BBDC/Cyclist incident: 'Just overtake la! So easy!'

Eighttales

Other then those cyclists who brings food for the table, the rest of the spandex dixk head, I dont give a damm, anyway few weeks jail term, fines and lic revoke nia. Who will loose the most? :angry:

Last encounter along Mandai road and Thomson.

When I learnt driving - if you were exiting at three o'clock, you were supposed to be signalling right - which is where I would fault the cyclist in this instance.

I also think the driver SHOULD have been driving defensively - cyclist was right there, in a cycle lane, and while not signalling right, neither was he signalling left - so being cautious I would have waited to see what he was doing.

EDIT: I stand corrected. Apparently there *are* some traffic codes that advise you to signal when continuing on in a roundabout if you're taking the third exit. I don't think we're taught that in Singapore (at least I don't remember this)! Maybe I've forgotten. [blush]

Also, with regard to the other video, the limit should've been 30mph, not kph if it had been taken in the UK (you mentioned kph).

all i can say is you have a selfish f**ked up mentality. the f**king world doesn't revolve around you. riding a small vulnerable bicycle doesn't give you the right to road hog or hold up traffic. if people buzz a horn at you and tell you "i'm here", then you need to know it's a warning and it's for YOUR safety. if you disregard that and think that it is offensive instead, then so be it. i hope you buang soon.

end of discussion. i've said enough of my peace.

relax la... we all agree to disagree... everyone free to air their views and share opinions.. there is really no need to curse unfortunate things to happen to other ppl... [grouphug]

this is why 10 odd years ago, when cyclist buang with car, we mostly say knn must be kayu driver.

and we feel sad for whoever is knock down,

nowsaday is the complete opposite, most of us will say , knn cyclist deserve it, 1 less road menance on the road for us all. etc etc lol

EDIT: I stand corrected. Apparently there *are* some traffic codes that advise you to signal when continuing on in a roundabout if you're taking the third exit. I don't think we're taught that in Singapore (at least I don't remember this)! Maybe I've forgotten. [blush]

Also, with regard to the other video, the limit should've been 30mph, not kph if it had been taken in the UK (you mentioned kph).

Hee...30 mph is 50 kph - I'd say the bike was pretty close to that - if not, it was quite a long way to hold up the car with no where to pass - not that, short of stopping, he could do much...

I think the law has changed since I got my licence - now you only signal to exit - personally though, if 3 o'Clock - I would signal right, then left just before the exit

actually... im quite sure there is no hard and fast rule in sgp traffic laws that say must signal etc in round about...

but i did notice that ppl signal right when NOT exiting and signal left when about to exit... personally find that pretty indicative of intention :D

Other then those cyclists who brings food for the table, the rest of the spandex dixk head, I dont give a damm, anyway few weeks jail term, fines and lic revoke nia. Who will loose the most? :angry:

Last encounter along Mandai road and Thomson.

I cycle to work everyday. Do i bring food for the table?

Hee...30 mph is 50 kph - I'd say the bike was pretty close to that - if not, it was quite a long way to hold up the car with no where to pass - not that, short of stopping, he could do much...

I think the law has changed since I got my licence - now you only signal to exit - personally though, if 3 o'Clock - I would signal right, then left just before the exit

The speed of the bike can be seen in the display (along with the altitude). He was going quite fast in the wooded area, but more slowly (naturally) in the residential area.

this is why 10 odd years ago, when cyclist buang with car, we mostly say knn must be kayu driver.

and we feel sad for whoever is knock down,

nowsaday is the complete opposite, most of us will say , knn cyclist deserve it, 1 less road menance on the road for us all. etc etc lol

That's because there are more & more inconsiderate road users on the road. it takes 2 hand to clap. A lot of time we got carry away with the situation rather than taking 1 steps back.

Whenever i drive on CTE btw 8 - 9pm, my blood boils more than i cycle. There are more MF roadhogger on the road than leotard.

actually... im quite sure there is no hard and fast rule in sgp traffic laws that say must signal etc in round about...

but i did notice that ppl signal right when NOT exiting and signal left when about to exit... personally find that pretty indicative of intention :D

Do they signal right when not exiting? I haven't actually seen that, at least in Newton circus, which is one of the most, if not the most, dangerous circus in Singapore. If you're going in the middle lane with right turn signal on, people will become scared you're going to filter into the innermost lane,

Signalling when exiting is the minimum requirement, though.

