alphard96 6th Gear June 16, 2014 Share June 16, 2014 Hi, is there any mechanical problems or whatsoever if pump Malaysian diesel completely???? Reason for asking because there is no chance for me to just go KL and back........ jalan jalan..... Normally will be traveling around to see clients and will stay for at least 2-3 days. If I am not mistaken,No, not supposed to use Malaysian diesel or warranty will be voided. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 16, 2014 Share June 16, 2014 Afraid I did not include cost of battery changing, now that you reminded me. Thanks!!! Seems hybrid is not the way to go yet........... [bigcry] Yes, have considered diesel cars but the road tax is a turn off for private usage. Also I am not sure if can pump diesel in JB because I have to travel there quite frequently for work, sometimes to KL and Port Klang so you can imagine if diesel is OB for SG diesel cars. Next I've heard is maintenance is not exactly lower for diesel cars but parts are cheaper or something along that line. Let me know what are your thoughts and we can exchange notes. Thanks. At 2000 plus km per month, you should be at least breaking even on the additional road tax aspect of a diesel - your fuel savings from the more efficient diesel will offset the tax. Most diesel cars can very very easily drive to Port Klang, KL, run around a few days and back to Singapore on a single tank - so you wouldn't HAVE To pump in JB - each of the AD have a different policy in this area, but if you are pumping (for example) half tank of Malaysia diesel, and then top up with SG diesel - you should be ok, it is using the Malaysia rubbish long term that will cause a problem. The other thing to be aware - if you are doing a lot of "long distance" / express way driving, Hybrid is not ideal - where hybrid works best is in lots of short trips and start stop driving. if most of your time is spent on the highway - diesel is likely to be the best / most efficient option. i drove my friend jaguar xf 2.2 . we can go up to KL and come back to tuas without refueling. Evo Magazine (Sheldon and Simon) took a Cayenne Diesel somewhere around 1800 km on a Single tank of Malaysia driving - As to OP - like I already say - 600-700 km out of a tank of diesel is very very normal, and you don't have to be particularly gentle on the throttle - may people will easily get 1000 plus km on extended highway driving without a problem - which is more than enough to go KL, run around a few days and come back. Each AD has their own policy on Malaysia diesel - is best to check with them on range and policy of the particular car in question. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear June 16, 2014 Share June 16, 2014 I disagree with hybrid less efficient when driving on highway or expressway, its quite easy to achieve 27km/l on NSHW. It depends on how you drive. Just today, I drove from airport to HDB hub to pick a colleague and head to commonwealth. Total distant travel 29.7km and achieved 29.4km/l. Blasting air con on the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 16, 2014 Share June 16, 2014 (edited) I think there are a lot of misconceptioins about hybrid cars. FYI not all hybrids are made equal. It really depends on the car maker on how they design & make their hybrid cars. One must also learn how to drive a hybrid car to get low FC. You gotto drive it briskly to get up to cruising speed and stay there. If you are always gunning for the throttle in your hybrid car might as well get a regular petrol or diesel car. Hybrid car reliability really got to depend on the type of battery used. Just look at our cellphone batt for example. Look at the frequency that we charge and discharge the cellphone batt. It actually shorten the life of the batt. And you would have notice the heat produced be it using for a long period of time and when it comes to charging. Heat is number one enemy when it comes to battery life. Look at our weather. Enough said. If the battery is inadequately cooled, that's it. When it comes to any car it has its pros & cons. No car is perfect. So it's down to your priorities. What do you look for most in a car? Low FC? Sacrifice the rest? I dunno lah. I'm not in hybrid cars. They are not exactly green especially when it comes to making the car. They are not really fun to drive unless there's a big engine charging the batteries. LoL... Toyota if you are reading this, hybrid cars do not have to be so systematically boring to save fuel. The cheap interior plastics can kill. LoL...You might as well put recycled paper to save weight. Hahaha....And prease throw away the Atkinson cycle engine and put the regular Otto cycle engine. Or at least use a Miller cycle engine if you are such a big fan of the Atkinson cycle engine. Note: For those who are wondering what the cycles are... Atkinson cycle: Crankshaft takes 1 full rotation to complete the entire combustion process. Hence it's deem as an efficient cycle. But sadly no power. Otto cycle: is the most commonly used in modern car engines. Takes the crankshaft