1fast1 Supersonic July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Did TS have the presence of mind to pull out cashcard before exiting? OK, lah, TS is an honest and good person, I'm sure he didn't profiteer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kobey 1st Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 To be fair, some carpark barrier will sense if there is a vehicle, and will not come down all the way. It will just go back up if it sense a vehicle coming by and deduct the necessary amount. Perhaps taxi uncle never expect it to come down bah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 but the barrier sensor abit spoilt right...there should be some time lag for vehicle to clear and then to lower... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erinio Neutral Newbie July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 you all mai siao leh. where got free parking when entering the car park. when faced with such situation when entering the car park, better ensure that your iu is registered by the gantry. if not, you will be cbk wasting everyone time who are stuck behind you when exiting. there will not be any info of your car entering so you have to call the operator to let you exit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 no need to send, the operator has their own cctv. for damage of barrier, they will charge around $100 pending on the severity of the damage. if normal, they just use cable tie to hold it back and charge a $100. ask me, i kanna before Wow! So expensive huh? BTW taxis, vans and lorries and some cars are mostly like that, always rushing to enter or exit. At my area when the carpark is full, because they unable to read English, keep going forward and reverse to "make" the barrier open for them, in the end move too close and hit the barrier, hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 no need to send, the operator has their own cctv. for damage of barrier, they will charge around $100 pending on the severity of the damage. if normal, they just use cable tie to hold it back and charge a $100. ask me, i kanna before U mean ty use cable tie n barrier no damage also ty ask u to pay $100????? And u actually paid? I wun pay if the barrier not damaged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Actually I don't really blame the taxi, sometimes I also almost didn't notice those barrier. Might be customer keep talking about which side to turn. Then how if taxi bang pedestrian. Old woman n child till both go hospital. Can the taxi driver say he was distracted by the passenger toking to him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 how come the barrier design so lousy? so easily breakable? Actual design is ty use clamp n bolts to hold the barrier but if u bang, the barrier wil break. Now most replace the bolts with cable tie so if its hit, the cable tie wil break off n the barrier is saved. A new barrier can cost almost $1K fr those longer one n abt $500 fr short one. Which one u prefer to break? A cheap 50cts cable tie or a $1K barrier? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 Did TS have the presence of mind to pull out cashcard before exiting? OK, lah, TS is an honest and good person, I'm sure he didn't profiteer. Just lucky enough TS never stop n steal the barrier altogether. Can try to sell it at Sungei Rd fr a couple of hundred bucks. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 but the barrier sensor abit spoilt right...there should be some time lag for vehicle to clear and then to lower... When there is a time lag, many pple take the chance to tailgate out n dun pay. Thats why now most barrier wil come down very fast to deter pple from trying to cheat the carpark of revenue. I wud prefer to install those cats claw like what ty have at the cway. Any driver try to tailgate without paying n those steel claws wil rise up n shread all 4 tires. Hahahaha. Then we see which one pple prefer to pay. Carpark charges or a new set of tires. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 I don't think taxi did it on purpose. I think taxi driver thought that the barrier will continue to lift up for him to drive through as he deem that the front car exited and just nice the sensor detected the taxi IU and thus no reason for it to come down. Notice he did switch on hazard light at the side after the barrier come crashing on taxi boot and dislodged barrier. So ya, can see from video, he did not did it on purpose, nor he want to cheat the parking fee. Honest mistake, but I guess he still need to pay for the damages to the barrier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 the barrier arm break in a very funny style to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 28, 2013 Share July 28, 2013 For saving that few dollars and risk an ugly dent on the rooftop. Hell no way. When there is a time lag, many pple take the chance to tailgate out n dun pay. Thats why now most barrier wil come down very fast to deter pple from trying to cheat the carpark of revenue. I wud prefer to install those cats claw like what ty have at the cway. Any driver try to tailgate without paying n those steel claws wil rise up n shread all 4 tires. Hahahaha. Then we see which one pple prefer to pay. Carpark charges or a new set of tires. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 is the barrier sensor sensitive to human crossing? or just for big object like car ? last time when I was young I kena hit on the head before Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 maintenance is really cheap on such parking system...so no comment...service and maintain by SDN BHD... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 (edited) is the barrier sensor sensitive to human crossing? or just for big object like car ? last time when I was young I kena hit on the head before unless you are a heap of metal or wear steel armour all around, the barrier is insensitive to humans in flesh. Edited July 29, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 Believed the taxi driver was probably distracted by something, or someone hence didn't realised the barrier was coming down. Taxi drivers can charge the parking fee (if any) to their passenger, if there are no grace period, so I don't think he is trying to cheat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear July 29, 2013 Share July 29, 2013 but when there is vehicle within range, the barrier should not have lower too.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...