ShepherdPie 5th Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 (edited) guess if both u and yr wife dosent cook much and just want a new and simple kitchen just do the bottom cabinet will do no cooker hood maybe $5k can liao Just do bottom cabinet may or may not save cost.. If you just do bottom.. then you need to think abt what you wan to "cover" the wall.. if you re-tile it , then its not going to be cheap.. if you put glass panel .. also not cheap.. if you just paint, you also need to even out the wall... :( also a cost. I suggest, you just do top and bottom.. then you have more storage space for your flat.. you can put all your books and other barang barang in the top cabinets. :) Edited June 7, 2013 by ShepherdPie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yahgo22 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Just do bottom cabinet may or may not save cost.. If you just do bottom.. then you need to think abt what you wan to "cover" the wall.. if you re-tile it , then its not going to be cheap.. if you put glass panel .. also not cheap.. if you just paint, you also need to even out the wall... :( also a cost. I suggest, you just do top and bottom.. then you have more storage space for your flat.. you can out all your books and other barang barang in the top cabinets. :) what if the wall is all tiled up? and he is on tight budget and if 1 rarely cook why spend extra to do full cabinet? save the extra several thousand on other more important reno Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 TS should mention the budget and the requirement.... What Latio2005A mentioned is pretty accurate from my own experience also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 what if the wall is all tiled up? and he is on tight budget and if 1 rarely cook why spend extra to do full cabinet? save the extra several thousand on other more important reno hee hee.. i dun know what is the budget of TS so i not sure if he can spare a few thousand in the kitchen. For me, i usually spend my renov dollar in the kitchen. You almost have to live with it for your entire stay in the house. Also if TS is going to have children or other member of the household moved in, heavy cooking will come later.. By then, it will be too late to make drastic changes to the kitchen. Since it's 3 rm flat, optimised use of space is very impt. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yahgo22 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 (edited) hee hee.. i dun know what is the budget of TS so i not sure if he can spare a few thousand in the kitchen. For me, i usually spend my renov dollar in the kitchen. You almost have to live with it for your entire stay in the house. Also if TS is going to have children or other member of the household moved in, heavy cooking will come later.. By then, it will be too late to make drastic changes to the kitchen. Since it's 3 rm flat, optimised use of space is very impt. :) there are some couple rarely cook they eat out most time and will eat at their parents home some of their wife either dunno how to cook or hate to cook cos they hate to wash up after cooking TS need to reno his kitchen becos the kitchen cond is damn teruk if TS wife belong to this category then spend to its minimum Edited June 7, 2013 by Yahgo22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 How about Ikea kitchen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 How about Ikea kitchen? Ikea kitchen will fall apart if you cook everyday and night Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Ikea kitchen will fall apart if you cook everyday and night So bad arh? I thought got 10 or 20 years warranty one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Ikea kitchen will fall apart if you cook everyday and night Not true. I have Ikea Kitchen - 9 years later it's still going strong, we cook mostly daily for 5-7 people. Only think I have done is replace the sink cabinet - it wasn't properly sealed and rotted. this cost me about $400, but that's all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Not true. I have Ikea Kitchen - 9 years later it's still going strong, we cook mostly daily for 5-7 people. Only think I have done is replace the sink cabinet - it wasn't properly sealed and rotted. this cost me about $400, but that's all. so did you claim under the 10 year warranty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 so did you claim under the 10 year warranty? Didn't bother - I have lost the receipt, and anyway - it was my fault, not the materials fault... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Didn't bother - I have lost the receipt, and anyway - it was my fault, not the materials fault... I won't bother either 'cos by that time, cannot find receipt liao. Wonder if it's just marketing gimmicks especially those warranty that does not require you to register online. I ever mailed warranty card to dealer. End up, still need to produce my own portion + receipt as they cannot locate theirs. With most receipt printed on thermal paper, 1 month no wordings liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Sorry to hijack but any bros here can advise where I could get a replacement dish rack (see sample pic) and set it up on my own? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Wa didnt know now Reno so ex Liao huh 8 yrs back I did my 4 rm kitchen at carotted price cos wife insist she Luke the country design from park mall 3500 I ll paid for it While I go those sin ming ind area look for carpentry Ws to do up my bil same estate same size kitchen at 2000+ solid top with laminated carpentry I oreadi feel I paid high price Liao Now a simple kitchen need 5 k? I think go direct carpentry Ws nO need ba $3500 is very reasonable for a park mall kitchen Even HDB shop type place is already $2.5k+ So for a high end branded kitchen $3.5k is a bargain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Sorry to hijack but any bros here can advise where I could get a replacement dish rack (see sample pic) and set it up on my own? Song-Cho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Salmon 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Sorry to hijack but any bros here can advise where I could get a replacement dish rack (see sample pic) and set it up on my own? Hoe Kee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Song-Cho Thanks, will check it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Hoe Kee Will try this too, thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...