Audi A4 from 159K

Sdf4786k

no la ... drink, smoke, go holiday, buy hermes, buy rolex, eat foie gras & wagyu beef also burn money

money is made to be spent [thumbsup]

money is not made to buried 6-feet under ... if don't burn now ... say bye bye liao also burn money (paper)

Your thinking very similar to those type "U live your life once, don't miss this chance" that I used to hear from car agent.

Means that he drove the Altis for 3.5 years and lost an additional $30k in depreciation lol...

This is getting interesting. The same money but interpreted differently in accounting sense. Again, first time hearing $$ coming from sales of previous car not consider as cash outlay for next car.

Bro, whatever you got back from your previous Altis is also your $$ what. U paid interest, instalment, etc.

Your accounting method really strange lor, how can you not consider that $30K from Altis as your own money? Just bcos that money comes from dealer?

For example, If you go to showroom buy a car at 80k with OMV 16k, you annual running cost to own a car is 80k - (16*50%) = 72k / 10 yrs = 7.2k. As long as u use the car, you have to pay this price annually (in fact, you should pay more because depreciation for first few years should be higher)

If u used the car for 4 years and someone who can offer you 80k for ur old car, the you can consider free use for past 4 years if you don't buy any new car.

If you buy new car at much higher price and get back whatever u paid in the past why cannot consider the money u get back is to offset new car price???

Dont forgot, the reason to push car price up for both old and new car is current high COE price

Edited by Jckok888

For example, If you go to showroom buy a car at 80k with OMV 16k, you annual running cost to own a car is 80k - (16*50%) = 72k / 10 yrs = 7.2k. As long as u use the car, you have to pay this price annually (in fact, you should pay more because depreciation for first few years should be higher)

If u used the car for 4 years and someone who can offer you 80k for ur old car, the you can consider free use for past 4 years if you don't buy any new car.

If you buy new car at much higher price and get back whatever u paid in the past why cannot consider the money u get back is to offset new car price???

Dont forgot, the reason to push car price up for both old and new car is current high COE price

So what's your current instalment now compared to what you are paying for your previous car? How many years of payment each?

Bro, whatever you got back from your previous Altis is also your $$ what. U paid interest, instalment, etc.

Your accounting method really strange lor, how can you not consider that $30K from Altis as your own money? Just bcos that money comes from dealer?

ah beng salesman in a Jap AD also like that count one

he told me i help you get good price for your trade in car

then proceeded to minus off from new car price

tadah....see your new car cheaper by a few tens of thousands

Just saw the ad for the A4 1.8T for 159K. Seems cheaper then a Passat. Wonder how much lower can the other distributor go down to.

Last year CNY period, I went down to take a look at A4 1.8. It was around 160K. However, when I checked out the car, what they offer is simple basics. No rear air-con. No HID lights, etc.

So in the end, there are a lot of additional charges to spec it up. Went to PM and test drive the 3 series. Never looked back since. [drivingcar]

Edited by Remierwan

If you do it this way then you can no longer consider it as and I quote "free use for past 4 years".

Can't have your cake and eat it...

Edited by L_club23

When someone comes to me and offer me $80K for my 4 yrs old car which I bought $80k back then, I will only ask myself one question.

Do I want to continue driving the old car and lose $7.2K a year, or do I want to change to a new car and lose $14-15K(assuming is A4) a year?

And if my decision is to bite the bullet, whatever I profit from my old car will be history and should not be brought over to next car to complicate matter.

When someone comes to me and offer me $80K for my 4 yrs old car which I bought $80k back then, I will only ask myself one question.

Do I want to continue driving the old car and lose $7.2K a year, or do I want to change to a new car and lose $14-15K(assuming is A4) a year?

And if my decision is to bite the bullet, whatever I profit from my old car will be history and should not be brought over to next car to complicate matter.

I think what made him felt worthwhile is that the car now still can sell for $80k. So depreciation for every year is

$80k-$8(scrap)/6.5years= around $11k. Not too much compared to the $14-15k depreciation per year of a NEW A4.

I think what made him felt worthwhile is that the car now still can sell for $80k. So depreciation for every year is

$80k-$8(scrap)/6.5years= around $11k. Not too much compared to the $14-15k depreciation per year of a NEW A4.

Not really. The way he puts it across, I think he feels worth it for the change because the new A4 now seems to be 130K after discount the profit from the Altis.

But what he missed out this the interest he will continue to incur, plus the higher monthly instalment, plus forever into loan paying.

Anyway these are all subjective to individual, and without knowing his financial status, I can't comment further. Like one bro said, as long as si beh song driving new car can liao.

but he never realised how much he had lost ... or he don't want to know

anyway, as long as he sibei song can liao [thumbsup]

I think is don't want to know.. As long as the here and now happy, don't care so much the future..

Profit is only profit if the money sitting in the bank.. If it's used for something else with a depre.. It's no longer profit.

you can't have your cake and eat it ...

the reason why dealer makan used car at higher price, give overtrade, give cash rebate, give vouchers, kiss your backside simply want you to buy another car

to extend your loan and spend more $$$ la ... dealer happy, bank happy, government happy, you also happy got new car ... everyone happy

you can't have your cake and eat it ...

the reason why dealer makan used car at higher price, give overtrade, give cash rebate, give vouchers, kiss your backside simply want you to buy another car

to extend your loan and spend more $$$ la ... dealer happy, bank happy, government happy, you also happy got new car ... everyone happy

Tio lah. Everyone happy from the deal, the music goes on.

Not really. The way he puts it across, I think he feels worth it for the change because the new A4 now seems to be 130K after discount the profit from the Altis.

But what he missed out this the interest he will continue to incur, plus the higher monthly instalment, plus forever into loan paying.

Anyway these are all subjective to individual, and without knowing his financial status, I can't comment further. Like one bro said, as long as si beh song driving new car can liao.

That's why I am asking him what is the differences in instalment payable every month. Bro throttle never say anything!

He is busy laughing "muayhahaha" at property thread. No time for car talk. [laugh]

... you don't like that lar...

people so difficult convinced wife with his rational...

then you pecah lobang... later the wife see your post then how?

you just create family crisis only....

... you don't like that lar...

people so difficult convinced wife with his rational...

then you pecah lobang... later the wife see your post then how?

you just create family crisis only....

I apologize if my words bruised anyone. Pai seh pai seh.

A4 is a good and nice looking car, my rich neighbor also driving one. Every time I see him drive pass me with his day running LED flashing, I will feel so envy. Please don't ask me to buy bcos I can't afford a $160K car.

Actually people are different, some people just spent what they have, like me, very happy liao. But there is others who will find ways to earn more money to buy the things that they want. Who is richer? Who is poorer? Different perspective, different way of life.

I apologize if my words bruised anyone. Pai seh pai seh.

A4 is a good and nice looking car, my rich neighbor also driving one. Every time I see him drive pass me with his day running LED flashing, I will feel so envy. Please don't ask me to buy bcos I can't afford a $160K car.

My 6 year old Stream... still can get $55k in SGcarmart. Loan... left a few k only.

So, can cash $50k!

So, A4 will be $110k only.

But 50% loan max. So, still need to top up $30k cash.

Then $80k loan over 5 years @1.5%. Monthly $1,433......

my back side not ichi anymore.....