Briansoh 1st Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Ooh... I find it's ok... Maybe near my place lah. Convenient. There is also one restaurant swee choon at jalan besar area. Never try b4 but heard a lot of youngster go there. swee choon sucks. Expensive, small and not nice. Whole place like operated by PRC like that.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Generator Clutched May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Highly recommend Cherry Garden but there is no cherry that can be eaten though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 3, 2013 Author Share May 3, 2013 why not try the latest 1 star restaurant from HK...some tim ho wan restaurant at plaza sing. I had the char siew bun in HK....gotta to admit it absolutely yummy....I have to q for 1.5 hrs in HK to get a seat...not sure how long it will take in Plaza sing I queued for 2 hours before I got a seat. Price for TIM HO WAN Singapore is still ok but only the specials are good, rest are just so so la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nonpareil 4th Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 I really like Shang Palace at Shangrila. Also second Wah Lok. Didnt like it at Imperial Treasure, though that was at MBS. Not sure if the other branch differs in standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Any feedback on Yum Cha? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Any feedback on Yum Cha? so so dim sum. long long queue. catered for tourist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 I really like Shang Palace at Shangrila. Also second Wah Lok. Didnt like it at Imperial Treasure, though that was at MBS. Not sure if the other branch differs in standard. shang palace damm good. but exp. love the fried liu sha bao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 TS, another night joint for your consideration. not that upmarket but it is GOODe. Swee Choo Tim Sum Opens : 6pm to 6am (closed on Tuesday) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 surprised no one mentioned tung lok... i find not bad leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 TS, another night joint for your consideration. not that upmarket but it is GOODe. Swee Choo Tim Sum Opens : 6pm to 6am (closed on Tuesday) you mean swee choon at jalan besar? good meh? i find it very mediocre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Planning to celebrate my mum's birthday so thinking of bringing her to have Dim Sum this time. So far, I've been to a few (which I am going to list) but would like to gather some opinions or recommendations to good Dim Sum outlets -Tim Ho Wan -Peach Garden -Crystal Jade -Li Bai -Imperial Treasure -East Ocean Pls skip Tim Ho Wan, unless you're willing to queue at least 2 hours. I had a labourous Labour day queueing for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 you mean swee choon at jalan besar? good meh? i find it very mediocre Of course, not everything on menu that good lah. Taste buds different too lah. xiao long bao, custard bun and golden fried toufu are some of the must-try. Then again, that place could be quite noisy and crowded, not suitable for TS' birthday plans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 old school Tim sum: Red Star restuarant. i rather eat coffeeshop dim sum than eat that man. worst dimsum i've eaten taking into account the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 (edited) For a food i wont queue so long, can forget about tim ho wan cos queue freakin long. Might as well pay more eat in shang palace @shangrila for dim sum shang palace dim sum not very good. but i only went there for CNY. similarly minjiang @GWP their dimsum also not much difference from the cheaper chinese restaurants. probably their specialities are in their other dishes. i rather eat peach garden. Edited May 3, 2013 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 surprised no one mentioned tung lok... i find not bad leh actually it's just a habit to go back to the same restaurants to eat. honestly speaking most better places the standard dimsum is good enough if u are not having gourmet tastebuds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 actually it's just a habit to go back to the same restaurants to eat. honestly speaking most better places the standard dimsum is good enough if u are not having gourmet tastebuds. i find all about the same in sg.... tunglok because more branches and don't need go town Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 i find all about the same in sg.... tunglok because more branches and don't need go town any tunglok branches to recommend? I usually eat peach garden. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Different lah. The skin of the har gao makes a difference. Of course the fillings do too. Quality goes a long way. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...