Appeal for Witness: Orange Picanto hit by Cement Truck

Pmmj_mao

If you are sure you are not at fault, why claim own insurance?

Has the IO (from Police) interviewed you? If yes, what was his conclusion after his investigation? If the IO's verdict is that the truck was at fault, then you can be sure to claim 3rd party.

Ya, I was not at fault so I wanted to claim third party, but at the same time I also worried the other driver may spin some story and turn the table ard.

The IO has not interviewed me yet, because accident happen on Wed night. Thur and Fri PH.

But already give me statement to the police station.

Ya, I was not at fault so I wanted to claim third party, but at the same time I also worried the other driver may spin some story and turn the table ard.

The IO has not interviewed me yet, because accident happen on Wed night. Thur and Fri PH.

I'm glad you have the witness who was travelling behind you. It solves your headache. It doesn't matter which you claim. Basically if you claim from your own insurance first, they'll claim back from the truck's insurance. Only hassle is that you'll have to pay the excess first.

No matter what, die die you should claim the other insurer. No two ways about it. Not wise to point the gun towards you even if the final IO report concludes otherwise.

Question is, I can't understand why are you so particularly concerned by the truck driver spinning out some c--k-and-bull story to shift the blame on you when the investigation is not even complete?? Have faith on yourself [nod]

Hi Nicholas,

Claiming against 3rd.party would be for very straight forward case such as "rear end collision" or "T-Bone collision", 2 vehicles side to side collision is open to wide defensive arguments, just like Traffic Lights is either in your favor or not ? that could has cause the accident.

Thanks for enlightening me! :)

So if not clear cut, and you claim from 3rd party, in the end lost, then how? Have to fork out cash return to insurance?

@Pmmj_mao: Have faith in yourself, it's not your fault! Don't care what the truck driver says... if he lies, that's it for him.

If you are not at fault then claim 3rd party.

Let the insurer decided how much to settle.

If they cannot settle, they will settle in court.

Just submit what your claim and statement as what happened.

Since you may need replacement car, more straight forward to claim from the truck.

Another thing about these cement mixer / truck drivers at Punggol area,

They like to park illegally at the roadside and its during peak hour.

Dear all,

Now I am struggling between claiming between my own insurer or third party insurer.

I will write out my accident details and hopefully you guys can advise me.

I was travelling along Punggol Dr on the left lane. It was a two lane same directional road. In another 50m ahead, I will turn left to my HDB car park.

This cement truck was on my right lane. coming behind me. The truck eat into my lane and bump my car right rear and dragged all the way on my car right side. I try to horn him and I think he did not see my car entirely. When I saw the head of the truck on my right window, fearing he will crush me, I immediatelly then steer to the left.

My wife was at the left front passegner seat. Fearing that my car will hit the left kerb and overturn, I brake and steer back to my right again. By this time the truck already passed me. My car skidded and spin 180 degree, finally stop at the right lane and facing against the traffic.

Ambulance and police came.

I managed to get a witness who is driving just behind me on the left lane as well, who saw the entire accident. She saw the truck travelling past her car on the right lane, cut into my left lane and hit my vehicle right rear and swip my right side. TP had took her statement.

Another thing is after the cement driver got off his truck, he try to blame me and said I was at fault first. I had a feeling he might spin up some story to cover up his fault.

I had photos at the front page of this thread, showing my car damage on the right side.

Left and front totally no damaged.

The cement had damages on his left front headlight only.

There was also skid marking on the road made by the truck showing he cut into my lane.

Based on all this information, do you think my case is strong enough to claim against third party insurance?

Or it is better I claim my own insurance?

By the way, actually I am more keen towards claiming third party.

Really need you guys valuable advise.

Thank you very much for the help! [:)]

Based on what u said here, yr case is very very strong. U hv an independent witness who supported yr case n I doubt the truck driver wil hv a chance.

But since yr damage is so serious n expensive, I suggest u claim on yr own insurance first to avoid any long drawn claim against the 3rd party. This so u can settle yr replacement car n get on with yr life n not need to spend sleepless nights worrying when u going to get yr money.

Sometimes the other ins co see u no experience in claims wil give u a very hard time trying to pressure u to settle fr a lesser amt.

