Copper Spark Plug @ 40k km Usage

Octopus

is a regulation switch below the compressor..........markcool quoted me $150..........but ah huat got no time to do for me that day.......so I went to JB...........according to them the switch is common problem for optra.............every abt 60000km will need to change............compressor no problem one........... ^_^ ^_^ ^_^

Mine changed after abt 120K km and a few months later my compressor kaput. So I changed new compressor but I ask Ah Huat to take out the recently changed regulator n stand-by when next time it spoils I can just put it back n no need to buy again.

actually that place used to be very good............and very crowded..................but lately seem very quiet liao.............ever since the two mech left and that CMI fellow became chief mech............ [:(]

the last two round I went both time boh lang............now the nephew also learning there.................nice young chap but the farking CMI fellow like bully him........ [mad]

can you imagine that farker can fill SP3 when I need toyota type IV..........and overfill my atf by 1 liter........ :wacko:

now i go there to buy parts and diy or go somewhere else to do my repair............his parts and cheaper still........... [laugh] [laugh]

Was there for servicing on a Monday two weeks ago, and its quite crowded.

I agree the service standard deteriorating, even Simon tries to chop carrot by asking you to replace parts unnecessary. For example I asked them to checked my rear drum brakes and I was just beside the mechanic when he inspecting the mechanism and did not see any problem. Yet Simon standing from 2 meter away say there is leakage and quoted me the replacement costs. I just told him I did not bring enough cash so will do other time....

Time fr u to remove that stupid tank. U get more boot space also.

need pay LTA S$3000 plus..............and another S$1000 plus for labour to remove................total almost $5000..............different enough to drive until I sell the car..............just leave it there lor.......... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Mine changed after abt 120K km and a few months later my compressor kaput. So I changed new compressor but I ask Ah Huat to take out the recently changed regulator n stand-by when next time it spoils I can just put it back n no need to buy again.

yah.............good idea............just pay for labour only next time............ ^_^

Was there for servicing on a Monday two weeks ago, and its quite crowded.

I agree the service standard deteriorating, even Simon tries to chop carrot by asking you to replace parts unnecessary. For example I asked them to checked my rear drum brakes and I was just beside the mechanic when he inspecting the mechanism and did not see any problem. Yet Simon standing from 2 meter away say there is leakage and quoted me the replacement costs. I just told him I did not bring enough cash so will do other time....

don't go on monday morning............sunday he close mah..............monday sure more crowded.........

I went on one weekday morning and one weekday afternoon.............4 mech stand ard talk cork.............

you also notice their service standard dropping hor...........so far he has not chop me other things yet.........except for the compressor..........which I just walked away.........

and yah i notice his tyre also quotes higher than tyre shops...........

wah how come you all spark plugs like so cheap? i change one set for my forte cost nearly $100... the shop tell me because forte need 4 and "big size'.... believe loh.. true ah?

I change spark plugs at 5 to 10k interval, together with engine oil. Am i the only crazy guy here?

no.............I am joining you.........not as crazy as 5K ( only did it when running on CNG).........but sure thing on 10K......... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

wah how come you all spark plugs like so cheap? i change one set for my forte cost nearly $100... the shop tell me because forte need 4 and "big size'.... believe loh.. true ah?

what plugs you using sia???.............

Spark plug got alot of type, the 1 u see in the photo first post is the most normal type, copper tip, i believe for 4 pcs with labour should not be about 18-20.

the spec is recommend for 10k, some ppl push it to 20k. 30k, even 40-60k, no comment.

got another type u see the tip is very sharp, u see the box got write irdium, that 1 is irdium tip , the box i read normally state recommend 50k.

but most singaporean kiasu abit, so 40k u want , u can replace it, (average price should be 80 sgd +-)

but for the same spark plug irdium type, there are alot of size also, your car might be the iridium longer spec .

and for some specific car, like my bro latio, i read the handbook, it say 100k then change spark plug, so should last about 10 servicing.

i ask stocklist b4 its orginal nissian long life spark plug, and mech say alot of work to replace. i see them change, indeed open the top cover. ( dun know how to explain).

in the end pay 200 + for 4 plcs plus labour, exact amount how much i forget.

so if u want compare u must know exactly what u change to , then compare apple to apple, then accurate.

Yup used to go there to do change of parts and eo change. Intially was ok. Price is cheaper than many places until recently like ard 6mths ago simon try to push and carrot...overcharged for atf ard $28 above stockist price...overcharged for suspensions ard $200(wouldnt have complained if he use original..but instead he quoted original price for made in taiwan brand).. all not inclusive of labour yet..very disappointed..now only go there do eo change and i bring my own eo. Only get oil filter and air filter from him now...in fact from what i know their margin from selling the eo at his place also very high. haha...mechanics wise so so...did came across eo kena overfilled..left the workshop feeling engine very sluggish and heavy. stop go down check found out eo overshoot on dipstick by alot. went back to get them drain out abit...now when they do the work i will stand at the side watch.

need pay LTA S$3000 plus..............and another S$1000 plus for labour to remove................total almost $5000..............different enough to drive until I sell the car..............just leave it there lor.......... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Lucky that time I never considered CNG. I thinking I wait n see how. Now I considered lucky I never got it.

Looks like it has turned out to b a big failure. Now seldom hear anybody tok abt CNG anymore.

I think most who hv it regretted. [bigcry]

Edited by Pisces69

U hear wrongly lah.

Mech say u need to change for a bigger size so got more power.

But if u pay $100 for 4 pcs I really think u kenna [knife] big time.

Time fr u to look fr another mech n workshop.

I change spark plugs at 5 to 10k interval, together with engine oil. Am i the only crazy guy here?

Maybe not crazy lah. Just a little bit too rich only. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

what plugs you using sia???.............

I believe its normal type. but 2 workshops told me already... fortes use 4 plus and "big" ones. so very expensive...

1.6 Forte are using either Denso iridium power IXUH22 ($67/set) or NGK laser iridium ILKR7B8 ($75/set), so plus labour, around $100 is about right. You check with your invoice again, i'm sure your mechanic gave you the iridium plugs instead of copper.

Oh so Forte use iridium as standard plug.

BTW not me own Forte. Its the TS. Maybe u wan to reply to him. -_-