RadX Moderator February 9, 2014 Share February 9, 2014 Breaking News Latest development on the case http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/indonesian-delegation-pulls-out-singapore-airshow-20140209 Indonesia Air Force's Jupiter Aerobatic team showing their aerial display at the Singapore Airshow 2014 on Feb 9, 2014. Indonesia's top defence officials, including deputy defence minister Lieutenant-General (Retired) Sjafrie Sjamsoeddin, will not attend the Singapore Airshow, which starts on Tuesday. -- ST PHOTO: ONG WEE JIN By Jermyn Chow And Zakir Hussain Indonesia's top defence officials, including deputy defence minister Lieutenant-General (Retired) Sjafrie Sjamsoeddin, will not to attend the Singapore Airshow, which starts on Tuesday. Also giving the airshow a miss are the Commander of the Indonesian Armed Forces General Moeldoko; Chief of Staff of the Indonesian Army, General Budiman; and Chief of Staff of the Indonesian Air Force, Air Chief Marshal Ida Bagus Putu Dunia. The latest move comes amid a diplomatic row after Indonesia decided to name a Navy ship after the Indonesian marines who bombed an Orchard Road building in 1965, leaving three people dead and 33 people injured. Singapore's defence ministry confirmed it was informed of the the decision by the top military brass to pull out of the air show. bu bu but..today ST say we cancel them le? Who cancel who ah??? i blurliao ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 9, 2014 Share February 9, 2014 To clear up any comprehension fails: "Singapore's defence ministry (Mindef) confirmed on Sunday it was informed of the the decision by the top military brass to pull out of the air show." Indonesia's contingent made the decision to pull out. Singapore did not un-invite them. i need to go skool again. No wonder i prembaree tree ST reported today Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged February 9, 2014 Share February 9, 2014 Tan Cheng Bok tio uninvited, Indonesians also kenna uninvited. Jokes aside, I think from now onwards, sure escalate one. Those going JKT, Bandung, Bali, Batam better take care. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevle 5th Gear February 9, 2014 Share February 9, 2014 And we recently read on the papers that few volcanos there are waking up.... For this incident, I hope our gov will not waste our tax payer's money to send in relief.... not to say we shouldn't care for another life, but why help someone when at the end of the day he/she may turn around to bite you... just my personal view 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear February 9, 2014 Share February 9, 2014 Did I hear wrongly from the news? 2 representatives from Indonesia were supposed to attend the Aerospace but decided not to turn up. Why so petty? No petty they feel guilty thus don't turn up better lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 (edited) Tan Cheng Bok tio uninvited, Indonesians also kenna uninvited. Jokes aside, I think from now onwards, sure escalate one. Those going JKT, Bandung, Bali, Batam better take care. I'm heading to Jakarta in coming week ... Edited February 10, 2014 by Dfx16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Tan Cheng Bok tio uninvited, Indonesians also kenna uninvited. Jokes aside, I think from now onwards, sure escalate one. Those going JKT, Bandung, Bali, Batam better take care. Buying one container of serious 3M face mask now!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 (edited) bu bu but..today ST say we cancel them le? Who cancel who ah??? i blurliao Think Singapore UNINVITED them Singapore cancels airshow invites to Indonesian officers Published on Feb 10, 2014 By Jermyn Chow Defence Correspondent And Zakir Hussain Indonesia Bureau Chief A top Indonesian naval officer and other military staff have been told that their invitations to the Singapore Airshow had been cancelled. Indonesia's Defence Ministry's public communications head Sisriadi Iskandar said Singapore had pulled the invitation to Indonesian navy chief Marsetio and 100 Indonesian Armed Forces (TNI) officers last Saturday. The move comes amid a diplomatic row following Jakarta's decision to name a navy ship after the Indonesian marines who bombed an Orchard Road building, MacDonald House, in 1965 that left three dead and 33 hurt. Brigadier-General Sisriadi also said Indonesian Deputy Defence Minister Sjafrie Sjamsoeddin decided not to come to Singapore after his counterpart, Second Defence Minister Chan Chun Sing, cancelled their meeting due to take place tomorrow. But sources said it was rescheduled. Edited February 10, 