Legacygts 1st Gear August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 Did u ask the auntie what car she buy and what is she driving now or has driven in the past? Buy car where got listen to auntie one.. Maybe no resale value or have resale value but don't really care Bec resale value is subjective. Assuming 5 years later the Coe remains the same, for the Subaru bought at 125k new, resale maybe 50k. A Honda Vezel at 115k when new, resale value on 5th year maybe 50k also. I would rather be driving the Forester than the Vezel.. 2 different car, 2 different driving characteristics..Think 10-15k savings over 5 years is not worth the shiokness of driving a mean turbo charge boxer AWD... She drove a bmw 530i previously and now a merc e250.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WML888 2nd Gear August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 She drove a bmw 530i previously and now a merc e250..May be she secretly keeps a XT at home for weekend fun... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged August 1, 2016 Share August 1, 2016 She drove a bmw 530i previously and now a merc e250..Why you buy a Subaru? Bad resale, should ask the auntie to sell u the merc and BMW.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jthl 2nd Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 Today, an office auntie saw that i bought a new FXT..she says "aiyo why u buy a subaru? Subaru got no resale value..no one in Singapore buy Subaru and you go buy?" Ha..i was stunned..Subaru really that bad?? No resale value and no one in Singapore buy Subaru??? What do you guys think? Perception can change over time. Maybe by the time you sell, people are into subarus :) You can sell to those who appreciate Subarus, then got resell value loh hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 She drove a bmw 530i previously and now a merc e250..People who drives such cars tend to look down on those driving Jap and Korean cars, not just subarus. Lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legacygts 1st Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 To those bro who reply..thanks for your opinion..my posting is just for discussion for something that is happening in real life to me..i am a FXT owner and i am pround to be buying something i like and fits my needs than be contstaint by resale value or brands etc..actually what resale value to talk about when a car is a depreciating asset in the first place?? Haha Hope no one takes it personal..just than i have to put this post up as i felt that the society has become very brand conscious and there are more and more brand whores living among us..haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 (edited) wah pretty high Depends on age and experience. My first year was 1.3k from AIG, I just renewed mine for 1k, 50% ncd plus various loyalty and renewal bonus. Edited August 2, 2016 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 hello everyone. Im impressed by all the good things that i heard from the current FXT owners. I am tempted by the switch now to an FXT as well. Not sure if i am making a fair comparison, I am actually comparing the harrier to the FXT. Thinking of going down the CUV route to try something different... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 (edited) It's getting thereIt won't. The Forester popularity will at most be like the Mit Lancer GLX 10 years ago. I agree... Vezel in particular is claustrophobic for me... small legroom/boot space and lack of power when loaded. But then QQ or Vezel cannot be compared with Foresters. A more suitable comparison will be XV, ASX..etc People choose vezel mainly for the power to FC ratio, perceived better tech, cheaper insurance, decent overall Fc, cheaper road tax, decent maintenance, funky looks and the badge. The Forester is not particularly strong in the looks and Fc department. Today, an office auntie saw that i bought a new FXT..she says "aiyo why u buy a subaru? Subaru got no resale value..no one in Singapore buy Subaru and you go buy?" Ha..i was stunned..Subaru really that bad?? No resale value and no one in Singapore buy Subaru??? What do you guys think? Lol I got that from my relatives too. They rather look and comment my cousin's vezel but I don't give a sheet. Like many had said, buying a Subaru us choose heart over head. My 3 cars ownership is based on decisions of the heart. That's the joy in car ownership. no regrets. Edited August 2, 2016 by Pocus 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 (edited) hello everyone. Im impressed by all the good things that i heard from the current FXT owners. I am tempted by the switch now to an FXT as well. Not sure if i am making a fair comparison, I am actually comparing the harrier to the FXT. Thinking of going down the CUV route to try something different... Both harrier and forester are tried and tested models. But both cater to different groups of people. For fair comparison, Harrier should be compared to Fna since both 2L na engines. But then harrier is even more ex than the fxt. Then if compare by selling price alone is not a fair comparison. For price of harrier think u can compare with the new touran Liao or top up a bit more can get BMW 2gt. Seriously very hard to compare. Compare price also not right. Compare omv also wrong. Compare engine specs also wrong. Dunno how to compare sia. Y Singaporeans like to compare everything? Lol.. Like I mentioned before, the fxt is in a category of its own in terms of price, performance, safety, handling and interior space. It has no competitors in its category( not same meaning as it's the best car in the world). The harrier is big and comfortable in the inside and it looks nice on the outside too. It has an efficient cvt transmission and can achieve good fc as well. Even with a 2L engine and heavy body, it can be quite brisk during acceleration. Jusy ytd, I encounters