Should cyclists "Dismount and Push" at crossings?

Dru8999

If some small kid kenna langa by bicycle until uplorry, maybe there will be enforcement...

Not peasant kids ok. But if the "highest paid" kid kena, the implementation will fast, swift and furious. Only then will peasant lives be safe.

You are right... My bad

TP has to enforce one commonly recognized rules for bikes. They cannot suka suka use pedestrian rules, then suka suka use motor rules.

Actually the law is quite clear. Bicycles are treated as slow moving vehicular traffic. This also means they are disallowed on areas reserved for pedestrians, like crossings (without dismounting, which would make them pedestrians). The PCN is a notable exception, and is a new development built specifically for bicycles, but pedestrians are permitted on it as well (I disagree with this, because it gives the enthusiast cyclists the excuse that they have to go on the roads because they can't cycle fast on the PCN due to the human traffic).

So the law is quite clear, but enforcement is woefully deficient. All the TP has to do is enforce the existing laws strictly. But it's going to be a little difficult as long as cyclists have no identifiable registration on their vehicles or person. This is why I'm personally in favour of licensure for cyclists.

If some small kid kenna langa by bicycle until uplorry, maybe there will be enforcement...

no use one, like rayleigh mentioned if only peasant kids kena....

like the case of tampines kids kena run over by big lorry near school, at the neighbourhood school next to my house, big lorries were still going all fast & furious when it had a big renovation, some crowns even mount the pavement and park there to wait while the school children have to choose to walk in between them or walk on the road..... [shakehead] .....

I have lost count of the times I see cyclists blatantly disregard traffic rules. It seems that the bicycle gives them a sense of invincibility, totally disregard traffic lights and cycle against traffic are the most often transgression. In my view, the vocal ones are in the minority and they totally do not take into account how the vast majority of the day-to-day cyclists (ie. those who don't put on safety gear and the action-paction cycling top and tights) are a heck care bunch.

To me, the dead giveaway is the almost exclusive focus on kpkb-ing against motorist. Their focus should be on educating their fellow cyclists on what are the safety measures to observe, but nothing of that sort if happening. So long as the rant and rave is against motorist, that tells me they are only fighting for their own limited agenda without regard to the behaviour of the broader cycling community.

I have lost count of the times I see cyclists blatantly disregard traffic rules. It seems that the bicycle gives them a sense of invincibility, totally disregard traffic lights and cycle against traffic are the most often transgression. In my view, the vocal ones are in the minority and they totally do not take into account how the vast majority of the day-to-day cyclists (ie. those who don't put on safety gear and the action-paction cycling top and tights) are a heck care bunch.

To me, the dead giveaway is the almost exclusive focus on kpkb-ing against motorist. Their focus should be on educating their fellow cyclists on what are the safety measures to observe, but nothing of that sort if happening. So long as the rant and rave is against motorist, that tells me they are only fighting for their own limited agenda without regard to the behaviour of the broader cycling community.

Spot on. In fact, I got into a flame war over this with a poster who comes in here (seemingly) mainly to troll motorists and defend cyclists. He's got a username that sounds like the title of a James Clavell work.

NB....even MIB also cycle on pedestrian walkway and cycle thru Zebra crossing.

WTF! Let me send the video to TP/LTA and see what they say!

NB....even MIB also cycle on pedestrian walkway and cycle thru Zebra crossing.

WTF! Let me send the video to TP/LTA and see what they say!

STOMP at the same time! That way they cannot peng wei.

the problem is a lot of cyclists want their cake and eat it.

they want to be protected like pedestrians and want to ride on the roads like a car.

they follow whatever rules that suits them at the moment.

very hard to pity them when something happens

Spot on. In fact, I got into a flame war over this with a poster who comes in here (seemingly) mainly to troll motorists and defend cyclists. He's got a username that sounds like the title of a James Clavell work.

Wah -

You read James?

I love his book on the early days of Hong Kong - and then "King Rat"...wah....

To those cycling enthu, please stop being a prick and cycle in single file...

doesn't mean you group of 10 you king of the road..

you just look merely look like bowling pins waiting for a strike from a unattentive lorry..

god bless you..

Wah -

You read James?

I love his book on the early days of Hong Kong - and then "King Rat"...wah....

Long ago, when I was a kid. Nothing to be proud of. They're just potboilers, albeit especially pretentious ones. [laugh]

Read a review the other day - the book is about how LKY and family have entrenched the place of an "elite" in Singapore's society - am tempted to go look it up on Amazon and read it - apparently very well researched :-)

Although it's probably pretty heavy reading...

Read a review the other day - the book is about how LKY and family have entrenched the place of an "elite" in Singapore's society - am tempted to go look it up on Amazon and read it - apparently very well researched :-)

Although it's probably pretty heavy reading...

He's still obsessed with the "Asian Saga", I see, only now he's switched from historical fiction to non-fiction. :D

Actually the law is quite clear. Bicycles are treated as slow moving vehicular traffic. This also means they are disallowed on areas reserved for pedestrians, like crossings (without dismounting, which would make them pedestrians). The PCN is a notable exception, and is a new development built specifically for bicycles, but pedestrians are permitted on it as well (I disagree with this, because it gives the enthusiast cyclists the excuse that they have to go on the roads because they can't cycle fast on the PCN due to the human traffic).

So the law is quite clear, but enforcement is woefully deficient. All the TP has to do is enforce the existing laws strictly. But it's going to be a little difficult as long as cyclists have no identifiable registration on their vehicles or person. This is why I'm personally in favour of licensure for cyclists.

Perhaps they could start with a license fee that was once upon a time charged ($20/yr) on cyclist.

This has minimal financial cost but would attain great mileage for the purpose of accountability.

this topic has been discussed a zillion time in mcf.

Though this is true, but my take is to still keep the pressure on. Esp since it involves lives & of course the license of fellow motorist.

you just look merely look like bowling pins waiting for a strike from a unattentive lorry..

god bless you..

The worse is when you have to follow behind them through left turn pockets at 4-way junctions. You can't overtake and you have to wait for them to stop and check their right side etc and for them to slowly accelerate. To make matters worse, there will always be a car behind you awaiting to horn.

Perhaps they could start with a license fee that was once upon a time charged ($20/yr) on cyclist.

This has minimal financial cost but would attain great mileage for the purpose of accountability.

Frankly speaking -

For a license fee - the devil will be in the details. Not that it's neccessarily a bad idea, but it would be extremely difficult to enforce and there would, by neccessity, have to be a LOT of exemptions and terms and conditions.

Perhaps what might be more workable would be an optional "safe cycler" license of some sort?

god bless you..

Sorry hor. Cyclists are allowed to cycle 2 side by side.

If lorry is unattentive, god bless both parties.

Lorry driver will lost his means of livelihood.

Cyclists will pay with their life loh.