Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

On 9/22/2025 at 12:08 PM, Wt_know said:

the OG “table wiper” … lol

Muayhahaha, yes

i remember those days, i table wiping at lau pa sat.   Slogging, pick up leftovers, rinse the cloth and wipe tables clean.  

On 9/18/2025 at 8:17 AM, kobayashiGT said:

true true. You have to choose the right battle mah. Hahaha. Always play no work, no security also. I hope your father is getting better now! 

Everything is good, my recent holiday is good too, haha

On 9/22/2025 at 12:07 PM, Ct3833 said:

You damn solid, ultimate of the MCFers

Think we are (I am) eagerly awaiting for you to share your experience.  From stepping down in June, leaving your team, to current full retirement mode.

What other thoughts beside retiring a bit earlier when you are still healthy and have money. Did you pick up new hobbies? Travel more?

On 9/22/2025 at 12:17 PM, 13177 said:

Money will never be enough la, even you are super wealthy also can find money not enough.

So for those who can stopped and retire are the best.

If one like to compare then is always not enough, must always win and outshine others🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 9/22/2025 at 4:38 PM, Voodooman said:

Think we are (I am) eagerly awaiting for you to share your experience.  From stepping down in June, leaving your team, to current full retirement mode.

What other thoughts beside retiring a bit earlier when you are still healthy and have money. Did you pick up new hobbies? Travel more?

For me to share my experience may not be appropriate as I have mentioned that I am late in retiring.  Moreover, everyone has their own priorities, preference and lifestyle, so retirement life can be quite subjective. I also want to mention, retirement may not be just  travelling,  some may not like it, some may not be able to afford it too often,other simple things like walking the parks, going to JB, spending time with loved ones, sports and many other things are also form of enjoyment.

For my case, travelling is certainly one aspect of my retirement for now, so far monthly trips except CNY 2026 has no plan. Travelling to me is just free and easy, no need to rush to see places or pack the holiday with hourly activities, in   some cases I can nua in the hotel till 10am before moving out just to find food🤣 

I get to get into my hobby more often like badminton, cycling, but still no time to get back to golf, and i think I will have to drop that thought for as my wife does not play golf. Also spending more time to catch up with friends, visit relatives who are of senior age , grandkids etc etc. Wanting to do more stuff but have not found enough time to do it. Retirement actually can be very busy.😁

one thing for sure, I wake up everyday from very good sleep. While saying I had a different perspective in life  when working at older age, easier to let go, able to take stress better but I got to realise that all these have not been true, when i stop work completely, those problems that had been bothering me before my sleep were no longer there after my retirement, simi review, revenue, profit, margin, headcounts, all go into the dustbin.  living a stress free life is good. 😁

• Praise 11

On 9/22/2025 at 5:03 PM, Ct3833 said:

For me to share my experience may not be appropriate as I have mentioned that I am late in retiring.  Moreover, everyone has their own priorities, preference and lifestyle, so retirement life can be quite subjective. I also want to mention, retirement may not be just  travelling,  some may not like it, some may not be able to afford it too often,other simple things like walking the parks, going to JB, spending time with loved ones, sports and many other things are also form of enjoyment.

For my case, travelling is certainly one aspect of my retirement for now, so far monthly trips except CNY 2026 has no plan. Travelling to me is just free and easy, no need to rush to see places or pack the holiday with hourly activities, in   some cases I can nua in the hotel till 10am before moving out just to find food🤣 

I get to get into my hobby more often like badminton, cycling, but still no time to get back to golf, and i think I will have to drop that thought for as my wife does not play golf. Also spending more time to catch up with friends, visit relatives who are of senior age , grandkids etc etc. Wanting to do more stuff but have not found enough time to do it. Retirement actually can be very busy.😁

one thing for sure, I wake up everyday from very good sleep. While saying I had a different perspective in life  when working at older age, easier to let go, able to take stress better but I got to realise that all these have not been true, when i stop work completely, those problems that had been bothering me before my sleep were no longer there after my retirement, simi review, revenue, profit, margin, headcounts, all go into the dustbin.  living a stress free life is good. 😁

Thanks for sharing. 

Good to know you are keeping yourself busy and traveling a fair bit. A friend who retired at 52 said he is busier than before after 2 years adjustment period.  You seems very prepared.   Stress free life, envious. 