I cycle to work everyday. Do i bring food for the table?

I will open road for you all the way to your office, I will not horn, cos my horn not working for a long time ago.

That's because there are more & more inconsiderate road users on the road. it takes 2 hand to clap. A lot of time we got carry away with the situation rather than taking 1 steps back.

A lot of it is also due to the unreasonable gahmen lah. So damn inflexible, e.g. with the bus lanes where you're expected to keep left at the last minute to turn left in gridlocked traffic if you don't want to be caught by a plainclothes jiak liao bee and have to write in to appeal, etc.

I feel it all goes together. Having courtesy and graciousness campaigns only goes so far if the gahmen themselves aren't gracious in the enforcement of rather ridiculous laws (another one is the weird bus priority exits on the left lane).

All these intangible things make driving here fairly stressful, especially with the ubiquitous car cams, STOMP and our kaypoh culture. So you always get the feeling that even if you escape mata's direct attention, some idiot, somewhere, is going to sell you out for 50 measly dollars.

Traffic density, of course, has to do with most of the unhappiness, but again, guess whose policies caused that?

Which is pretty much the point at the end of the day right? No matter what the "law" says - if your intentions are clear, then it keeps other people safe

A lot of it is also due to the unreasonable gahmen lah. So damn inflexible, e.g. with the bus lanes where you're expected to keep left at the last minute to turn left in gridlocked traffic if you don't want to be caught by a plainclothes jiak liao bee and have to write in to appeal, etc.

I feel it all goes together. Having courtesy and graciousness campaigns only goes so far if the gahmen themselves aren't gracious in the enforcement of rather ridiculous laws (another one is the weird bus priority exits on the left lane).

All these intangible things make driving here fairly stressful, especially with the ubiquitous car cams, STOMP and our kaypoh culture. So you always get the feeling that even if you escape mata's direct attention, some idiot, somewhere, is going to sell you out for 50 measly dollars.

Traffic density, of course, has to do with most of the unhappiness, but again, guess whose policies caused that?

Flame me know - but I actually like the bus lanes and the priority exit (although I do think more space is needed to merge left at some spots)

I pretty much give busses 100% priority when I'm driving anyway

Do they signal right when not exiting? I haven't actually seen that, at least in Newton circus, which is one of the most, if not the most, dangerous circus in Singapore. If you're going in the middle lane with right turn signal on, people will become scared you're going to filter into the innermost lane,

Signalling when exiting is the minimum requirement, though.

Eh - bro - it don't count as a circus if it has traffic lights in the middle -

knot quite sure what it is, maybe some sort of b**tardised hybrid that should be put out of its misery?

Which is pretty much the point at the end of the day right? No matter what the "law" says - if your intentions are clear, then it keeps other people safe

Flame me know - but I actually like the bus lanes and the priority exit (although I do think more space is needed to merge left at some spots)

I pretty much give busses 100% priority when I'm driving anyway

Eh - bro - it don't count as a circus if it has traffic lights in the middle -

knot quite sure what it is, maybe some sort of b**tardised hybrid that should be put out of its misery?

Traffic lights are only in operation at some times.

I mean that there are bus lanes where the dashed line preceding a turn is really short, and the situation is compounded in heavy traffic with the "never give way" mentality so prevalent here.

The bus priority exit (those weird curved arrow markings on some roads on a yellow background) can be dangerous if the guy behind you doesn't realise you're going to stop. This is largely a theoretical concern for me as I always filter into the right lane to siam this part of the road. :D

Traffic lights are only in operation at some times.

I mean that there are bus lanes where the dashed line preceding a turn is really short, and the situation is compounded in heavy traffic with the "never give way" mentality so prevalent here.

The bus priority exit (those weird curved arrow markings on some roads on a yellow background) can be dangerous if the guy behind you doesn't realise you're going to stop. This is largely a theoretical concern for me as I always filter into the right lane to siam this part of the road. :D

Agree fully the distance is too short - and sometimes not quite logical (last week I almost got caught, come out from small lane, turn into next small lane - stay in left lane right? Except it was a bus lane - with a mata taking pix - whoops)

But other than that - I think bus lane a good thing

And yes - never give way culture is too strong here - would make traffic flow better if drivers more gracious

I remember driver the campervan in auckland rush hour traffic - people very nice to me - here - I would have fainted

Cyclists not only pose a HUGE risk for themselves, but also a safety hazard for other road users as well.

Enough said.