Watches III

Steptronic

Thanks, was just going to say same thing. And easily an Aquanaut pre-owned for that matter.

I personally find the Aquanaut the ugliest PP ever made. Won't spend my money on one.

The Nautilus on the other hand... Yummy.

Edited by Chickenbackside

Jialat i plump and fat !

Then in this case, the gold rollies may not suit u after all. U wanna sell me the 2 gold Daytona and daydate for $30k total?

Opportunistic arent you? :angry:

But i still think they suit me well, so no deal [knife][rifle]

Thank you for the advice.

Some more qns : how crucial are the box and papers? Do they add value to the pre-owned watch? if yes, like how much more?

Apologies, first time buying pre-own, no prior experience.....

Box and papers are as crucial as the buyer's own preference.

Having papers does give the watch its "identity" and a bit of history on its origins

I always buy watches to wear and not to keep nor trade so doesnt matter too much.

Gotta ask yourself if it matters to you.

Box is nice to have to store the watch especially when you have a lot and need to store neatly.

Otherwise the Rolex service pouch does a great job.

Thank you for the advice.

Some more qns : how crucial are the box and papers? Do they add value to the pre-owned watch? if yes, like how much more?

Apologies, first time buying pre-own, no prior experience.....

if u trade your watches around then yes, important. some can quote a few hundred to 1-2k more.

to me, I don't carry the box and papers when I wear the watch so does not matter to me at all.

all my brand new purchases of other brands, the box also deteriorate after some time. waste money waste space for me.

Er....you are not wrong.....thats why i never bot a Panerai.

A base model luminor Marina used to be only $2000.

Then for whatever funny reason, it shot up over a few years becos of demand.

But a basic Panerai is still fine, no matter what.

A Daytona used to be the grail for many people long ago becos it really was not easily obtained due to lower production numbers. A premium had to be paid. And you would hardly see one in the same restaurant. I enjoyed that feeling for quite a few years. Nowadays it is found on the wrist of some young executive whose monthly salary cant pay for half the price i paid for the watch.

Thats life. Quite similar to car ownership in recent years too.

you all break my heart... why say Pam gay? i gay meh? [:p]

if u trade your watches around then yes, important. some can quote a few hundred to 1-2k more.

to me, I don't carry the box and papers when I wear the watch so does not matter to me at all.

all my brand new purchases of other brands, the box also deteriorate after some time. waste money waste space for me.

Yes true.

The new Rolex boxes unlike the old ones are not fully leather so they biodegrade after some years if left untouched.

The irony is that, i keep my new rolex boxes in the drawer and use the old ones which are wrapped fully with leather. Some old things are better than new......

you all break my heart... why say Pam gay? i gay meh? [:p]

I didnt say Panerai gay leh.

Notice that i dont use Pam but always spell out Panerai?

Panerai not gay, Pam gay.

I didnt say Panerai gay leh.

Notice that i dont use Pam but always spell out Panerai?

Panerai not gay, Pam gay.

looking at Miramar.. dont know if should get.. quite appealing to me...

Yes true.

The new Rolex boxes unlike the old ones are not fully leather so they biodegrade after some years if left untouched.

The irony is that, i keep my new rolex boxes in the drawer and use the old ones which are wrapped fully with leather. Some old things are better than new......

can recommend a good preowned shop for that gold GMT?

seems hard to find even on sg-roc. the usual shops I recce in japan also dont have.

thanx

totally agree.

I tried to understand why ppl likes pam and wonders why I never caught on...... somehow I just don't like it - they all look the same to me. But for Rolex, I got hooked in a matter of a few days.

you are right they all look the same, that's why i bought the cheapest and "basest" model.. since superficial "collectors" will probably recognise it just as a Pam and not know if its the expensive one or not [:p]

Officine Panerai was the watch that got me interested in horology back in 2006, that's why its got some sentimental value to me.. and the first luxury watch that i got.

so, to sell or not to sell? :wacko:

Er....you are not wrong.....thats why i never bot a Panerai.

A base model luminor Marina used to be only $2000.

Then for whatever funny reason, it shot up over a few years becos of demand.

But a basic Panerai is still fine, no matter what.

A Daytona used to be the grail for many people long ago becos it really was not easily obtained due to lower production numbers. A premium had to be paid. And you would hardly see one in the same restaurant. I enjoyed that feeling for quite a few years. Nowadays it is found on the wrist of some young executive whose monthly salary cant pay for half the price i paid for the watch.

Thats life. Quite similar to car ownership in recent years too.

fully agreed

you are right they all look the same, that's why i bought the cheapest and "basest" model.. since superficial "collectors" will probably recognise it just as a Pam and not know if its the expensive one or not [:p]

Officine Panerai was the watch that got me interested in horology back in 2006, that's why its got some sentimental value to me.. and the first luxury watch that i got.

so, to sell or not to sell? :wacko:

I agree with u on this..... I really tried to read up and learn more abt it; at one point even wanted to buy just the very basic model ..... still not bitten.

keep bah. first watch leh. sentimental value. :)

I agree with u on this..... I really tried to read up and learn more abt it; at one point even wanted to buy just the very basic model ..... still not bitten.

keep bah. first watch leh. sentimental value. :)

that will mean i will continue to look gay if i wear it out. muahahahaha [gorgeous][smash]