Any one know about the new Infiniti Q50

JOHNKHOR

Hava a 1-plus month season parking balance to sell near CBD area (Tong Eng Building - near Lau Pa Sat). Just need to pass the cashcard over. Anyone interested - pls pm at [email protected]

Anyway, has driven the car for close to 5 months now. FC at about 10.3 km/l (quite surprised that it is not that "thirsty" considering the weight). No complaints so far.

Hi Bros,

I am about to make a decision on the Q50 and also considering the Mazda 6 2.5 premium. It is still tough choice as Mazda 6 2.5 like the infiniti has a great exterior and much larger than the Q50 with extras such as Sunroof, built in navigation and HUD. My family and kids likes the Mazda 6 more, but I prefer the Q50 for performance and Mazda although has leather in the same places still feels a bit "Plastic". Metal on Mazda 6 is softer too.

Also price difference is 20K.

Anybody can share their view between these two? Thanks.

Hi Bros,

I am about to make a decision on the Q50 and also considering the Mazda 6 2.5 premium. It is still tough choice as Mazda 6 2.5 like the infiniti has a great exterior and much larger than the Q50 with extras such as Sunroof, built in navigation and HUD. My family and kids likes the Mazda 6 more, but I prefer the Q50 for performance and Mazda although has leather in the same places still feels a bit "Plastic". Metal on Mazda 6 is softer too.

Also price difference is 20K.

Anybody can share their view between these two? Thanks.

To me, both are pretty closely match. I only tried the 2.0 M6 and not the 2.4 version thus my view may not be very accurate.

With the facelift, I am quite impress with M6. On the other hand, q50 feels more premium and the transmission and engine feels more shiok. It's a Mercedes engine and gear box which explains.

Given a choice, I would go for q50.

Another car you can consider is ford mondeo which is about 140k and have all the technologies you can find which is very impressive. Have a look.

To me, both are pretty closely match. I only tried the 2.0 M6 and not the 2.4 version thus my view may not be very accurate.

With the facelift, I am quite impress with M6. On the other hand, q50 feels more premium and the transmission and engine feels more shiok. It's a Mercedes engine and gear box which explains.

Given a choice, I would go for q50.

Another car you can consider is ford mondeo which is about 140k and have all the technologies you can find which is very impressive. Have a look.

Thanks Donny, I did consider the Mondeo. It has great interior, I like the cool speedo/dash and the large size comparable to the M6. However the exterior do not quite agree with me. In US Ford branding and positioning is lower than Infiniti except for the Mustang line.

Guess I have to negotiate and see which AD give me a better run for the Money. I do not wish to spend more than 150K, else I would have gone for a C-class at 175K now.

Thanks Donny, I did consider the Mondeo. It has great interior, I like the cool speedo/dash and the large size comparable to the M6. However the exterior do not quite agree with me. In US Ford branding and positioning is lower than Infiniti except for the Mustang line.

Guess I have to negotiate and see which AD give me a better run for the Money. I do not wish to spend more than 150K, else I would have gone for a C-class at 175K now.

Wo! have c class drop so much ?

was at C&C 3 weeks ago and the price for c 180 was quoted at 196k roughly ....

C-class is 175K?? u mean the new C180?

I love the q50 but what turns me off is the centre 2nd row which is unfit for an adult and its weight.

Effectively, it is a 4 seaters luxury sedan.

Edited by ODCmaniac

even bmw 3 series and merc c-class ... rear seat also can sit 2 person only - comfortably

the center seat is practically useless even for short drive out for lunch unless it's a petite charbo ... [sly]

I love the q50 but what turns me off is the centre 2nd row which is unfit for an adult and its weight.

I looked at the Mondeo, old M6 2.4L, Passat (very briefly, yuk) Jag XF etc.

The Mondeo had the better look and quality over the M6 but the tail end still looks like a) a Kia and b) the last Mondeo. It also comes only with a light colour interior which I can't handle. The Collision Avoidance System I think might also cause me an issue in the long term.

The old M6, I didn't like the feel of the interior so didn't even drive it.

For reference, the XF was great, but old technology and a brand new model already launched so....no point.

So far, have to say, four months with the Q50 and I'm also happy with performance, feel, handling, FC at ~10km/L, look, solid feel. Yes, there are a few issues but that's true for all cars so live'n'go.

between infinity and Maz6.......

no brainer. Its the former.

why is it a no brainer?

Value for money or branding?

Resale value?

spare parts / maintenance costs? etc...

why is it a no brainer?

Value for money or branding?

Resale value?

spare parts / maintenance costs? etc...

the badge says it all. Infinity is suppose to be a premium brand after all like lexus.

nissan should be compared to mazda instead if you ask me.

the badge says it all. Infinity is suppose to be a premium brand after all like lexus.

nissan should be compared to mazda instead if you ask me.

I see, meaning the ppllooking at Q50 are those who can well afford the higher sparepart/servicing charges and lower resale value......

That make sense, thanks bro

Yes for C180 with trade-in rebate.

As for the centre 2nd row, all rear wheel and AWD drives has a transmission tunnel. Trade-off for performance.

This is an issue with my wife, thus she prefer the M6 for front well drive vehicles.

I see, meaning the ppllooking at Q50 are those who can well afford the higher sparepart/servicing charges and lower resale value......

i dont forseen infinity having lower resale value as its also too early to tell for now.

mazda parts are not exactly cheap.

so sour....hahahah...then people buy bentley or ferrari also same lor....last heard super cars resale is lose big money wan. come all the way here to give sour remarks...very free lei.

Yes for C180 with trade-in rebate.

As for the centre 2nd row, all rear wheel and AWD drives has a transmission tunnel. Trade-off for performance.

This is an issue with my wife, thus she prefer the M6 for front well drive vehicles.

bro, although i drive the 528i now i sometimes take my wife's Q50 out. you need to go check the c-180 n Mazda 6 specs again....they are not in the same class as the Q50...the C250 is comparable to Q50.

paiseh mazda ...very nice car but not in this catergory in anyway. so you are comparing all the wrong cars to Q50. of course, as far as badge is concern.....C180 still win infiniti brand lah... but i tested both and i will not choose C180 over Q50...but i am over the lure of the badge long ago.