Does achievement matters ?

ShepherdPie

If you have the money to pay up, you can sleep better. This is so true. However, do you really have to pay up to sleep better? I.e. If you have a $300k outstanding mortgage loan and already have $300k to pay up, u are as good as the guy who paid up his HDB but have $0. Both should sleep as well becos both have already paid up or

can paid up.

However, you will be smarter with your money if you dont. Especially, if the loan interests is lower than the returns. The guy who paid up his HDB will no longer has access to his monies because HDB cannot be remortgaged. He have to sell in order to get access to the cash.

Plse lah if you have $300k cash vs $300k loan, it means you have not enough to pay up....

People are talking about having much more cash than loans lah.....

If you buy a $50 casio, you want to take a loan for 2 yrs or not?

[:p][laugh]

Oops I better not say too much, bye......

Edited by Throttle2

If you have the money to pay up, you can sleep better. This is so true. However, do you really have to pay up to sleep better? I.e. If you have a $300k outstanding mortgage loan and already have $300k to pay up, u are as good as the guy who paid up his HDB but have $0. Both should sleep as well becos both have already paid up or can paid up.

However, you will be smarter with your money if you dont. Especially, if the loan interests is lower than the returns. The guy who paid up his HDB will no longer has access to his monies because HDB cannot be remortgaged. He have to sell in order to get access to the cash.

You are those kind only look at upside never look at downside. You think returns are free? You invest and lose even principal sum, you think you smarter? Whether smart or not does not depend on whether have cash on hand only.

That is so true, i so regret shortening the term of my payment, i would have more money to downpay for another property by now maybe :(

I rather have 2 property under my name mortgage than to full pay 1, end of the day, rental yields is higher than monthly repayment and the rest will be passive income

pay up your first home then consider next property investment

this is a much safer plan than 2 housing debts

nowadays people so impatient to get rich but end up full of debt instead.

Edited by Enye

You are those kind only look at upside never look at downside. You think returns are free? You invest and lose even principal sum, you think you smarter? Whether smart or not does not depend on whether have cash on hand only.

If you invest and you lose money, yes, u may look stupid. If you invest and you gain money, are you saying it is smart? The fact is the current situation suggest that is not so hard to get returns. Even doing nothing is better. E.g. monies left in CPF OA is already earning higher interests than bank loan. It is already smart by doing nothing.

Anyway, we dun even have to invest. Many of us have many debts. Car and Home. If you really want to pay up quickly, the smart way is to pay up the car loan. The home loan is the cheapest loan and it should be the last one you want to pay up faster.

We all have to worry about downside. So, invest carefully. I would argue that if you really lose money, you are not stupid. It only means you make the wrong bets. At the extreme example, someone who gamble and lose money, is he really stupid? I would think that he is too greedy and make very risky bets.

Have a rethink on how you borrow and use your monies. Even the richest people borrow cheap money. E.g. Facebook (not google) CEO is so rich but yet borrow cheap monies to buy his property.

Edited by Lincoln

pay full dont pay full, return cpf interest if sell house etc..aga not much differences

so stretch is better also la, 1 party mati..also free house [laugh] ..

then inside cpf leftover also can take out..

so stretch also no difference if intend change house in future

my post already very confusing liao...

you add in one more leg.. become super messy :D

I'm rather sceptical on those who ST or Sunday Times feature. Often, the "subject" follows a very scripted story line.

1) Grew up in an average family

2) Results were not poor but mostly above average

3) Worked hard and made it big through some opportunity

4) Intends to repay society thru some charitable means

It's a very fine example of meritocracy propaganda.

No one will read the article if

1) ASK who grew up with gold spoon

2) Elitist PSC scholar who went to be IB and earned few mil from buying/selling at hedge fund

3) Didn't work hard but through connections, managed to get a satki job

4) don't give a f about those below him. won't even spend 1 dollar to buy 3 packet of tissue paper from blind man

[laugh][;)]

Have a rethink on how you borrow and use your monies. Even the richest people borrow cheap money. E.g. Facebook (not google) CEO is so rich but yet borrow cheap monies to buy his property.

Actually Facebook CEO didnt stretch his loan to max so i dun think he is good example of leavaging.

Just feel that peace of mind is more impt.. if you 300k in the bank.. you will also feel the urge to spend it.. ha haha :P

Edited by ShepherdPie

No one will read the article if

1) ASK who grew up with gold spoon

2) Elitist PSC scholar who went to be IB and earned few mil from buying/selling at hedge fund

3) Didn't work hard but through connections, managed to get a satki job

4) don't give a f about those below him. won't even spend 1 dollar to buy 3 packet of tissue paper from blind man

[laugh][;)]

Hmm.. are you sure ? alot of top-selling self-help books are written by elites even in their school days.

If you invest and you lose money, yes, u may look stupid. If you invest and you gain money, are you saying it is smart? The fact is the current situation suggest that is not so hard to get returns. Even doing nothing is better. E.g. monies left in CPF OA is already earning higher interests than bank loan. It is already smart by doing nothing.

Anyway, we dun even have to invest. Many of us have many debts. Car and Home. If you really want to pay up quickly, the smart way is to pay up the car loan. The home loan is the cheapest loan and it should be the last one you want to pay up faster.

We all have to worry about downside. So, invest carefully. I would argue that if you really lose money, you are not stupid. It only means you make the wrong bets. At the extreme example, someone who gamble and lose money, is he really stupid? I would think that he is too greedy and make very risky bets.

richest people borrow cheap money

poor people better pay up their debts first

Actually Facebook CEO didnt stretch his loan to max so i dun think he is good example of leavaging.

Just feel that peace of mind is more impt.. if you 300k in the bank.. you will also feel the urge to spend it.. ha haha :P

No leh, with only $300k in the bank, i will feel insecure......dare not spend

yah... if you leavage $300k x 10. No wonder you feel insecure..

everything paid in cash already u still feel insecure? [laugh]

richest people borrow cheap money

poor people better pay up their debts first

richest ppl dun borrow $$... then lend money...

and hold empires that are not allowed to failed... if their bank fails.. government will jump in and print $$ for them.. ha haha

Hmm.. are you sure ? alot of top-selling self-help books are written by elites even in their school days.

and you believe their s--t??? :o

just some information for those that waiting for the big crash in pty mkt..

Looks like very very hard to go down.... what's going on?!?! Increase in no.. but decrease in vacancy...

URA report in for Q4 2012

The stock of completed private residential units increased by 1,274 units in 4th Quarter 2012. The vacancy rate of completed private residential units decreased from 6.1% as at the end of 3rd Quarter 2012 to 5.4% as at the end of 4th Quarter 2012 (see Annex E-1).

URA report in for Q1 2013

The stock of completed private residential units increased by 2,204 units in 1st Quarter 2013. The vacancy rate of completed private residential units decreased from 5.4% at the end of 4th Quarter 2012 to 5.2% at the end of 1st Quarter 2013 (see Annex E-1).

Edited by ShepherdPie