a couple of rotations to complete the combustion process. Produce most power compared to other internal combustion process w/o forced induction. Miller cycle: A supercharger bolted to the Atkinson cycle engine. Edited June 16, 2014 by Watwheels 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alphard96 6th Gear June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 I disagree with hybrid less efficient when driving on highway or expressway, its quite easy to achieve 27km/l on NSHW. It depends on how you drive. Just today, I drove from airport to HDB hub to pick a colleague and head to commonwealth. Total distant travel 29.7km and achieved 29.4km/l. Blasting air con on the way. Excellent fuel consumption! Even better than most 2 wheelers/bikes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theophil Neutral Newbie July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 hi, there are generally a misconception about hybrid battery pack, most hybrid model still using nickel metal hydride, the battery generally can be remove and do a cycling to bring back power and prolong the life, the service is available now at hybrid car, they rebuild, replace or use a special Technic to bring back hybrid battery up to 95% of power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear July 21, 2014 Share July 21, 2014 Hi, sorry to hijack this thread. Tried to find something related to theadstart. Just wanna know if this is feasible for evs and alternative propulsion. Been working on a personal idea that focuses on EVs and thier lack of adoption in space constrained and built up cities. Such countries rely on multi level parking centres to offer parking on a wide scale in view of the scarcity of land involved,cramming as many parking lots as feasibly possible across levels, which leaves little to no space per lot to install a charging point. Hence EVs are forced to drive out of the way on thier range limited vehicles to recharge thier vehicles. Which are few and far which is also down to the lack of demand and scarcity of land itself. With little infrastrature to speak of to support EV aftersale purchase, people are naturally put off from owning an ev. What im thinkig is that charging lines cound be installed in the ceiling, descending automatically or manually (tug and pull down to charge) on reciept of payment from a console in the centre itself.(owners can choose the lot where thier cars are located and select the charging reels in thier lot to descend and charge) In this way owners do not need to leave thier homes and drive out of the way to charge while also catering to many evs charging needs simultaneously. Had this idea a few days ago while thinking about EVs and availability of charging points. Currently only landed properties or out of the way charging points are the only source of recharging for low on juice vehicles and HDB carparks cannot have charging points for every lot, as of yet because of space constraints. Have attached a possible illustration of a typical charging lot Could this work in sgp carparks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged July 21, 2014 Share July 21, 2014 Not possible due to vandalism, mis-use & abuse. Mount too high cannot reach, mount too low MPV cannot park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nick2342 2nd Gear July 21, 2014 Share July 21, 2014 (edited) Not possible due to vandalism, mis-use & abuse. Mount too high cannot reach, mount too low MPV cannot park. Sorry didn't clarify properly regarding the charging reel When it is not in use ie empty lot or not charging, it is in the ceiling. When people want to use it to charge, then it drops down and people pull it down and drag accordingly to where the charging socket on thier car is. Misusing such as overcharging can be reflected in the price charge.. Say, normal price for the first 2 hours, then an exorbitant rate every hourly like 2-3x for every hour thereafter. Depending on how fast the car is charged, i guess. Edited July 21, 2014 by Nick2342 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rationalexuberance 4th Gear February 26, 2015 Share February 26, 2015 (edited) I think there are a lot of misconceptioins about hybrid cars. FYI not all hybrids are made equal. It really depends on the car maker on how they design & make their hybrid cars. One must also learn how to drive a hybrid car to get low FC. You gotto drive it briskly to get up to cruising speed and stay there. If you are always gunning for the throttle in your hybrid car might as well get a regular petrol or diesel car. Hybrid car reliability really got to depend on the type of battery used. Just look at our cellphone batt for example. Look at the frequency that we charge and discharge the cellphone batt. It actually shorten the life of the batt. And you would have notice the heat produced be it using for a long period of time and when it comes to charging. Heat is number one enemy when it comes to battery life. Look at our weather. Enough said. If the battery is inadequately cooled, that's it. When