Pisces69 6th Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 U notice yr pics all e kitchens quite big. Otherwise not enough space to put island. I see some new apartments e kitchen u stand in middle n can touch all 4 walls wh yr hands. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 (edited) Some kitchen Ideas American style with island Cottage style with Island scadinaven kitchen with island Nice!!! But sad to say, most HDB cannot afford to have an "island" in the middle of no where... most HDB kitchen is rectangular shape...even my EM cannot afford to have such a big island in the middle kitchen, unless sacrified the wall cabinet... if a bit more square, maybe can conside.. Edited June 10, 2013 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 (edited) most people stuck in office or at work lah. not many people have the luxury to supervise renovation. i don't mind supervising my own reno. but how many working adults have the luxury to do that. unless u do sales job or some job that is more flexible... I did that last time when I got my 3 room flat... but like u said, I was "jobless" (2 mths vacation while waiting for new job to be started) that time and my pay was very low. So low that the savings could cover my 2 mths salary LOL. The saving was quite substantial.. but must be very careful in planning, eg U dont want your carpenter comes in before floor/ wall tiles is ready. The main door/gate is the last things to do so that you can pass around your old door keys to any contractor.... cabling work, aircon pipe, gas pipe or water pipe must be done before you install the skirting/cornies for the ceiling, make sure the contractor doesnt pour unuse cement into the drainage (dont be surprise, may contractor do that) & etc, mostly common sense but if you missed any important steps.. good luck Edited June 10, 2013 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 This is what I told one of the contractors..not to put tiles on the areas of the kitchen where cabinet is gonna be placed; just plaster will do.. but then he said wont save up much .. Need to clarify with him again cos almost half the kitchen is gonna be covered with cabinet Any Idea how is the cost for wall tiling calculated? Per foot? bro, for tiles work, make sure the contrctor did a good job. Make sure the floor/ wall is well prepared tiles is installed... . you will get crazy if you see your tiles cracking/popping out in front of you [laugh] . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 Tks for picTures My current one is cottage wo island, all along I tot we call it country style Haha Nex will hope the island will fit in as per floor plan Hee hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 So u start a trend here put island counter in kitchen. These u usually see in big american n european houses. I dun think I can start a trend la Haha should have many others who did that or similar oreadi My current is rect kitchen n dun have a connecting wall that can be hack Nex house got a wall to be hack so as per plan should fit in but But wun be as roomy as that bro pictures Mine if can be done will have one corner of the island dead end to a corner of the wall So can't move whole round thingy Only get the feel nia Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged June 10, 2013 Share June 10, 2013 This is what I told one of the contractors..not to put tiles on the areas of the kitchen where cabinet is gonna be placed; just plaster will do.. but then he said wont save up much .. Need to clarify with him again cos almost half the kitchen is gonna be covered with cabinet Any Idea how is the cost for wall tiling calculated? Per foot? Mine I recalled was about $3.20 per sq foot, not including hacking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 I dun think I can start a trend la Haha should have many others who did that or similar oreadi My current is rect kitchen n dun have a connecting wall that can be hack Nex house got a wall to be hack so as per plan should fit in but But wun be as roomy as that bro pictures Mine if can be done will have one corner of the island dead end to a corner of the wall So can't move whole round thingy Only get the feel nia Haha If one side join e wall then its not island anymore. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 Tks for picTures My current one is cottage wo island, all along I tot we call it country style Haha Nex will hope the island will fit in as per floor plan Hee hee Country n cottage style same lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 If one side join e wall then its not island anymore. Hahaha It's a lagoon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 bro, for tiles work, make sure the contrctor did a good job. Make sure the floor/ wall is well prepared tiles is installed... . you will get crazy if you see your tiles cracking/popping out in front of you [laugh] . Especially if contractor try to save on e glue to mix wh cement or use too little cement. Some floor n wall tiles u knock can hear a hollow sound. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 I did that last time when I got my 3 room flat... but like u said, I was "jobless" (2 mths vacation while waiting for new job to be started) that time and my pay was very low. So low that the savings could cover my 2 mths salary LOL. The saving was quite substantial.. but must be very careful in planning, eg U dont want your carpenter comes in before floor/ wall tiles is ready. The main door/gate is the last things to do so that you can pass around your old door keys to any contractor.... cabling work, aircon pipe, gas pipe or water pipe must be done before you install the skirting/cornies for the ceiling, make sure the contractor doesnt pour unuse cement into the drainage (dont be surprise, may contractor do that) & etc, mostly common sense but if you missed any important steps.. good luck Ya most important u must arrange e sequence of work to b done. Wait u install all cornices e electrical contractor say cannot run hidden wires n pipes. Then u kenna remove e cornices n re-install after electrician/plumber finish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 Nice!!! But sad to say, most HDB cannot afford to have an "island" in the middle of no where... most HDB kitchen is rectangular shape...even my EM cannot afford to have such a big island in the middle kitchen, unless sacrified the wall cabinet... if a bit more square, maybe can conside.. When designing yr kitchen.....always remember one rule. Yr fridge....sink....n cooker must form a triangle. It makes cooking much easier cos u stand in e center n can easily reach all 3 points. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 It's a lagoon. Hahaha. Blue Lagoon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 If one side join e wall then its not island anymore. Hahaha not 1 side lar, its one corner hahahahaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 When designing yr kitchen.....always remember one rule. Yr fridge....sink....n cooker must form a triangle. It makes cooking much easier cos u stand in e center n can easily reach all 3 points. this is very true omg with my got "feel" island will have to go one round to get to fridge hahahahaha will let my wife know this point see what she has to say tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 When designing yr kitchen.....always remember one rule. Yr fridge....sink....n cooker must form a triangle. It makes cooking much easier cos u stand in e center n can easily reach all 3 points. ok, noted. amazing, you guys flat must be huge.. for me, 4 room at 92 sqft.. i can't see how the kitchen will be than a straight line. anyway we are simple, fridge, sink, cabinet, induction cooker.. that's all for us. likely to be getting from ikea, cheaper.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 11, 2013 Share June 11, 2013 you'll be amazed how fast the "junks" pile up just after 1 year. Now all my cabinets are full, table/work top full. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...