Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 19, 2014 Author Share July 19, 2014 One of my healthy driving practice is not to take honking and high beaming from others so seriously or personally. It's merely a noise and a flash of light among the myriad of sound and scenes among the traffic. I think we over analyse too much and in the process stress ourselves out. If your maneuver was safely executed, then there's nothing more to worry about. If not, just reflect upon how you can avoid the same error in the future. Another healthy practice is I never drive with the expectation that others have to give way to me. I depend on my own judgement and skill to maneuver my car, including changing lanes. I feel good when I'm able to execute my moves without others having to accommodate me. But I feel even better when others do give way to me and that's a bonus I never expect in the first place. That's why I still enjoy driving so much after all these years even though traffic is busier than it used to be. its been long since i log in here and today happen to think of the forum so log in and see. while reading some threads in complain folder,naturally i thought of the few occasions similar incidents i had met so decide to share and learn. i do agree with u. I always try not to caused inconvenience to others and never expect others to give way to me. iam pretty immune to the types of drivers we have to face on the roads but i admit sometimes i still get pissed if others purposely tried to find trouble(probably i have more to learn from u here). and note that if i had filter in dangerously,the bus driver should have horned me immediately but instead of horn,he high beamed me after 3-5 seconds later when he was still about 20m away from me when i was still cruising and keeping up with vehicles in front of me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 19, 2014 Author Share July 19, 2014 To many drivers they think buses are able to brake and stop in time as compared to their cars. To tell you honestly unless you take heavy vehicle license you will never know. To take a bigger and heavier vehicle to brake hard and stop within a short braking distance is a challenge. That's why I never ever cut into the path of a heavy vehicle. Many ppl see a big space there and they just filter in. You are just risking your life unnecessarily. Driving a heavy vehicle is not like driving your regular sedan or hatchback. Mr Saint,i don't know if i should really call u that or a lousy driver..lol and "Thanks" for the wonderful "Tips" to show your "Intelligence" that u thought many didn't knew about heavy vehicles needed longer distant to come to a complete stop and self-making yourself smarter than most people..please try harder when u post next time..hehe Thanks for you contribution here though most of the words came out were non-constructive but more like trying to prove yourself better than others or rather me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic July 19, 2014 Share July 19, 2014 its been long since i log in here and today happen to think of the forum so log in and see. while reading some threads in complain folder,naturally i thought of the few occasions similar incidents i had met so decide to share and learn. i do agree with u. I always try not to caused inconvenience to others and never expect others to give way to me. iam pretty immune to the types of drivers we have to face on the roads but i admit sometimes i still get pissed if others purposely tried to find trouble(probably i have more to learn from u here). and note that if i had filter in dangerously,the bus driver should have horned me immediately but instead of horn,he high beamed me after 3-5 seconds later when he was still about 20m away from me when i was still cruising and keeping up with vehicles in front of me. The perfect driver will be an emotionless robot manoeuvring based on pure logic. But we're all humans so we can't run away from emotional outbursts. When i was much younger, I used to get pissed by other drivers and it troubles me even the next day. Then it reduced to just after reaching home and forgotten the next day. Nowadays, I don't even remember by the time I step out of the car. That's how I measure whether my EQ has improved through the years. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 19, 2014 Author Share July 19, 2014 Horn and Beam are to be used appropriately and not as a "weapon to attack" others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 19, 2014 Share July 19, 2014 Problem maybe some of them think they had the right way that they just filter into our lane. Most of the times i used high beam when they want to filter into my lane from bus stop or else they will just go in and force u to jam break! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 bus driver come out from bus bay always dont care others..put their head out means win liao..knn nehneh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 Hi everybody who is reading this,Iam positng here not really to complain but to hear your voice regarding bus drivers on our roads. Recently,i noticed that bus drivers like to horn and high beam especially when I filter into their lane even though with a safe distant and speed and signal ON. Does any of u also notice this? and most of them seems to reluctant to give way too nowadays.Why are they doing this to purposely pissed off other road users? Let's hear from all of u and share your experience here. They got timing to follow. Elase miss timing who knows if the company kena find by lta? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 Nowadays, it is common to see buses beat red lights. This morning alone, I saw 2 of them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) bus driver come out from bus bay always dont care others..put their head out means win liao..knn nehneh!My own subjective observation - more buses are coming out onto the bus lanes regardless of oncoming traffic. And some of these buses tend to "head" out onto the next lane (centre lane) while completing their exit out of the bus bay. Just be alert bros. . Edited July 20, 2014 by Toothiewabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 My own subjective observation - more buses are coming out onto the bus lanes regardless of oncoming traffic. And some of these buses tend to "head" out onto the next lane (centre lane) while completing their exit out of the bus bay. Just be alert bros. . yes, sometimes they come out from bus bay, they even eat onto the middle lane (in 3 lane road). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonydeath 4th Gear July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 Hi everybody who is reading this,Iam positng here not really to complain but to hear your voice regarding bus drivers on our roads. Recently,i noticed that bus drivers like to horn and high beam especially when I filter into their lane even though with a safe distant and speed and signal ON. Does any of u also notice this? and most of them seems to reluctant to give way too nowadays.Why are they doing this to purposely pissed off other road users? Let's hear from all of u and share your experience here. I very much agreed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 If bus drivers are stressed due to driving, then stopped working as a driver. If not tiam tiam n continue driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 If bus drivers are stressed due to driving, then stopped working as a driver. If not tiam tiam n continue driving. Err..... They continue to drive the way they are driving mah, just that other drivers not happy only [laugh] 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 Talking about reacting to highbeam and horning from behind, I have told myself this. When a driver behind high beam or horn, it is a feedback to the driver in front. And this feedback is a valid one since the driver behind has a better view and appreciation of the whole situation. The driver in front only has an indirect view thru mirrors. Most of the time if i kenna high beam or horn by behind car after a manuveur, I thought I am right. it however isn't so if a third party judge is seeing the incident from neutral view. We sometime play this third party judge, seeing other drivers incidents in front of us or video postings online. Once being beamed or horned at, many drivers just lose their cool and will never admit fault. It isn't about one having better driving skills but respecting that another driver is in a better position to judge. Not judging anybody here but sharing my thoughts process. