Cost for renovating kitchen

Kurtselva

$3500 is very reasonable for a park mall kitchen

Even HDB shop type place is already $2.5k+

So for a high end branded kitchen $3.5k is a bargain.

8 yrs ago pricing leh

At that time 2.2-2.5 k mkt rate

Ya lah a thousand more n it's abit different from the usual design

Worth it

Till date it's still nice even though we chosen a not so Chinese color

Light green n white combi

Hahaha

U all pricing scare ts away Liao la

Hahaha

But Reno n car servicing is the same thing

Source your own parts = go direct carpenter

Go to workshop = go interior designer

End product approx 80-90% same one

Only spend abit of time only

Depends on whether TS is getting gold plated taps or not lor. [:p] But ya, what Tigershark1976 say is around there.

Is TS name tt durai by any chance? [rolleyes]

What about redoing everything but not going for those high-end designer stuff, and of course not those damn cheap stuff also.. What would be the normal acceptable range if done by a renovation company (not those designer company)?

Dun go fr cheap low quality.

Pay abit more fr quality n it sud last >20 yrs easy.

Cheap n u change very fast n e inconvenience n mess of renovating yr kitchen very leche.

Rough guides:

Top/bottom cabinets per foot run : $120 (top and bottom measure separately.Cost depend on type of laminates, and interior finishing. Also, if the material for internal shelving - colored type or plain white type - your contractor would know)

Kitchen top (for bottom cabinet): if those cheapo postform, than not more than $200, if "corian"-type (those resin types which come in many colours and design), about $80 per foot run (from China), granite or marble top different league liao.

You will need to change tap, sink, cooker and hob. Some contractors charge you for installing. Some don't.

You will need to pay City Gas technician to turn on the gas.

If change wall tiles, you will need electrician to re-run cable and install power points, lighting points.

As above, you will need plumber to re-run water pipes.

Change wall tiles, and floor tiles in kitchen will set you back by $2-5,000 depending of types of tiles.

Also, slabs for fridge, washing machine etc.

All in, should be around $10,000 for an average looking kitchen.

I got quotations from 3 contractors: 1 charge 16K+, and the other 2 14-15K ++ [knife]... Is this normal??

Initially thought can get the reno done ard 10K or so..didnt know will be so ex

A few more info:

1) Will need to hack and do wall and floor tiles

2) Do up full height wall tiles

3) Hack and do cabinet (approx 31 ft)

4) Thinking of getting granite top

Mainly that is the main stuffs

And is it true that sink, stove and hood are to be purchased seperately by the owner?

Edited by Kurtselva

Cfm u went to a interior design firm lor

Their price is like that one

If u got x n got budget

U can find guys to hack the wall

Find carpentry to install the cabinets

Get back those who Hack to do tiles n floor

Think ard 8-10 k range given they quote u 16

TS should mention the budget and the requirement.... What Latio2005A mentioned is pretty accurate from my own experience also.

Basically the main stuffs are:

1) Hack and redo full height wall tiles and floor tiles

2) Hack and redo top and bottom Kitchen cabinet (ard 31ft)

3) Thinking of getting granite top

Initially thought can get this done with ard 10K or so..But after the quotations from the 3 contractors (14-16K [knife]) , will be looking at the most reasonable one lah

Cfm u went to a interior design firm lor

Their price is like that one

If u got x n got budget

U can find guys to hack the wall

Find carpentry to install the cabinets

Get back those who Hack to do tiles n floor

Think ard 8-10 k range given they quote u 16

Not really leh.. The one that quoted 16K not ID..they reno contractors only

The other 2 more of ID

there are some couple rarely cook

they eat out most time and will eat at their parents home

some of their wife either dunno how to cook or hate to cook

cos they hate to wash up after cooking

TS need to reno his kitchen becos the kitchen cond is damn teruk

if TS wife belong to this category

then spend to its minimum

Still too young to get married [laugh]

Mom does cooking everyday though..the kitchen not damn teruk lah but it is about time to renovate it

Was thinking of whether to get the IKEA guy to come down have a look..

Anyone got experience with IKEA?

Is it too ex or reasonable?

Will they do the kitchen cabinet the way the owner wants it to be done or will they only be able to get whatever they have in IKEA to install in the kitchen?

And they also charge for their first visit <_<

I just did my kitchen. If you want their contact, PM me. My cost was about $13k, top to bottom, granite counters and glass walls. I stay in a maisonette.

And is it true that sink, stove and hood are to be purchased seperately by the owner?

sink, hob and hood have to be purchased by yourself..only u urself know what u like or want..btw since u are redoing the whole kitchen..u may likely wish to include in an oven which is a healthier way of cooking

Singapore's renovation cost certainly is on the high side.

Maybe someone can explain why it is so costly in Singapore. I think maybe its the high rent, or that our homes are so expensive, so renovation company feel they can charge more (relativity).

Singapore's renovation cost certainly is on the high side.

Maybe someone can explain why it is so costly in Singapore. I think maybe its the high rent, or that our homes are so expensive, so renovation company feel they can charge more (relativity).

A lot of inefficiencies bearing in mind labour cost is still way below developed countries. Almost all building materials can be brought in easily without duties, except meagre 7% GST. All the carpentry works are pre-done in Malaysia and transport to Singapore for lower cost.

A lot of sub-sub-sub contractors involved even for simple jobs. Each middle man wants to have its profit share. All these add up. Your "main con" simply do a mark up on all these. All he needs to do is co-ordination work.

If you have time to be your own "main con", you should be able to save $5K to $10K for a typical HDB flat. Need time and some resources to run around and co-ordinate various contractors and suppliers.

ST got run one article on this before.

Unfortunately, most Singaporeans prefer the easy way out, i.e. use $$$ to settle.

Edited by Kangadrool

Was thinking of whether to get the IKEA guy to come down have a look..

Anyone got experience with IKEA?

Is it too ex or reasonable?

Will they do the kitchen cabinet the way the owner wants it to be done or will they only be able to get whatever they have in IKEA to install in the kitchen?

And they also charge for their first visit <_<

When i shift house abt 15 yrs ago...i bought several stuff fm Ikea like bedside tables...coffee table...bathroom cabinets...lamps.....etc n all still in good condition.

Their stuff good quality although a bit more ex. Fr me is money well spent.

A lot of inefficiencies bearing in mind labour cost is still way below developed countries. Almost all building materials can be brought in easily without duties, except meagre 7% GST. All the carpentry works are pre-done in Malaysia and transport to Singapore for lower cost.

A lot of sub-sub-sub contractors involved even for simple jobs. Each middle man wants to have its profit share. All these add up. Your "main con" simply do a mark up on all these. All he needs to do is co-ordination work.

If you have time to be your own "main con", you should be able to save $5K to $10K for a typical HDB flat. Need time and some resources to run around and co-ordinate various contractors and suppliers.

ST got run one article on this before.

Unfortunately, most Singaporeans prefer the easy way out, i.e. use $$$ to settle.

Ya agree. When i shift house i was e main con. Even bought many stuff myself n ask contractor to install. Saved a bit.

Only thing u must come n chk regularly to see ty do properly n on schedule. Make sure sub-contractor dun eat snake.

Ty see u always come n chk ty more on e ball.