After u hv claimed on yr own ins, ty wil not penalise u once its confirmed the other party is to blame.

U hv insurance to make yr life easier. Dun try to make it more difficult than it already is. [;)]

Good luck. [wave]

My car was sent to my insurer, Directasia, authorised workshop, Ah Lim Motor.

Anyone has reviews or dealings with this company before?

Ya I also sent there a couple of yrs back. Very nice pple n easy to deal with.

I forget the lady who handled my case but the mech Simon is very helpful n did a good job for me.

Just submit all yr necessary docs n medical claims fr them to process.

So yr car being repaired? Then Ah Lim give u a repalcement car to drive n fr how long?

I thought usually workshop will ask whether I wan to claim my own or third party, or even no claim?

Just leave it to the workshop to do the repairs n u claim on yr own insurance n ty got the know-how n experience to handle the other party insurance.

Just make sure Ah Lim does a good job on yr repairs n get yr car back to original condition.

I suggest u get a bit closer to Simon n push him not to stinge on the repairs n do everything swee swee. Since u send to yr Insurance own ws, there sud not b a problem on the amt ty claim from Direct so its to yr advantage to get as many new n original parts as possible.

Slow tok to Simon to get all the best n original parts fr yr car. Since the damage is so serious, try to get it as best done as possible otherwise later yr car got this problem n that problem n u end up hv to sell it away.

If you are sure you are not at fault, why claim own insurance?

Has the IO (from Police) interviewed you? If yes, what was his conclusion after his investigation? If the IO's verdict is that the truck was at fault, then you can be sure to claim 3rd party.

Mainly his repairs quite serious so a bit risky to go it on his own to fight with the other Ins Co cos ty r very experienced in Ins Claims n can put a lot of pressure on TS to settle for less.

Ty just keep dragging the settlement till TS cannot tahan is the easiest way.

He let Ins co deal with Ins co n ty dare not play monkey with each other cos both also know all the tricks of the trade.

Afterall if TS not found at fault, he wun b penalised by his own Ins co.

If I were u I wud b more worried of the other party(truck) ins co. Ty got so much experience, ty can make u think black is white n white is black.

Yr claim amt is very big hor. Ty have a lot to lose. Better let Ins co n Ins co fight it out. At least more fair fight.

I'm glad you have the witness who was travelling behind you. It solves your headache. It doesn't matter which you claim. Basically if you claim from your own insurance first, they'll claim back from the truck's insurance. Only hassle is that you'll have to pay the excess first.

Excess he wil get back once its determined he was not at fault.

Maybe his ins co see his is strong case ty might even waive him paying the excess. He can slowly tok to them abt that. [rolleyes]

No matter what, die die you should claim the other insurer. No two ways about it. Not wise to point the gun towards you even if the final IO report concludes otherwise.

Question is, I can't understand why are you so particularly concerned by the truck driver spinning out some c--k-and-bull story to shift the blame on you when the investigation is not even complete?? Have faith on yourself [nod]

He has even better than that.

He has a reliable independent witness on his side. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

My car was sent to my insurer, Directasia, authorised workshop, Ah Lim Motor.

Anyone has reviews or dealings with this company before?

My getz, hit from behind, insured by DA and sent to Ah Lim.

Ah Lim claim everything from taxi insurance.

I didn't pay a cent, didn't get loading.

DA surveyor will come to survey damage.

if it is a clear cut case, claim 3rd party but repair shop have to bear the full repair costs and legal fees first

likely would be inflated amount to act as a hedge if some liability was finally attributed to TS by judge but own insurance will not be affected.

to prevent that inflated claim, TS would have to bear full costs and engage lawyer for the 3rd party claim.

claim own insurance while waiting for 3rd party claim will usually result in NCD being reduced and/or higher loading

until the judge decides full liability on the other party

take care and good luck

PS on a side note, what the heck is a cement truck doing on the road so late at night? business or social use?

Ah Lim is it the one in amk autopoint?

heard gd reviews abt this ws but nv been there

No need to worry, jus tell the true and kp it simple

ws will be able to advise you how to claim

u jus rest well