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 (edited) To many drivers they think buses are able to brake and stop in time as compared to their cars. To tell you honestly unless you take heavy vehicle license you will never know. To take a bigger and heavier vehicle to brake hard and stop within a short braking distance is a challenge. That's why I never ever cut into the path of a heavy vehicle. Many ppl see a big space there and they just filter in. You are just risking your life unnecessarily. Driving a heavy vehicle is not like driving your regular sedan or hatchback. Cannot praise you yet. I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiments. I've taken the bus more often of late and have a newfound respect for the demands on bus drivers. It is simply not easy to manoeuvre those huge beasts especially when they have to filter out across traffic to make a right turn. Remember that this often has to be done in a short distance even for a car because the final stop along the road before the turn is uncomfortably close to the junction. Buses more or less have to force their way in because typical Singaporean kiasu drivers don't want to end up behind a bus so they rarely give way willingly. You also get to share in their frustration with inconsiderate drivers who park in the bus lane so that they are forced to manoeuvre around them only to return quickly to the bus lane for the next stop. Coupled with the hassle of keeping track of stops and boarding/alighting passengers and making sure everyone has tapped-in or paid the correct fare in cash, etc., I'm sure it's a very stressful job. I would personally give them tons of space and respect and brush off minor grievances on the road. These are not leotard-wearing show-offs riding alone and inconveniencing drivers by their sudden antics. These are hardworking blue collar workers ferrying crowds of people at a time and performing a public service. Edited July 20, 2014 by Turboflat4 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 They got timing to follow. Elase miss timing who knows if the company kena find by lta? Could it be that the timing set by the management is unrealistic resulting in the bus drivers have to speed / rush, endangering other road users and the passengers on the bus they drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear July 20, 2014 Author Share July 20, 2014 (edited) Talking about reacting to highbeam and horning from behind, I have told myself this. When a driver behind high beam or horn, it is a feedback to the driver in front. And this feedback is a valid one since the driver behind has a better view and appreciation of the whole situation. The driver in front only has an indirect view thru mirrors. Most of the time if i kenna high beam or horn by behind car after a manuveur, I thought I am right. it however isn't so if a third party judge is seeing the incident from neutral view. We sometime play this third party judge, seeing other drivers incidents in front of us or video postings online. Once being beamed or horned at, many drivers just lose their cool and will never admit fault. It isn't about one having better driving skills but respecting that another driver is in a better position to judge. Not judging anybody here but sharing my thoughts process. I beg to differ. I can remember vividly on an occasion when i was driving on KPE where a car was donkey distant away from me and i signalled to filter in. I don't know why did the driver switched on high beam. so i was wondering if he/she had coincidentally on it at the same time when i filter in. After the next lane was clear, i switched lane and noticed he/she off the beam immediately. Hmmm...i was laughing in my heart at his/her stupidity action...he/she was still far far away,i switched back to his/her lane to double confirm. Indeed i was right,he/she on his/her beam again..I wasn't agitated but laughing at his/her action..and continued my journey on other lane leaving him/her far far away. yes he/she was on the first lane and yes he/she was road hogging. not to be mean,but if one can't judge the distant/speed(i.e.:near,mid-range or far and slow,mid-speed or fast ) from the mirror i would say the driver is inexperience or someone dangerous driving behind the wheel. Sometimes i do last minute filtering of lane due to various reasons and had caused inconvenience to other drivers but i always make sure it is safe to do so. some of them would horn or beam at me and if my windows were down,i would raised my hand to apologise or thank. sometimes i know they are angry and tried to overtake me when there is chance and i will let them overtake and raise my hand out to apologise too.if it is my fault then it is my fault i won't get angry for being horned or beamed at. Right is Right,Wrong is Wrong. Edited July 20, 2014 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged July 20, 2014 Share July 20, 2014 Cannot praise you yet. I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiments. I've taken the bus more often of late and have a newfound respect for the demands on bus drivers. It is simply not easy to manoeuvre those huge beasts especially when they have to filter out across traffic to make a right turn. Remember that this often has to be done in a short distance even for a car because the final stop along the road before the turn is uncomfortably close to the junction. Buses more or less have to force their way in because typical Singaporean kiasu drivers don't want to end up behind a bus so they rarely give way willingly. You also get to share in their frustration with inconsiderate drivers who park in the bus lane so that they are forced to manoeuvre around them only to return quickly to the bus lane for the next stop. Coupled with the hassle of keeping track of stops and boarding/alighting passengers and making sure everyone has tapped-in or paid the correct fare in cash, etc., I'm sure it's a very stressful job. I would personally give them tons of space and respect and brush off minor grievances on the road. These are not leotard-wearing show-offs riding alone and inconveniencing drivers by their sudden antics. These are hardworking blue collar workers ferrying crowds of people at a time and performing a public service. I take buses regularly and agree with your observations. That said, there are some black sheeps who jerk the bus unnecessarily when they slam on the brake entering the bus stops even though the alighting passengers have press the "stop" button well in advance. Fortunately these drivers are the rare breed, but they do exist [sweatdrop] ... poor ah mahs and ah gongs got to grab whatever they could suddenly to steady themselves when such brake-slamming happens. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...