2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Where the pss pss sound come from ah? Something is leaking somewhere? :)

If you have tried it before, you will know what i mean. Happen to see an old modded wrx that goes pss pss every time the fellow accelerate from stop. His boost came at very early revs. But the speed of his acceleration doesn't look as fast as he sounds. Being loud doesnt mean he's fast.

I'm wondering if you're referring to the sound a blow off valve makes. The venting of air through the valve making the characteristic psst psst (some say bgbg) of some previous generation turbo charged cars. It's main purpose, other than sounding bad ass, is to relief pressure from the intake side to protect the turbo.

The FXT (and many other current generation cars) do not have the bov. Instead we have a by pass valve (bpv) as stock. So you really shouldnt really hear pss pss when driving. Do check again and make sure it's not something leaky. :)

Of course, there are after market versions for you to switch out the stock bpv to a bov and get the kickass sound. Bro carhorn (he's the pro!) mentioned gfb, an Australian coy that makes one of these of our car.

Not a big fan of the psst psst sound but that's just me. Whatever floats your boat sirs! :)

I'm wondering if you're referring to the sound a blow off valve makes. The venting of air through the valve making the characteristic psst psst (some say bgbg) of some previous generation turbo charged cars. It's main purpose, other than sounding bad ass, is to relief pressure from the intake side to protect the turbo.

The FXT (and many other current generation cars) do not have the bov. Instead we have a by pass valve (bpv) as stock. So you really shouldnt really hear pss pss when driving. Do check again and make sure it's not something leaky. :)

Of course, there are after market versions for you to switch out the stock bpv to a bov and get the kickass sound. Bro carhorn (he's the pro!) mentioned gfb, an Australian coy that makes one of these of our car.

Not a big fan of the psst psst sound but that's just me. Whatever floats your boat sirs! :)

its a very faint pss sound which only occurs during fast and hard revs beyond 4k. may not always come out. when it does, i do feel the car surge forward. I thought its when the boost meter reading reaches a certain value then got this sound. The sound is not like those old wrx loud pissing sound. I also not a fan of loud cars. 

strangely, i only notice this when i'm on motul. the shell don't have this sound.

anyway, i don't worry so much and enjoy my ride. Can move fast enough to get the job done safety can liao. this is my first turbo Frosty. If it last well with reasonable maintenance costs, i will probably get another one after this one KO in 10 years time. heh. I feel that this engine has been de-tuned quite a bit and its far from its true potential. Probably, they took long term reliability into mind as it was meant as a compact family suv.

if anything were to fail, it will fail. let it be bah,

Edited by mrhan1982

its a very faint pss sound which only occurs during fast and hard revs beyond 4k. may not always come out. when it does, i do feel the car surge forward. I thought its when the boost meter reading reaches a certain value then got this sound. The sound is not like those old wrx loud pissing sound. I also not a fan of loud cars. 

strangely, i only notice this when i'm on motul. the shell don't have this sound.

anyway, i don't worry so much and enjoy my ride. Can move fast enough to get the job done safety can liao. this is my first turbo Frosty. If it last well with reasonable maintenance costs, i will probably get another one after this one KO in 10 years time. heh. I feel that this engine has been de-tuned quite a bit and its far from its true potential. Probably, they took long term reliability into mind as it was meant as a compact family suv.

Interesting. Specifically for the BOV sounds, it will come when turbo boost is active, and the driver releases the throttle. Something like the video below.

Anyway, do monitor to see if the sound you mention gets louder or change tone/sound. Especially since you intend to drive it for 10 years. Hearsay the stock bpv is somewhat leaky, and cannot hold boost steadily. :P

Another thing, if the sound is meant to be there, it shouldn't be engine oil specific also.  [;)]

Here's to 10 years of happy and spirited driving! [drivingcar]  [drivingcar]  

If i am given another chance to buy another subaru car in its current setup, i will go for the legacy/OB. The torque is linear and everyone can drive easier (FXT boost comes in at higher rpm unfortunately, if start at 2k rpm will be perfect) and can run Ron95 without knocking as i travel to different corners of malaysia regularly. Only issue is they dun come with memory seats. Interior legacy and OB is better and cleaner look

Rayoflight: stick to ur beemer. Dun change. FXT go body roll if u and ur butt are tuned to sedan

Bro.. doesnt xt also can run on ron95 without knocking? Manual n fuel cap shows ron95 can use

Lagi 'detuned' to 157hp @ wheels if use Ron95. Ron98 gives a higher value of 177whp though. Paper specs says 238hp @ crank.

Malaysia ron95 and SG ron95 got some diff. I can feel some knocking from MY ron95 at times. SG no issue.

Edited by Carhorn

Hi bro, how can I stop the engine without shutting down the power?

When you reach the place, your friend/wife not yet arrived/ready. You want to stop engine but continue to listen to music/radio. How can we do it?

Currently when I press that engine start/stop button, it will shut down everything. I need to press that button (without stepping in the brake pedal) again to get back the power.