a harrier who outpaced me at very traffic lights on my way home. This just shows that it's no slow slouch too. The fxt has a lot of additional weight due to its heavier engine and heavier awd system. This is something which most users may not appreciate as it consumes more fuel and will be more costly to maintain in the future. Well, I hope u can consider wisely and not be drawn in simply because of fxt engine specs. ;) good luck in your car hunting! It won't. The Forester popularity will at most be like the Mit Lancer GLX 10 years ago. People choose vezel mainly for the power to FC ratio, perceived better tech, cheaper insurance, decent overall Fc, cheaper road tax, decent maintenance, funky looks and the badge. The Forester is not particularly strong in the looks and Fc department. Lol I got that from my relatives too. They rather look and comment my cousin's vezel but I don't give a sheet. Like many had said, buying a Subaru us choose heart over head. My 3 cars ownership is based on decisions of the heart. That's the joy in car ownership. no regrets. Yup when buying a Subaru, it's the heart that matters. If I were to buy another non continental car again, the choice for me is simple: Subaru lor lol... The joy of driving my fxt everyday is priceless! After kenna all the crap from work or home, the least u can reward yourself is at least having a nice drive. :) Edited August 2, 2016 by mrhan1982 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 Both harrier and forester are tried and tested models. But both cater to different groups of people. For fair comparison, Harrier should be compared to Fna since both 2L na engines. But then harrier is even more ex than the fxt. Then if compare by selling price alone is not a fair comparison. For price of harrier think u can compare with the new touran Liao or top up a bit more can get BMW 2gt. Seriously very hard to compare. Compare price also not right. Compare omv also wrong. Compare engine specs also wrong. Dunno how to compare sia. Y Singaporeans like to compare everything? Lol.. Like I mentioned before, the fxt is in a category of its own in terms of price, performance, safety, handling and interior space. It has no competitors in its category( not same meaning as it's the best car in the world). The harrier is big and comfortable in the inside and it looks nice on the outside too. It has an efficient cvt transmission and can achieve good fc as well. Even with a 2L engine and heavy body, it can be quite brisk during acceleration. Jusy ytd, I encounters a harrier who outpaced me at very traffic lights on my way home. This just shows that it's no slow slouch too. The fxt has a lot of additional weight due to its heavier engine and heavier awd system. This is something which most users may not appreciate as it consumes more fuel and will be more costly to maintain in the future. Well, I hope u can consider wisely and not be drawn in simply because of fxt engine specs. ;) good luck in your car hunting! Yup when buying a Subaru, it's the heart that matters. If I were to buy another non continental car again, the choice for me is simple: Subaru lor lol... Take out the COE portion, u can save a lot of time doing comparison :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legacygts 1st Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 How long do we need to run in our FXT engine before we can rev the engine? At what rpm much we stay below during run in period? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swaku 1st Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 How long do we need to run in our FXT engine before we can rev the engine? At what rpm much we stay below during run in period? I attended the owners workshop. The technical advisors said our FXT are already run in in factory. No need to run in for new car. A few of us at the workshop was like "what the....." as we tried to keep at low rpm for the past weeks. After the workshop, I happily zua the car on my way home. :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legacygts 1st Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 I attended the owners workshop. The technical advisors said our FXT are already run in in factory. No need to run in for new car. A few of us at the workshop was like "what the....." as we tried to keep at low rpm for the past weeks. After the workshop, I happily zua the car on my way home. :-)Wow..thanks for the info..but if our car already run-in..why the need to put in mineral oil and change oil at 1km, 5km interval? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 I attended the owners workshop. The technical advisors said our FXT are already run in in factory. No need to run in for new car. A few of us at the workshop was like "what the....." as we tried to keep at low rpm for the past weeks. After the workshop, I happily zua the car on my way home. :-) Engine has run in already. But the rest of the parts are not run-in yet hor. If engine run in already, why need to service at 5k km? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 Engine has run in already. But the rest of the parts are not run-in yet hor. If engine run in already, why need to service at 5k km? Textbook teaching can't change overnight. Must die die follow SOP ma Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 Textbook teaching can't change overnight. Must die die follow SOP ma You mean AD don't follow Factory SOP? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swaku 1st Gear August 2, 2016 Share August 2, 2016 Engine has run in already. But the rest of the parts are not run-in yet hor. If engine run in already, why need to service at 5k km? But what other parts that needs run-in too other than the engine? Anyway, I was close to 1k km when I attended the workshop so should prob have already run in the rest if the parts liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...