it comes to any car it has its pros & cons. No car is perfect. So it's down to your priorities. What do you look for most in a car? Low FC? Sacrifice the rest? I dunno lah. I'm not in hybrid cars. They are not exactly green especially when it comes to making the car. They are not really fun to drive unless there's a big engine charging the batteries. LoL... Toyota if you are reading this, hybrid cars do not have to be so systematically boring to save fuel. The cheap interior plastics can kill. LoL...You might as well put recycled paper to save weight. Hahaha....And prease throw away the Atkinson cycle engine and put the regular Otto cycle engine. Or at least use a Miller cycle engine if you are such a big fan of the Atkinson cycle engine. Note: For those who are wondering what the cycles are... Atkinson cycle: Crankshaft takes 1 full rotation to complete the entire combustion process. Hence it's deem as an efficient cycle. But sadly no power. Otto cycle: is the most commonly used in modern car engines. Takes the crankshaft a couple of rotations to complete the combustion process. Produce most power compared to other internal combustion process w/o forced induction. Miller cycle: A supercharger bolted to the Atkinson cycle engine. i think most pple need to get acquainted with technology on hybrid batteries, can no longer think of it as 1 single pc of equipment. it is no longer expensive to service n maintain the battery. Nickel Metal Hydride & now Lithium ion batteries are designed to last longer than the car. 250000miles are the usual miles clocked in USA b4 they need to change to a new battery pack. by then usually the car is scrapped. As a sports hybrid owner, i hope that more pple wud appreciate hybrid technology. Add 1st 5yrs warranty period by AD or PI, to another 3yrs warranty of hybrid battery recon service provider, u need to spend less dan 1k per recon throughout the whole 10yrs. Recon once right after 5yrs warranty,get the additional 3yrs,then on 8th or 9th yr decide if wanna recon once more. Max needed is 2 times,in which total costs less dan 2k over 10yrs. Having changed from 2.4L CU2 to a 1.5L sport hybrid now,i save easily $1.2k a year on petrol with spirited driving, mayb even more as my calculations were purposefully underestimated. Save another 1k a yr on rd tax, save another initial 300 a yr on insurance. as ncd increases,savings on premium will increase further. dats a min of 2.5k savings a yr from my change of car. and i dun lose powee or pickup. 0-100km/h in 8.5sec. I am of the view on keeping the Akinson cycle engine. Honda's new EarthDreams 1.5L LEB Atkinson churning out 130ps. They did that synergistically adding I-VTEC and VTC when power is needed. Genious. Toyota however always only on the fuel saving thinking, the design of the prius is also extremely ugly and not worth the super high premiums upfront with interests payable if loan is applied. so far, i'm a happy owner! and i feel hybrid is the way to go in future. Will be interesting to see a hybrid diesel,man,how much torque can that create!? *sharing my perspectives after doing much research,and more research needed to be done,especially gg down to meet the hybrid battery recon specialists personally. **tinkling on e idea of providing hybrid battery recon services,it is definutely a growing industry Edited February 26, 2015 by Rationalexuberance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ihave3Ballz 2nd Gear February 26, 2015 Share February 26, 2015 (edited) hybrid is good at keeping its Ni-MH battery pack charged but not so good at reducing fuel consumption. Pressing the gas pedal always makes the engine RPM jump but seldom wakes the sleepy electric motor. The little electric engine that could, should, but doesn't. Both your points made are very common misconceptions about hybrid cars. 1. See point 2. 2. It's if fact the motor that starts up first before your engine does. The engine needs time for the fuel to go in and burn up before it starts spooling and revving up higher. The motor picks up the engine's slag here and helps to push the car and the engine. Once you are at cruising speed, the motor normally cuts of beacuse this is where you burn very little fuel. Without the motor, you will be burning a lot of fuel when you press on the pedal when your car is at a complete stop. Edited February 26, 2015 by Ihave3Ballz 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
greenearth Neutral Newbie August 10, 2016 Share August 10, 2016 Hi,My daughter is doing a high school research project about hybrid/electric cars and whether the government policies (like the CEVS rebate) is helping to encourage people to buy these models. If you are an owner of a hybrid/electric car, could you please spare a few minutes to take this quick survey: www.tinyurl.com/greencarsurveyAll responses are anonymous and will not be shared publicly as it will only be used for educational purposes. She would greatly appreciate all the help she can get.Many thanks once again. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...