2014 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 I guess some of us here are not alone to think this. Point is, the vigilantes claimed to be fighting for singaporeans, but now that SINGAPORE is attacked, perhaps we should stand shoulder to shoulder? these are my thoughts, and I also respect the views of others, no right or wrong here, and let's not go down the alley to say ppl are silly and otherwise. As much as you think otherwise contrary to others, respect the views that others would have. Agree to disagree. Any callous name calling as a result would result in undesirable actions. Nice one taken fr Sammyboy coffeeshop 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Like what Bro RADx has say... we are not expecting the like of Ravi/CSJ to go on hunger strike or burn Indo flag that sort of things..... will be a fool to do that and we are smarter than some fella at Indo, who at the slight of things, will call for Jihad, burn flag, burn underwear..... We are not targeting at Ravi or CSJ per say, just that this few fella are the more vocal one.... but the whole Oppo..... who claim they are for Singapore/Singaporean.... till now, we heard nothing........ The government of the day has responded..... we expect nothing less..... Now we stand united against the Big bully who think they can push us around......just reading comments from some half bake Indo will make your blood boil....... The last thing we wanna see is some local ass supporting what the Indo is doing..... to some of them.... an enemy of the establishment is a friend...... NOT THIS TIME ROUND....... A TRAITOR WILL BE BURN IN HELL........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Like what Bro RADx has say... we are not expecting the like of Ravi/CSJ to go on hunger strike or burn Indo flag that sort of things..... will be a fool to do that and we are smarter than some fella at Indo, who at the slight of things, will call for Jihad, burn flag, burn underwear..... We are not targeting at Ravi or CSJ per say, just that this few fella are the more vocal one.... but the whole Oppo..... who claim they are for Singapore/Singaporean.... till now, we heard nothing........ The government of the day has responded..... we expect nothing less..... Now we stand united against the Big bully who think they can push us around......just reading comments from some half bake Indo will make your blood boil....... The last thing we wanna see is some local ass supporting what the Indo is doing..... to some of them.... an enemy of the establishment is a friend...... NOT THIS TIME ROUND....... A TRAITOR WILL BE BURN IN HELL........... nicely said my friend! Yes, not a matter of hunger strike, etc...think they bother?? u starve oso they laugh. Walk the talk i say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Anyway the intention is not to start another political debate or establishment vs oppo, I not keen or interested..... it is more of a call for all of us to stand together in times like this..... we are afterall THE Son/Daughter OF SINGAPORE and THIS IS A PLACE WE CALL HOME..... Hope we can at least agree on that..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Tan Cheng Bok tio uninvited, Indonesians also kenna uninvited. Jokes aside, I think from now onwards, sure escalate one. Those going JKT, Bandung, Bali, Batam better take care. lucky I have been procrastinating with oc about 2 day trip to Batam this Mar holidays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Anyway the intention is not to start another political debate or establishment vs oppo, I not keen or interested..... it is more of a call for all of us to stand together in times like this..... we are afterall THE Son/Daughter OF SINGAPORE and THIS IS A PLACE WE CALL HOME..... Hope we can at least agree on that..... x1000praises for this! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 I guess some of us here are not alone to think this. Point is, the vigilantes claimed to be fighting for singaporeans, but now that SINGAPORE is attacked, perhaps we should stand shoulder to shoulder? these are my thoughts, and I also respect the views of others, no right or wrong here, and let's not go down the alley to say ppl are silly and otherwise. As much as you think otherwise contrary to others, respect the views that others would have. Agree to disagree. Any callous name calling as a result would result in undesirable actions. Nice one taken fr Sammyboy coffeeshop Frankly, I think it's unwarranted to single out Ravi, CSJ or even the more established oppo members right now. Just because they haven't said anything doesn't