GP fees become so expensive?

Cook123

Evil doctor....

Profit S$260K for Jan to May 2011 sales just by selling cough syrup.

===============================

SINGAPORE - A doctor who was jailed and fined for illegally selling codeine-laced cough syrup can no longer practise medicine.

In a statement issued on Monday, the Singapore Medical Council (SMC) said 44-year-old Ho Thong Chew's name was removed from the Register of Medical Practitioners with effect from Jan 18 this year.

In 2012, the general practitioner was sentenced to 7 1/2 months of jail and fined $60,000 on 12 counts of selling the cough syrup wholesale without a licence.

The decision to remove Dr Ho from the Register was made after a Disciplinary Tribunal (DT) inquiry by the SMC weighed his sentencing and mitigating factors.

While the DT took into account that Dr Ho suffers from depression, among other mitigating factors, it also ruled that he had sold the cough syrup to the public despite knowing he had "no control over the ultimate recipients (of the syrup) and the potential harm that could be caused to the public through its sale".

The DT also said that he had a "blatant disregard of the law" by continuing to sell the cough syrup even after his clinic had been raided by the Health Sciences Authority.

"The DT was of the view that the overriding interests in this case must be the protection of public interests and to uphold the integrity of the medical profession," said the SMC in its statement.

In July 2012, Dr Ho was found to have made more than $260,000 in profits from a scheme to supply codeine-based cough syrup to addicts.

He sold the medicine to three patients, who then repackaged it and passed it on to others. He was the operator of Focus Medical Group Clinic in Ang Mo Kio then.

Health Sciences Authority checks showed that Focus Medical Group had bought 908 3.8-litre canisters of codeine-based cough syrup from January to May 2011.

The clinic has since been closed down by the Health Ministry.

Kena jail for 7.5 months, remove license to practice with criminal record for $260K, not worth it.

Evil doctor....

Profit S$260K for Jan to May 2011 sales just by selling cough syrup.

===============================

SINGAPORE - A doctor who was jailed and fined for illegally selling codeine-laced cough syrup can no longer practise medicine.

In a statement issued on Monday, the Singapore Medical Council (SMC) said 44-year-old Ho Thong Chew's name was removed from the Register of Medical Practitioners with effect from Jan 18 this year.

In 2012, the general practitioner was sentenced to 7 1/2 months of jail and fined $60,000 on 12 counts of selling the cough syrup wholesale without a licence.

The decision to remove Dr Ho from the Register was made after a Disciplinary Tribunal (DT) inquiry by the SMC weighed his sentencing and mitigating factors.

While the DT took into account that Dr Ho suffers from depression, among other mitigating factors, it also ruled that he had sold the cough syrup to the public despite knowing he had "no control over the ultimate recipients (of the syrup) and the potential harm that could be caused to the public through its sale".

The DT also said that he had a "blatant disregard of the law" by continuing to sell the cough syrup even after his clinic had been raided by the Health Sciences Authority.

"The DT was of the view that the overriding interests in this case must be the protection of public interests and to uphold the integrity of the medical profession," said the SMC in its statement.

In July 2012, Dr Ho was found to have made more than $260,000 in profits from a scheme to supply codeine-based cough syrup to addicts.

He sold the medicine to three patients, who then repackaged it and passed it on to others. He was the operator of Focus Medical Group Clinic in Ang Mo Kio then.

Health Sciences Authority checks showed that Focus Medical Group had bought 908 3.8-litre canisters of codeine-based cough syrup from January to May 2011.

The clinic has since been closed down by the Health Ministry.

Kena jail for 7.5 months, remove license to practice with criminal record for $260K, not worth it.

Orbigoot.

my exact reply to my friend who posted this link hours ago lol.

AIyah, just remember that our national motto is "What's wrong with collecting more money?" can liao. No need to complain.

Also I think they should change our national pledge to a simple:

"What's wrong with paying more money?"

Like that settle liao, no need simi "We the citizens of Singapore, pledge ourselves as one united blah blah blah...".

Easier to remember also.

Polyclinic is not exactly cheap too.

I think last time I went there, they add some extra fee, besides doctor fee, dunno for what, can't remember.

Only common medicine is cheap.

But you need to wait at least one hour.