Shift gear to N, press Engine Start/Stop.

After engine stopped. You can press brake and shift gear to P.

Seat back enjoy your music.

Lagi 'detuned' to 157hp @ wheels if use Ron95. Ron98 gives a higher value of 177whp though. Paper specs says 238hp @ crank.

Malaysia ron95 and SG ron95 got some diff. I can feel some knocking from MY ron95 at times. SG no issue.

FXT tuned down to 157hp.

Thats even lower than FNA?

Hi guys,

After reading the thread for the past few months, finally decided to bite the bullet and made an reservation for a quartz blue FXT.

Just wanted to say thanks to all the gurus who were able to provide insightful and detailed information to help me make a purchase decision.

Anyway, to help those who are still on the fence as to what MI is offering now, it's pretty standard. I signed at $120,200. The "freebies" I got are as follows:

- free first 3 servicing, 1/5/10K km.

- auto fold mirrors.

- blackvue camera (2 ch DR 430)

- solar film 

- mesh car mats. (this is that the salesperson told me, have no idea if it looks good or not)

Total was $119,800 with guaranteed COE.

I upgraded the blackvue camera @$300 to get DR 650 2chn (with wifi and GPS). Retained my current carplate @ $100 (payable to LTA).

I actually wanted to get the black edition (+$4688) but I realised I just wanted some safety/performance accessories instead of cosmetic upgrades. So I might install the strut bar @$750 and maybe get a few more small stuff, which probably will be cheaper than the black edition package. 

So far my only concern is the stock solar film. Any gurus can recommend a good solar film brand and the workshop to do it? 

Thanks. 

FXT tuned down to 157hp.

Thats even lower than FNA?

No lah. All these specs on paper shows hp @ crank. So FNA is probably less than 120bp @ wheels. Same for every car. Take abt 20% to 25% off published specs for all things real life when it comes to cars.

Just like fuel comsumption always advertised until si buay steady. But real life we all kena snooked. Haha.

Edited by Carhorn

like the sound of the turbo spooling la.

u go change to an open pod, confirm can hear gao gao. you can even hear the blow off.

Hi guys,

After reading the thread for the past few months, finally decided to bite the bullet and made an reservation for a quartz blue FXT.

Just wanted to say thanks to all the gurus who were able to provide insightful and detailed information to help me make a purchase decision.

Anyway, to help those who are still on the fence as to what MI is offering now, it's pretty standard. I signed at $120,200. The "freebies" I got are as follows:

- auto fold mirrors.

- solar film

- mesh car mats. (this is that the salesperson told me, have no idea if it looks good or not)

I upgraded the blackvue camera @$300 to get DR 650 2chn (with wifi and GPS). Retained my current carplate @ $100 (payable to LTA).

I actually wanted to get the black edition (+$4688) but I realised I just wanted some safety/performance accessories instead of cosmetic upgrades. So I might install the strut bar @$750 and maybe get a few more small stuff, which probably will be cheaper than the black edition package.

So far my only concern is the stock solar film. Any gurus can recommend a good solar film brand and the workshop to do it?

Thanks.

They allow u to just buy strut bar?

As for Blackvue, u may wanna check review if DR650 is stable, else might as well save the money and standby to buy replacement cameras.

Hi guys,

- auto fold mirrors.

- solar film 

Thanks. 

Did you ask what is the stock Solar Film?

If no good, can we top up for better.

I just book an FNA last week but forgot to ask this question.

Plan to ask once they secure the COE.

Someone in the forum mentioned that removal of the film for the back window have to be careful not to peel off the demister line.

Or ask them not to install, get a little rebate, think $50 and install outside.

But would prefer to top up and get MI to install a better film.

No need to find time to go down to other shops to do.

Hi guys,

- auto fold mirrors.

- solar film

Thanks.

Wow very good price, bro pm me your SE thanks

Did you ask what is the stock Solar Film?

If no good, can we top up for better.

I just book an FNA last week but forgot to ask this question.

Plan to ask once they secure the COE.

Someone in the forum mentioned that removal of the film for the back window have to be careful not to peel off the demister line.

Or ask them not to install, get a little rebate, think $50 and install outside.

But would prefer to top up and get MI to install a better film.

No need to find time to go down to other shops to do.

Stock solar film lots of Bros not happy but so far so good for me.. of course I supplement with laser shades. If you drive Everyday during afternoon .. then better take the $50.. and get a good one..

but will set you back quite a few hundreds for high IRR filtering.. heat is IRR not UV and not light..

As for TOP up of better solar film.. they don't ..

Hi guys,

- auto fold mirrors.

- solar film

Thanks.

3M crystalline.. not cheap though..$1k..

Hi guys,

- auto fold mirrors.

- solar film

Thanks.

Congrats. U will not regret getting xt. Lol

For windows film, if doing outside, might as well tell mi not to include it upfront, save the $50

Most window film installer charges another $50 to remove the film. So your total cost is actually another $100 if u intend to do it outside after ur window film is installed