On 9/22/2025 at 7:49 PM, Voodooman said:

Thanks for sharing. 

Good to know you are keeping yourself busy and traveling a fair bit. A friend who retired at 52 said he is busier than before after 2 years adjustment period.  You seems very prepared.   Stress free life, envious. 

Once financially comfortable,  just take the plunge, dont go make the extra money that one does not need. The journey of pursuing money is endless, but health and age have a limit, just remember that. 

• Praise 10

On 9/22/2025 at 5:03 PM, Ct3833 said:

Song, congrats.  Welcome to the world of retirement. 

i am more than 1.5yrs into retirement and i still shiok everyday.  Never been more song.  

All those issues that people talk about, simi no identity lah, scared no meaning lah, no social life lah, all nonsense to me. 
completely no such issues for me.  shiok like hell.  

take my own sweet time in doing things, and enjoy the (no work) peace everyday, made some new friends, run my errands without rush at all.   Sibei song

Edited by Throttle2

On 9/22/2025 at 8:20 PM, Throttle2 said:

Song, congrats.  Welcome to the world of retirement. 

i am more than 1.5yrs into retirement and i still shiok everyday.  Never been more song.  

All those issues that people talk about, simi no identity lah, scared no meaning lah, no social life lah, all nonsense to me. 
completely no such issues for me.  shiok like hell.  

take my own sweet time in doing things, and enjoy the (no work) peace everyday, made some new friends, run my errands without rush at all.   Sibei song

I  just crossed my first year in retirement, time really flies,  song song gao jurong some say batam🤣

Edited by Ginyu

Wah… sounds like even lie flat on bed stare at the ceiling nothing to do also song

😂

Do not understand why everyone has the same thinking when one is no longer working means got nothing to do liao🤣

Screenshot_20250923_072415_Facebook.thumb.jpg.34577ca1b3b86ca1e153a550113b8149.jpg

On 9/23/2025 at 8:10 AM, Ginyu said:

Do not understand why everyone has the same thinking when one is no longer working means got nothing to do liao🤣

Screenshot_20250923_072415_Facebook.thumb.jpg.34577ca1b3b86ca1e153a550113b8149.jpg

Agree, many people told me must plan for retirement, i have been telling them once the financial  part is done, my own plan for retirement is to have no plan,  maybe that explains why I am so busy🤣, or maybe it is too early for to say  that for now, lets see. 

On 9/23/2025 at 9:11 AM, Ct3833 said:

Agree, many people told me must plan for retirement, i have been telling them once the financial  part is done, my own plan for retirement is to have no plan,  maybe that explains why I am so busy🤣, or maybe it is too early for to say  that for now, lets see. 

Glad you straightened that out.  To have no plan in itself is a super luxury

On 9/23/2025 at 9:11 AM, Ct3833 said:

The best thing about retirement is that you have full control of your own time. Many out there working for others never realised their time has been controlled  even like need to wake up early to report to work🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 9/23/2025 at 9:46 AM, Ginyu said:

The best thing about retirement,  you have full control of your own time. Many out there working for others never realised their timing has been controlled  even like need to wake up early to report to work🤣

wake up 6am > 7am leave home > 7pm reach home > 11pm sleep

hopefully to break this cycle by end of next year ... 😉 

On 9/23/2025 at 9:49 AM, Wt_know said:

wake up 6am > 7am leave home > 7pm reach home > 11pm sleep

hopefully to break this cycle by end of next year ... 😉 

Countdown!

I am 12 years into retirement. No regrets, no worries, no work pressure, no need to worry about my reportee's career stability. I am happier, fitter, sleep better and feel more at ease with myself and the world's expectations. 

I have been enjoying my sporting and hobby passions, guiding the careers of my children. I give back to the less fortunate of Singapore society and in ASEAN by way of expertise and finances. Being able to give makes me feel good that I still have health and excess to give.

Retire if you able to. But make sure you are prepared to life post career, and you know how to spend your time and money before you do so. The worst thing you can do to yourself in to wallow in self-pity, or hang out with other retirees who gather at watering holes every day to complain endlessly about minor issues and policies.   

• Praise 19

angmoh is the best [thumbsup] 

too bad i cant turn back the clock even with money now … [bigcry] 

when young, sell time to get money

when old, sell money to get time but stay at home or bed

https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSDXRKtRn/