Forte3737 5th Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 There are a lot of used cars in the dealers' lots right now, and a lot of cars (like mine) just scrapped but not yet added back to the quota. Premium should be heading head down, and hopefully the dealers would be less greedy and not asked for 15K depreciation for 7-8 year-old cars. That's where you are wrong.I expect car dealers to increase price soon. Maybe by a few k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 even though Cat E is down, Cat B has saved it. nett increase is 64 more quota (combined Cat B & E) or 7.7% more, per bidding exercise. still increase, but of course can't compare to the 41% more for Cat A. Problem is Cat B & E can easily absorb additional 500 more each month at the 70k level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swifter78 2nd Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 Hope Cat A will increase 41% every quarter! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 That's where you are wrong.I expect car dealers to increase price soon. Maybe by a few k you seem very worried to have made the wrong decision to renew your cat A COE if cat A crash just buy a new car and scrap your old one lah. at most lose the old car scrap value. why try so hard to talk up the market? 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 you seem very worried to have made the wrong decision to renew your cat A COE if cat A crash just buy a new car and scrap your old one lah. at most lose the old car scrap value. why try so hard to talk up the market? Evil la you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 Why nobody mentioned this equates to the same percentage increase of buyers who scrapped their car is on the lookout for a new ride at the same time?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harlic9 1st Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 you seem very worried to have made the wrong decision to renew your cat A COE if cat A crash just buy a new car and scrap your old one lah. at most lose the old car scrap value. why try so hard to talk up the market? same sentiments that I have as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 Let the Feb bidding speak for itself. You will understand better. But if want th hear the good news, can always search for yo2020 postings you seem very worried to have made the wrong decision to renew your cat A COE if cat A crash just buy a new car and scrap your old one lah. at most lose the old car scrap value. why try so hard to talk up the market? Because people want to hear the good news. If you say something negative negative like me, people will dislike you? Why nobody mentioned this equates to the same percentage increase of buyers who scrapped their car is on the lookout for a new ride at the same time?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 No wonder motorshow this weekend, quota for the next 6 bids full liao lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bhslee 1st Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 Don't expect too much. COE won't drop a lot, just pray it doesn't go further up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
gasman 2nd Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 I think the chances are as high as sacking LTY and re-instating RL as transport minister. 100% support. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 Looking at the slew of new cat B car models from luxury brands Audi, Mercedes, Lexus etc launching in Q1, the dealers will be bidding high to get COE. Logic is simple. Don't have COE, cannot deliver the cars. Cannot deliver, cannot collect proceeds from sales. No proceeds, no revenue to pay rent and staff salaries. Dealers bid high to guarantee get COE, then pass cost on to the buyers. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 (edited) you seem very worried to have made the wrong decision to renew your cat A COE if cat A crash just buy a new car and scrap your old one lah. at most lose the old car scrap value. why try so hard to talk up the market? This is just human nature, buy liow hope COE goes up, haven't buy hope it comes down but some can explain their logic and rationale, some just shout out loud because of self interest. For me, COE should drop (worst case, maintain) as I look around me and I see some giving up car ownership due to high COE or loan curbs, so replacement demand should be less than the incoming COE supply, the lagging supply should however make the price decline bumpy and very gradual but price generally should weaken as COE supply increases further over the next few years. Pure and simple. The main issue is what is the support level, at what price point will it trigger buyers to rush in to buy, thus lending support. I used to think it is 50k, now I think it is higher. Edited January 14, 2015 by Voodooman 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airy 1st Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 I think it will not drop too much....perhaps between 5 to 10% down.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomvroom 2nd Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 Could this be the start of government trying to sweeten the ground for GE by gradually increasing the supply of COE therefore causing a perhaps gradual decline in Coe price? Just a thought. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 I think cat a situation will improve. Cat b I think change will be small. More people are simply used to having bigger cars. Suv, mpv etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 Could this be the start of government trying to sweeten the ground for GE by gradually increasing the supply of COE therefore causing a perhaps gradual decline in Coe price? Just a thought. Huh? How the COE numbers are calculated is well known to us all. This sudden increase in the number of COEs was due to a decision made 10 years ago.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tcx607 4th Gear January 14, 2015 Share January 14, 2015 My prediction: If potential car buyer cannot wait for COE to decrease, he still will buy. Let these people get their ride at premium price. If you can wait, you may save 10-20k from current price. I will not join the crowd to rush for new car. Do your homework ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...