mean squat. We would be entitled to become outraged at them *if* they actually came out and said something unpatriotic right about now - but they haven't done that, have they? With all due respect, I think it's a straw man (and a bit of a witch hunt) to pick these guys out of the hat and blame them simply for their silence. That having been said, if you want to blame someone, blame Tan Kin Lian. I think his agitating (with a public petition, no less!) to get NS reduced at this time is in very poor judgement. See: http://sg.news.yahoo.com/former-presidential-candidate-tan-kin-lian-calls-for-ns-to-be-shortened-to-a-year-032428796.html Clearly, anything but presidential. (Not saying he's entirely wrong, but this is simply not the time to be rocking the boat on the issue) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Frankly, I think it's unwarranted to single out Ravi, CSJ or even the more established oppo members right now. Just because they haven't said anything doesn't mean squat. We would be entitled to become outraged at them *if* they actually came out and said something unpatriotic right about now - but they haven't done that, have they? With all due respect, I think it's a straw man (and a bit of a witch hunt) to pick these guys out of the hat and blame them simply for their silence. That having been said, if you want to blame someone, blame Tan Kin Lian. I think his agitating (with a public petition, no less!) to get NS reduced at this time is in very poor judgement. See: http://sg.news.yahoo.com/former-presidential-candidate-tan-kin-lian-calls-for-ns-to-be-shortened-to-a-year-032428796.html Clearly, anything but presidential. (Not saying he's entirely wrong, but this is simply not the time to be rocking the boat on the issue) agree with the TKL thingy, but dun blame blame lah...like our pasttime liddat. That is real hogwash and bad timing As for the other issue, well, let's leave it as that. They choose to remain silent, so be it. Nothing agst them as well on their decision, but to me the silence is deafening. Period! For the record, I am not one to pick nor bother abt their antics, but I guess people have noted this aspect in the scheme of the bigger peekture. Similarly, when we had serious/issues events come up, there was the similar deafening silence from the authorities too, ie, the big honchos Let's focus on the main issue here and not play with red herrings going forwarD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 (edited) we can do the same also. just take our flag and make sure you remember to remove the 5 stars and the moon. And till today ppl didnt realise why lky put the crescent and moon over the Indo flag in 1965? On a side note, MFA played the wrong cards when they protested the ship naming. Indo will never retract. Everybody knows that. Now theyre stuck in an uncomfortable position. Theyve sqwaked like chickens but gets no result. They look impotent. What they should have done is just keep quiet and nobody will notice. If maybe someone brought it up, we should have just said that Indo has every right to name their heroes and everything would have remained dandy. Looks like LHL and Shanmugan is inept at diplomacy. Edited February 10, 2014 by Gendut 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 Obviously they attack the establishment so they can gain more power. Care for themselves more likely than care for fellow Singaporean. Even if I don't like the establishment but at least they do more for the less fortunate and stand up to be counted. These Indo have air for brains to be doing something so provocative. Maybe they do think these are their "heroes"? Help them in their disasters is a waste of resources. I heard a lot of $ ended up with the people who had connections to divert these relief funds to their own bank account. I personally know of a indo banker who got wealthy this way. And till today ppl didnt realise why lky put the crescent and moon over the Indo flag in 1965? On a side note, MFA played the wrong cards when they protested the ship naming. Indo will never retract. Everybody knows that. Now theyre stuck in an uncomfortable position. Theyve sqwaked like chickens but gets no result. They look impotent. What they should have done is just keep quiet and nobody will notice. If maybe someone brought it up, we should have just said that Indo has every right to name their heroes and everything would have remained dandy. Looks like LHL and Shanmugan is inept at diplomacy. Yeah you would make a better Minister of Foreign Affairs .... .........NOT! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...