Make Up lesson - 15 mins (Ridiculous)

Kungfu

If I rem the class size about 10 kids? So out of the 1hr 30/45 mins, 1 to 1 attention also unlikely to exceed 15 mins. For the make up the teacher has to shorten her break and probably not only 1 kid requires the makeup so I think it is pretty fair.

Anyway it was all written in the registration form. There are lots of other schools out there.

dont waste money on this so called enrichment class- they are overhype- for kiasu parents- parents are not allowed to see the teacher teaches the kid- most of the time- talk co-ck session- most of them- not so qualified with a few only otherwise how to make money to pay every qualifed teacher- of course rojak a bit to cut here and there.

Tuition class would be a waste of money if the kid is already well-versed with what's being taught in school.

But enrichment classes are different, IMHO. They usually teach at a higher level and more challenging than what's covered in class. It should not duplicate what's already being taught in school.

My personal opinion is that these enrichment classes do serve a purpose, as nowadays it is actually the schools that may have problems getting good teachers. Also the teacher at school has to cater to the lowest common denominator, and most of them just struggle to finish the syllabus - needless to say, they have no time to "enrich" the lesson further. If your child is a fast learner, he or she will be well and truly bored and will not benefit much further from the usual classroom lessons.

Teachers at school are also further handicapped by having to do many other duties besides teaching, e.g. ad-hoc events, PR with parents, disciplinary cases, serving on school committees, handle CCA or competitions, etc. Not surprisingly, quality of teaching takes a hit.

if parents us kanna last mins issue confirm notify the centre and we dun expect them to make-up or do anything...but MC issued by KKH A/E dept....want to make-up then do properly.....if not at least refund or think of some alternatives rather than telling the parents Yes of course got makeup lessons......15mins or 30mins.....think just by talking nonsense to the 5 year old already got 15-20mins already....and that is supposed make up.....

seriously, what make u think that when the kid fails to attend class due to illness, these places are obliged to do make up or refund huh? <_<

Wonder anybody experience the following..........I was too shocked for words.

My 5 years old gal was enrolled with "Berries" & " I Can Read" for pte lesson for some time. Last week, junior fell sick and was given

MC by KKH due to Viral fever and hence missed a lesson form both of the above institution......then the shock came....both ctr said

they dun do refund but will make up class....."I Can Read" said they will make up 1/2 hr (normal lesson 1.5hrs).....I was like

:wacko: :wacko:, I ask thme what then happen to the 1 hr.....they said is their rules. The more shocking came...."Berries" said they

will make up.....15mins (normal lesson 1hr 45mins)........I more :blink: :blink:, what then happens to the 1hr 30mins....again

rules...wow my blood really boils.........meaning the kids can't fall sick and each time they sick the ctr gonna benefit from 1hr to

1.5hrs, what more kids fall sick easily.....

Are they regulated by MOE....or sukar sukar set rules??????

Feell like asking our Minister via his FB is there anything to do about this??? (already did shared on his FB)

my kids enrolled in abacus; missed a 1-hr lesson, make up another 30min.

another one enrolled in english lesson, missed a 1-hr lesson but no make up.

Er..I booked a motorbike lesson at BBDC but missed it due to work commitments...should I get the instructor to teach me one on one for make up? These lessons not cheap you know... [:p]

Maybe should complain to Lui...that BBDC neb have make up lesson for me.. :D

Edited by Kyrios

Wonder anybody experience the following..........I was too shocked for words.

My 5 years old gal was enrolled with "Berries" & " I Can Read" for pte lesson for some time. Last week, junior fell sick and was given

MC by KKH due to Viral fever and hence missed a lesson form both of the above institution......then the shock came....both ctr said

they dun do refund but will make up class....."I Can Read" said they will make up 1/2 hr (normal lesson 1.5hrs).....I was like

:wacko::wacko: , I ask thme what then happen to the 1 hr.....they said is their rules. The more shocking came...."Berries" said they

will make up.....15mins (normal lesson 1hr 45mins)........I more :blink::blink: , what then happens to the 1hr 30mins....again

rules...wow my blood really boils.........meaning the kids can't fall sick and each time they sick the ctr gonna benefit from 1hr to

1.5hrs, what more kids fall sick easily.....

Are they regulated by MOE....or sukar sukar set rules??????

Feell like asking our Minister via his FB is there anything to do about this??? (already did shared on his FB)

That has been the way things are, isn't it? Not just preschool level. If you attend private supplementary classes as a secondary school kid or JC kid and you skip class, regardless of whatever reasons, i dont think they are going to refund you. Ok, there might be institutions out there that provide a refund policy but i think these form the exception rather than the norm.

only way you can cancel lessons and not spend money is if you engage a freelance for private one to one tuition because you pay every 4 lessons clocked. [:(]

just take your business elsewhere with better service.

when you sign up, you agree to their rules.

TS, what I heard was that the short-time make ups is because it is a one-on-one session.

With a valid MC, your child can get a full class make up if he or she joins in another class at a different time slot.

Bear in mind though that these are franchises, so each centre may apply its own "rules".

my own experience was okay leh.. full make-up class was given.

but i need to inform which beforehand which day i want to make up.

i didn't really see the rules when we signed up.. you can check it up the section on making up classes, then see if there's any ground to dispute/complain.

as for its usefulness.. imo, depends on individual.

if your standard is already there, perhaps not.

mine quite jialat.. can actually see good improvements.

just forget abt the make up class lah

there was one term when my gal couldnt attend half of the berries lessons (sick or had to go somewhere else). i gave up even trying to arrange for a make up

missing a few lessons will not kill their progress

Edited by Wyfitms

For yingwen I still read to my older daughter every night.

The younger one - starting to, harder to get her to sit still with me...

We only do zhongwen tuition - cause I can't do, math and science I do with her...

For yingwen I still read to my older daughter every night.

The younger one - starting to, harder to get her to sit still with me...

We only do zhongwen tuition - cause I can't do, math and science I do with her...

perhaps it's also a good opportunity for you to learn zhongwen since your kids are learning it too.........it's always a good thing to learn a language which is widely used in this part of the world imho...... [:p]

I really pity our ministers if they have been entertaining such trivial issues from the citizens! [shakehead]

Why not go CASE or small claim tribunal if you really cannot swallow? <_<

perhaps it's also a good opportunity for you to learn zhongwen since your kids are learning it too.........it's always a good thing to learn a language which is widely used in this part of the world imho...... [:p]

Wah lau way! You hum tum me like that one what I jia liat jia liat.