Tohto Hypersonic July 28, 2014 Share July 28, 2014 Wa... finally an approved username on the jag forum... time to post questions. Looks like i really need to test drive the diesel... by the way damienic, you really sound like a diesel advocate... hopefully i am convinced when i try the car. I do not own a diesel but had driven the turbo diesel car many time in Germany. The huge torque is very shiok to drive, especially in our city traffic. I am looking for a diesel car when my COE due in 2 yes time. You should go test drive the 2.2 diesel XF. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear July 28, 2014 Share July 28, 2014 Wa... finally an approved username on the jag forum... time to post questions. Looks like i really need to test drive the diesel... by the way damienic, you really sound like a diesel advocate... hopefully i am convinced when i try the car. If I can, and if my travelling patterns still remains as it is now sometime later, I will definitely strongly consider getting a diesel. For me, car change is not due now, otherwise I would have sign on the dotted line for the 190k XF when I test drove it last month. I don't believe Mercs or BMW or Lexus have good resale value. I happened to own these brands previously, and all depreciate a lot, when I tried to sell them for new/ old cars. Two weeks ago, one AD even offered me $1000 for my 8+ years old Merc CLK body (ie, $1000 above my current paper value, if I trade in for their new car). Your statement makes me think my recent suspicion is true that there is no such thing as a good resale value brand nowadays. I was still holding on to the previous mentality that mercs and BMW generally is still ahead the rest when it comes to resale value. Hence, there is really no need to care about resale value when buying car these days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 28, 2014 Share July 28, 2014 Iam not quite sure what you exactly meant by power. Yes, if a petrol and diesel went on a sprint on a highway, over a distance, the petrol will edge ahead. But if both is at a standstill in an urban traffic situation, the diesel will beat the petrol hands down when taking off. The diesel is also better when overtaking at a not so high speed. Anyway bro, the govt already reduced diesel road tax by almost 40% in recent yr, so it is a lot more affordable these days alr. Not to mention, diesel gives at least 30% mileage more and is also about 30% cheaper than petrol. That is provided like I say you are doing a fairly high mileage per month. Overall the lower running cost will more than compensate the higher road tax that needs to be paid. But if you are doing like 1300km per month or lower and driving in urban kind of traffic more than half the time, then you'll be better off sticking to the petrol. You will enjoy the 2.2L diesel XF. It has 450nm in torque. The pick up from standstill is brilliant and overtaking is a breeze. The 0-100 is not that bad either when compared to the petrol version. so your saab is...... any idea when is the launch of jag diesel then? hopefully after my coe runs out. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear July 28, 2014 Share July 28, 2014 so your saab is...... any idea when is the launch of jag diesel then? hopefully after my coe runs out. Actually my Saab is only middle aged. But sigh, think a bit backside itchy to change. See next yr how ba. Keep telling myself this year is too early to do so. The Jag XF 2.2 diesel have been around for sometime, I believe at least for the last 1 1/2 years. Test drove last month and like it very much. Dunno next year if it is still around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passat57 3rd Gear July 28, 2014 Share July 28, 2014 Roger tat! I will definitely test drive the diesel to make sure. Look for alison right, chio bu?! passat57, didn't know that the last batch of 3.0 NA was around 200+ instead of 300+. Quite a big difference in price btw then and now... 2yrs vs now 100k difference... The current XF3.0 supercharged is different from the old NA 3.0 XF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jungus 4th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 I believe the price now is 180k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 I believe the price now is 180k Is the management demo promo price right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spyder79 3rd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Is the management demo promo price right? Management car sold off liao Now is192, 999. All ex stock sold out Must take 80k loan for 5 yr at 2.6% if not extra 3k Maintenance package also additional of 3k No more diamond brite pps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 (edited) What are actually management car? Are they used cars? If ex stock all sold out, then now can only do ident order is it? Edited July 29, 2014 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spyder79 3rd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 What are actually management car? Are they used cars? If ex stock all sold out, then now can only do ident order is it? Driven by wearnes staff b4. Already registered. Consider a used car Now indent will come ard oct Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Driven by wearnes staff b4. Already registered. Consider a used car Now indent will come ard oct Are they selling the management cars at attractive prices or somewhat similar to what is sold in the resale market? I have got a feeling the XF will be phase out soon since they not bringing in any new stocks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spyder79 3rd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Are they selling the management cars at attractive prices or somewhat similar to what is sold in the resale market? I have got a feeling the XF will be phase out soon since they not bringing in any new stocks. nope. there is only one management car with tat price. the rest r ex stock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 I don't believe Mercs or BMW or Lexus have good resale value. I happened to own these brands previously, and all depreciate a lot, when I tried to sell them for new/ old cars. Two weeks ago, one AD even offered me $1000 for my 8+ years old Merc CLK body (ie, $1000 above my current paper value, if I trade in for their new car). I think resale value is more a function of mass demand rather than badge only. the high resale value comes from great demand for a car as a pre-owned one. there aren't that many people queuing up to buy resale CLK in Singapore and overseas. most of the cars with very good resale value or offer for body are those like vios, altises, civics which have a lot of demand locally as well as overseas region near singaproe. hence it is no surprise your CLK body doesn't fetch very high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 I think resale value is more a function of mass demand rather than badge only. the high resale value comes from great demand for a car as a pre-owned one. there aren't that many people queuing up to buy resale CLK in Singapore and overseas. most of the cars with very good resale value or offer for body are those like vios, altises, civics which have a lot of demand locally as well as overseas region near singaproe. hence it is no surprise your CLK body doesn't fetch very high. Agree. This is precisely why C class and E class has good resale value and not so much of models like B class, SLK class or CLK class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fourth 2nd Gear August 14, 2014 Share August 14, 2014 Just sharing in case some Jaguar owners miss knowing this. http://www.jaguarclubsg.com/index.php?/topic/869-jaguar-owner-appreciation-night/ Do register andmaybe will see you there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 14, 2014 Share August 14, 2014 Oh only open to existing jag owners? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fourth 2nd Gear August 15, 2014 Share August 15, 2014 Oh only open to existing jag owners? Presume yes since it is called: Jaguar Owner Appreciation Night. Each owner can invite up to 3 guests though. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 15, 2014 Share August 15, 2014 Presume yes since it is called: Jaguar Owner Appreciation Night. Each owner can invite up to 3 guests though. Oh haha, understand. I do not know any jaguar owner personally though, so probably cannot go. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...