If your time is worth wasting, then ok, otherwise for small illness, better just see your local GP, if you can find a cheaper one. It's not often you get sick.

this day and age, there should be no more queues in polyclinics.

they should have come up with all fancy apps, real time update of queue numbers etc. As most polys are near town centres, patients will have lots of marketing time. They should even allow patients to bring supermarket trollies into polyclinics.

wait, i got a brainwave.... Polyclinic + hypermarket + car workshop

an apple a day keep the doctor away..

stay healthy stay fit thus reduce visit to the doctor...

A click here, another click there, keep the doctor's attention on his patients random.... but click / surf forums is part of life. [grin]

Now I understand why waiting time is so long... Last time got appointment at SGH with specialist, always get to see him after 45 mins fro the appointed time. Must ban mcf from hospital..

MCF = Medical Chats Forum?? [grin]

Sorlie, I layman...I mean this...

http://www.who.int/trade/glossary/story070/en/

Generic medications you mean.

Usually most places will price the medication based on the cost lor.

If the medicine is few dollars then it's most likely generics.

Just like generic paracetamol is cheaper than PANADOL.

Generics are already very common in SG. Most of the drugs we are familiar with are generics. Usually the patent expires after 20 years? (not sure exact duration)

Generics have to demonstrate studies which show equivalent results to the originals. But companies like Ranbaxy has been known to fake these studies. So bad, that the japanese company that bought Ranbaxy recently sold it off at loss.

The original drugs undergo greater scrutiny as they are so called the 1st of their kinds. So their studies and evaluation by FDA/European agencies are much more stringent.

With 4 kids medical costs is always a concern, and my family has been trying out different doctors in my neighbourhood to see which one is "better".

After comparing 4 to 5 clinics over a period of time, can really conclude that what you pay normally is what you get. A case of fever can cost anything from $25 to $60, but generally the quality of medicine will differ quite a lot as well. The more ex clinics would generally give stronger medicine (aka more ex) that translate to faster healing. Those cheaper ones would take longer to heal, and uses medicine that is familiar that you grow up with. Remember the bitter tasting cough syrup? Not that they are not effective, but simply taking slightly longer time to heal.

And of course, the clinic is without aircon comfort, and you registration details are kept in those filing cabinets, not computerised. Very much same for many things in life, like boutiques, cars, watches, etc.

So for me is that which clinic I go depends on how serious is my sickness. If common flu, why need to pay more? Just my opinion.

Generic medications you mean.

Usually most places will price the medication based on the cost lor.

If the medicine is few dollars then it's most likely generics.

Just like generic paracetamol is cheaper than PANADOL.

Generics are already very common in SG. Most of the drugs we are familiar with are generics. Usually the patent expires after 20 years? (not sure exact duration)

Generics have to demonstrate studies which show equivalent results to the originals. But companies like Ranbaxy has been known to fake these studies. So bad, that the japanese company that bought Ranbaxy recently sold it off at loss.

The original drugs undergo greater scrutiny as they are so called the 1st of their kinds. So their studies and evaluation by FDA/European agencies are much more stringent.

Thanks, some clinics charge slightly cheaper consultation fees but the medications dispensed are not as effective, or perceived.

With 4 kids medical costs is always a concern, and my family has been trying out different doctors in my neighbourhood to see which one is "better".

After comparing 4 to 5 clinics over a period of time, can really conclude that what you pay normally is what you get. A case of fever can cost anything from $25 to $60, but generally the quality of medicine will differ quite a lot as well. The more ex clinics would generally give stronger medicine (aka more ex) that translate to faster healing. Those cheaper ones would take longer to heal, and uses medicine that is familiar that you grow up with. Remember the bitter tasting cough syrup? Not that they are not effective, but simply taking slightly longer time to heal.

And of course, the clinic is without aircon comfort, and you registration details are kept in those filing cabinets, not computerised. Very much same for many things in life, like boutiques, cars, watches, etc.

So for me is that which clinic I go depends on how serious is my sickness. If common flu, why need to pay more? Just my opinion.

Lol when I'm sick, i eat some expensive medicine, and some cheap medicine lol.

Thanks, some clinics charge slightly cheaper consultation fees but the medications dispensed are not as effective, or perceived.

I think for mild illnesses, the trust/relationship with the doctor is probably the most important.

If you perceive the medicines to be not effective, u will sure not be happy even if the medicines are working.

The crowd pulling GPs are the ones with the best PR, even if their clinical skills are just average or above average.

Hard Truth.