BMW 316i vs Mercedes CLA

Limxiaoming

IMHO, the gear stick BMW is the major turn off.. macam joy stick sia..

but exterior is a very nice and lasting design that wouldn't go out of style easily...

Edited by Knoobie

No offence to BMW fans but I noticed that BMW dashboard and console are generally very plain across most of the variants. They look dated and still much the same since quite some years ago. It is one of the reason why I'm still hesitant to get a BMW. No doubt the driving experience is solid but I'm quite a visual person and find the interior somewhat unacceptable for a luxury make. <_<

Thank you for not getting BMW. There are juz too many BMW on the road now.

is it the affordability issue you facing?

For your info, Mercs, Volvo and Jaguar are in my shortlist.

Thank you for not getting BMW. There are juz too many BMW on the road now.

Actually I'm very keen on the BMW in terms of the drive and the exterior. But whenever I sat inside and look at the interior, I just can't convince myself. Maybe for some, I'm what you can call a shallow buyer. But for me, the interior have to at least somehow appeal to me given I'll be looking at it for quite a considerable amount of time everyday...

Fair comment Damien! To some, looks are most important, to others it's the drive and yet others could be the price/value for money etc.

Personally, I like the BMW 316 for it's drive although I've not test driven the C 180 yet. That said from the pics and feedback from everyone here, it's unanimous that the C Class looks better so it's a tough choice as looks and interior ambience does translate into a feel good factor.

For me the tie breaker could very well be the price then...but tough choice overall!!

attachicon.gif2014_Mercedes_Benz_CLA_45_AMG_0008_thumb_530x322_27089.jpg[at

tachment=84264:6449565400.jpg]Dear bros,

Almost time to change car! Been car hunting the past few months and now boil down to 3 cars. The third car is Jap so won't be talking about it here.

As per topic, any views on these 2 beauties?

Merc CLA - $179,800

BMW 316i Sport - $169,800

Both 1.6L Turbo with the merc churning out slightly more bhp.

Merc compromise a bit of rear headroom and boot because of the coupe silhouette.

By naming convention, "CL" already beat this number "316" flat falt. [smash][smash]

Actually I'm very keen on the BMW in terms of the drive and the exterior. But whenever I sat inside and look at the interior, I just can't convince myself. Maybe for some, I'm what you can call a shallow buyer. But for me, the interior have to at least somehow appeal to me given I'll be looking at it for quite a considerable amount of time everyday...

Agreed there, BMW interior just doesn't cut it for me.

All the more you should not consider BMW. Look at Mercs, Volvo or Jaguar.

BMW has always been about THE DRIVE.

Fair comment Damien! To some, looks are most important, to others it's the drive and yet others could be the price/value for money etc.

Personally, I like the BMW 316 for it's drive although I've not test driven the C 180 yet. That said from the pics and feedback from everyone here, it's unanimous that the C Class looks better so it's a tough choice as looks and interior ambience does translate into a feel good factor.

For me the tie breaker could very well be the price then...but tough choice overall!!

Forget about 316. Juz look at C180/200. I know can zheng 316 to 180+. What's the pt of buying a car that u need to zheng BHP?

All the more you should not consider BMW. Look at Mercs, Volvo or Jaguar.

BMW has always been about THE DRIVE.

Forget about 316. Juz look at C180/200. I know can zheng 316 to 180+. What's the pt of buying a car that u need to zheng BHP?

Maybe cos I driving Civic 1.6 now so the 316 seems good enough for me.

I'll try the C180 since you say until like that i saliva drooping liao haha!!

Maybe cos I driving Civic 1.6 now so the 316 seems good enough for me.

I'll try the C180 since you say until like that i saliva drooping liao haha!!

316 might be 10hp more powerful than your civic. But it is 300kg more.

For 3 series, nothing less than 320.

Compared to a 1.6 Civic, the 316i has alot more torque (220nm vs 145nm?), mitgating the 300kg deficit somewhat

Yes, I've also been told 3 series shld be 320 or above cos of the legendary 6 pot but unfortunately cost is an issue for me so would be happy with 316.

C180 price abit steep as well and heard the comments here on the lack of equipment etc so leaning more towards 316 but point taken on the 300kg additional weight. Thanks!!

Compared to a 1.6 Civic, the 316i has alot more torque (220nm vs 145nm?), mitgating the 300kg deficit somewhat

I've always driven 1.6 Japanese cars and IMO Civic is the best so far.

Earlier this year, did a test drive on the 316 albeit briefly as friend booked one and SE allowed me a drive as well and maybe cos it's a short distance felt it was more powerful than my Civic.

Must do a thorough one if I decide to book but as David says must also try C Class!!

mercs interior ntg to crow about also.. the screen looks too much like a cheap tablet made in china imo.

volvo somehow waiting patiently for that andriod compatible interface

jaguar diesel variant engine far to noisy for my personal preference...

what im juz trying to say is every car got pros and cons... tho i agree bmw looks dated.. the sheer driving pleasure imho.. blows the cons away... tho... i absolutely hate the maintenance bills.. [bigcry]

if i tio 4d tonite... i go buy the 4series straight away [inlove]

why? tell me why for 3 series, nothing less than 320?