Teen's wish for new shoes to come true

Ender

Damn... I should have chosen to be a private tutor....

Then again, I was never a good student. How to be a good teacher? [laugh] [laugh]

hmm.. private tutor could be earning from sibei kiasu parents that despite having free remedial lesson still send their children for private tuition.. or those that already score "A"s but still send for tuition..

free remedial lessons should never be removed for kids that didn't do well in school..

hmm.. private tutor could be earning from sibei kiasu parents that despite having free remedial lesson still send their children for private tuition.. or those that already score "A"s but still send for tuition..

free remedial lessons should never be removed for kids that didn't do well in school..

Actually schools still allocate a couple of days for supplementary classes, like my son school on every monday and tuesday. The school teachers are [thumbsup] .

If you go to the lists of 'members' found on the MCYS list, you will be more surprised that there are really poor people who cannot even afford a HDB. Some ministers regularly come in contact with the poor. Only some. One such is TCJ. If you are not afraid of the political involvement, you are free to participate in his activities of helping the needy. Otherwise, you can join the BB activities or religious organisations as volunteers. There are several organisations that you can help you like Jamiyah Homes. There's a childrens' home very close to Geylang with a lot of children that will certainly benefit from some help. You can go there to teach them English, help the poor children get more school stuffs. Education is extremely important for these kids and no help is considered too little.

this family is one of those that fall through the social gap. garment never do anything for them?

give them a decent hdb flat at discounted price, for goodness sake. This young boy gonna to serve his NS duty in no time.........

and in NS the allowance money not much and still must use that cash to top up buy black tape, range card, arc of fire sticks, comms cord, camo, gloves, kiwi, lighter, battery, L torch. not enough left for canteen breaks.. sigh..

Only good thing running shoes covered by Emart credit.

its kids like that that NS place additional burden on. my number 4 still can at home use washing machine to wash. (AB2M got family to polish boots some more!) think jozie will need to own self use hand wash.

I used to wash my number 4 in camp and hang dry. KNN people can steal it some more!

got to buy extra uniform and lousy quality some more.

but HDB always promise every SG family will have HDB flat over their heads, isn't it?

Don't they have one over their head now?

And artist earning $1k..... cannot work other job meh

Don't they have one over their head now?

And artist earning $1k..... cannot work other job meh

His dad got liver condition. Don't if this has any effects on him of getting a more physically demanding job?

Edited by Ender

Yes agreed.

Actually some kids who don't do well in school due to family problems. The free remedial lessons will help to give them more opportunities to learn. Get them to turn up on compulsory basis. But the kids have to desire to attend in the first place.

Actually schools still allocate a couple of days for supplementary classes, like my son school on every monday and tuesday. The school teachers are [thumbsup] .

I see.. thanks for clarifying! from the article it seems like the school wasn't doing anything

Be careful of what you read from the media wherever it may be. Go down to the ground and meet the poor people face to face if you are really keen to know what you can do to help. Sometimes, more money may not do the job. The family needs a mindset change.

that's why i'm clarifying of what I have assumed from the article instead of jumping into conclusion..

Yeah remembered warrior shoes when I was in primary sch. Better than bata.

Now warrior is sponsor for Liverpool jersey right? It sure has gone a long way for a China brand!! Correction this is a different warrior...

Edited by Karu

Damn... I should have chosen to be a private tutor....

Then again, I was never a good student. How to be a good teacher? [laugh] [laugh]

Depending on what subject you give tution in ? ..... -_-

For the 'Art of Love Making', no one above you and you're one the "Best of the Best - of the Best, SIR" ........ [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Depending on what subject you give tution in ? ..... -_-

For the 'Art of Love Making', no one above you and you're one the "Best of the Best - of the Best, SIR" ........ [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Really?! [rolleyes] Whether true or not, hearing from the master already sibeh happy [laugh] [laugh]

Great article, great discussions! It saddens me whenever I read such articles. It's particularly worrying that there are many similar cases. While there is temporary relief from kind-hearted donors, how could this group break out of the vicious cycle?

that's why i'm clarifying of what I have assumed from the article instead of jumping into conclusion..

okok i am just highlighting the dangers of online information. relax and have a kit kat.

Great article, great discussions! It saddens me whenever I read such articles. It's particularly worrying that there are many similar cases. While there is temporary relief from kind-hearted donors, how could this group break out of the vicious cycle?

Provide the children with the right environment to grow. Kids learn quickly. And if they are surrounded with an environment where things are taken for granted, you get someone who's lazy and who thinks that his wants is a prerogative. But when you overstretch a child's deprivation, the child grow up to be overly-competitive. Education is extremely important to help the children learn about life.

Have you seen the amos yee video about him questioning the relevance of education to life?

There is only so much the donors can do. The people must break out of the cycle themselves.