Watches III

Steptronic

It will only look gay if you wear it gay.

If you wear it man, it will look man.

Hahah

knew that was coming from you. its the wearer not the watch right [laugh]

yeah i realize that's the only guy selling.... 18ksub.com

but it's got a green face. would prefer a black face.

thanx :)

actually green with gold goes very well. got pic?

Imho, Ball not worth collecting.

I believe i have posted this story many years ago on this same thread.

In 2005, i went to HK for a cigar trip.

Met up with several friends of friends. One of their wife's owns Ball distributorship in HK.

When we met at grand hyatt for drinks, his wife tried to get us to each buy a Ball at special price.

Hkd5k only

Anyway, i dont like Ball designs, look wannabe.

However i understand the watch to be hardy and durable

HKD5K is cheap, which model is that? could be the fireman series?

i like Ball, the bracelet from the hydrocarbon series is very solid and firm and at that price range they use 2892, which in some ways is better than 2824.

plus the tritium tube is very suitable for night use.

Green dial, black bezel, full gold.....too much colours leh

Nope. I right hander. Haha. Super troublesome.

Ball was ard that price back then, a thousand to two. I remember cortina brought it in and the sales was pushing them aggressively.

Going down memory lane [angel]

watches.jpg

My first watch is the Russian hand wound mechanical pilot's watch from Aviator, using the Molnija 3603 movement. bought in Feb 2007.

Got my Ball Engineer-Hydrocarbon as a gift from my wifey in May 2008 :p

Got the Marina Militare in early June 2008, an impulse buy to satiate my desire for a Panerai.

watchesback.jpg

the Unitas and Molnija movements on display, as well as my Ball.

In 2009, got a Sinn U1 SDR

u1sdr.jpg

Barren 2010, then came the Pam in 2011 and the Seiko FFF mod in 2012

fff.jpg

As for this year.. [pirate]

safhamilton.jpg

Imho, Ball not worth collecting.

I believe i have posted this story many years ago on this same thread.

In 2005, i went to HK for a cigar trip.

Met up with several friends of friends. One of their wife's owns Ball distributorship in HK.

When we met at grand hyatt for drinks, his wife tried to get us to each buy a Ball at special price.

Hkd5k only

Anyway, i dont like Ball designs, look wannabe.

However i understand the watch to be hardy and durable

Bought a Ball World Time (black face) for rough use.

Quite durable, and very useful when travelling..

But daily basis, still the daytona more comfy.

Er....you are not wrong.....thats why i never bot a Panerai.

A base model luminor Marina used to be only $2000.

Then for whatever funny reason, it shot up over a few years becos of demand.

But a basic Panerai is still fine, no matter what.

A Daytona used to be the grail for many people long ago becos it really was not easily obtained due to lower production numbers. A premium had to be paid. And you would hardly see one in the same restaurant. I enjoyed that feeling for quite a few years. Nowadays it is found on the wrist of some young executive whose monthly salary cant pay for half the price i paid for the watch.

Thats life. Quite similar to car ownership in recent years too.

wah bro, you gotta give young exec like me a chance mah..

HKD5K is cheap, which model is that? could be the fireman series?

i like Ball, the bracelet from the hydrocarbon series is very solid and firm and at that price range they use 2892, which in some ways is better than 2824.

plus the tritium tube is very suitable for night use.

Yes cheap becos friendly price from the sole AD's daughter.

But i dont know which model.

Friend's wife tried to "stuff" us by saying she give us special price cheap cheap so each one just take one to support. she was wearing mink coat and her hk actress friend was also there.

i didnt really mind and would hv said ok since i dont want my friend to laukwee. but my cantonese is bad and i kept quiet. In the end one of the friends who is good in cantonese rejected politely and jokingly.

Otherwise, the next morning we will all end up at the boutique to collect our Ball watch. Hahaha

Still prefer black dial leh

Cooling off now lah. If by end of year i still keen then surely i will buy

hahah same here for me...I also cooling off.

Told myself if i hit my work target this year AND lose 3kg, I will buy...

Work front, looks like on track to clear the year in the next 2 months.

Weight front.... Sigh... Not on track.. Only lose 1kg...

Also gmt master 2 full gold?

Group purchase?

losing 3kg is easy peasy.. i did that in my first month.

now 3 mths liao, only lost 5kg.. its getting more difficult to lose more kg now.. OT again

Also gmt master 2 full gold?

Group purchase?

I looking at rose gold daytona with leather strap. The one with black ceramic bezel.

Edited by Tedlhw

losing 3kg is easy peasy.. i did that in my first month.

now 3 mths liao, only lost 5kg.. its getting more difficult to lose more kg now.. OT again

Yah really not easy.

Doc say my BMI is 'obese' liao...

Wah really feel fat..