15 mins...tell me what to do with 15 mins,might as well dun make-up and do refund better, and these pte lessons dun come cheap Kid miss lesson and centre must do refund? So teacher dun get paid for that scheduled lesson? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 BTW - Pte Lesson means 1 to 1? So the teacher shake leg if dorter don't go? And make up lesson needs to come from her "off" time? I believe it is a bigger class. so far for my kids all lesson missed can be replaced with make up class within the same week, the point is the teacher also dun want miss the class and not able to understand or catch with the rest subsequently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 i gues also that make reservation at hotel, and cancel at last minute the hotel must also do refund? Or offer you another night free at your convenience? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 I believe it is a bigger class. so far for my kids all lesson missed can be replaced with make up class within the same week, the point is the teacher also dun want miss the class and not able to understand or catch with the rest subsequently. My daughter (8 years old) also has chance to join another class for make-up lesson if she misses....hers is group class. BUT - what I am saying is that this is NICE of the centre to offer, they are not under any OBLIGATION to do so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 i gues also that make reservation at hotel, and cancel at last minute the hotel must also do refund? Or offer you another night free at your convenience? err.... where is your usual compassion? if the kid is on mc and able to produce one to join other class for make up, the school should allow her, the kid may lose interest if because of the school rules which the kid dun understand, if the school set up class for pre-school kids, the last thing you wish is to disappoint any kid. however, if the kid miss class because the parents have other 'activities' like visiting Legoland, then that will not be entertain lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Macrotrust Neutral Newbie March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 dont waste money on this so called enrichment class- they are overhype- for kiasu parents- parents are not allowed to see the teacher teaches the kid- most of the time- talk co-ck session- most of them- not so qualified with a few only otherwise how to make money to pay every qualifed teacher- of course rojak a bit to cut here and there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Maybe should try in-sourcing instead of out sourcing such lessons/activities. This will build up better rapport with your own kids. Too many Singaporeans like to outsource. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched March 19, 2013 Author Share March 19, 2013 if parents us kanna last mins issue confirm notify the centre and we dun expect them to make-up or do anything...but MC issued by KKH A/E dept....want to make-up then do properly.....if not at least refund or think of some alternatives rather than telling the parents Yes of course got makeup lessons......15mins or 30mins.....think just by talking nonsense to the 5 year old already got 15-20mins already....and that is supposed make up..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 19, 2013 Share March 19, 2013 Eg swimming lesson Some coaches if cat1 or u mc or u holiday At ur own expense No refund no make up Some coaches may do make up So better chk properly before sign up IMO ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...