2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Hi Andrew,

No learned answer to your doubt but I just trust them.

Perhaps because also no plan for hybrid or electric car nor interested in these green movements or stop eating sharkfin western thingies but sure hope our bukom island stays in production as we are one of the world's top refinery country else more shit that some hybrid cars with less VES rebates.

Cheera.

Richard

Haha, I have no claim to being a greenie especially since we are here whole time discussing how to have a better ride, and SUVs too.

Is just an excuse for them to collect more money.

They can just follow the international standard like EURO.

they can't follow EURO or JIS or whatever, else it will show up their stupidity and lack of knowledge...

they have to think of something complicated to confuse the general public and put forth impression that they are knowledgeable without having even an automotive industry in this country...

Hi Strato,

Rlogic or KSport from Racetech are fine and I am not adverse to Taiwanese BBK cos 8 year on JBT for estima also from Taiwanese was unevenful but sure, they do not have the feel good factors of more expensive AP, Brembo or Sparta commonly used in forester.  To me, spending 10k for bbk is something I cannot afford nor meaningful for a 120k car but no issue if I spend 50k on my ICE ... we all have our sickness ...keke !

Richard

i wonder if you are already looking at AP, why would you even consider unknown brands that are not proven in motorsports?

Brembos would probably be easiest due to choice of rotors and pads, not sure about AP Racing.

and easy to get Brembo from good workshops that are slightly used off STIs...

Agree. We are all resigned to paying through our nose for our cars and road usage, but when a car like the Toyota Prius is so disincentivized by a so-called "Vehicular Emissions Scheme" I wonder if the desire to collect money has gone overboard.

Christopher Tan:

"Even the Toyota Prius hybrid, which is touted as one of the cleanest cars available today, gets a Neutral banding in its current form. The car qualifies for the highest $30,000 rebate in the current CEVS.

Unless Toyota is able to come up with a cleaner variant, sales of the Prius might dry up next year. In fact, all other hybrids might face the same fate if their current engine specifications remain."

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/a-more-holistic-emissions-scheme

Actually there's no big deal in removing this 'subsidy'... many forget that it will affect the scrap price and it's not really a rebate.

We do pay for it .. it's just a deferred payment or 'loan'.

If the price goes up, either Hybrid / electric cars die off, or the sellers reduce the OMV in some other way.

If electric cars die off, then the government will have pie in their faces as they have been exhorting clean cars for the longest time..

they can't follow EURO or JIS or whatever, else it will show up their stupidity and lack of knowledge...

they have to think of something complicated to confuse the general public and put forth impression that they are knowledgeable without having even an automotive industry in this country...

i wonder if you are already looking at AP, why would you even consider unknown brands that are not proven in motorsports?

Brembos would probably be easiest due to choice of rotors and pads, not sure about AP Racing.

and easy to get Brembo from good workshops that are slightly used off STIs...

Hi Sarion,

Ksport is quite well known in usa tracking and hardly unknown imho with 12pot 400mm rotor, ceramic ones, forged rims etc. .. google and you will find out more including 5 yrs warranty on leakage and 10 yrs on wrap for my 6/4:

http://www.k-sportracing.com

AP 6/4 cheapest is 6k and I would not want used brembo/sti of unknown quality which are often 5 or more years old with at the most 6 mths warranty even from shops. The only one I had wanted is Sparta triton 6/4 but again, omv of 17k and almost 10k of bbk is sickness level like my 50k ICE ..keke !

At the same time 8 years of jbt big 4 of even less known in tracking for my scrapped estima as well as 2 years of rlogic in my qashqai have been fine and danty for street driving which gave me confident in the BRAND NEW 4k Ksport.

Lastly our bbk is just some pistons and not rocket science since we are not into F1 and if in industrial arena, the bbk even of sparta triton is probably worth 2k instead of 10k.

Cheers.

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Poseidon very rich. ð± 535 change to XT then change back 535... 350k -> 120k -> 350k

Another MCF middle income (more than 500k per year income)

Hi Chucky,

500k per annual based on 2015 ia top 2.2% and certainly not middle income I believe.

http://www.salary.sg/2015/compare-your-annual-income-2015/

Now I feel I am underpaid ...keke !

Cheers.

Richard

I felt quite stupid changing from 535i to XT and back to 535i again actually.

XT is a good car but I really cannot tahan the driver's seat, it's too small and uncomfortable (I'm not very big size btw). The other thing I don't like is the stereo, which sounded blur and muffled most of the time. Oh well.....my wife keeps reminding, "how much you paid for the XT only, don't keep comparing". Haha!

Actually there's no big deal in removing this 'subsidy'... many forget that it will affect the scrap price and it's not really a rebate.

We do pay for it .. it's just a deferred payment or 'loan'.

If the price goes up, either Hybrid / electric cars die off, or the sellers reduce the OMV in some other way.

If electric cars die off, then the government will have pie in their faces as they have been exhorting clean cars for the longest time..

I always feel singapore is the worse when it comes to rebates for clean cars. Even boleh land next door seems to be dealing better. And also somehow the omv of hybrid is always way higher. And plus the categorisation of Cat A and B by the bhp instead of by capacity is ridiculous imho.

XT is a good car but I really cannot tahan the driver's seat, it's too small and uncomfortable (I'm not very big size btw). The other thing I don't like is the stereo, which sounded blur and muffled most of the time. Oh well.....my wife keeps reminding, "how much you paid for the XT only, don't keep comparing". Haha!

My fren who drives a f30 320i test drive and had frequent rides on my fxt in the past. He has the same complains as u regarding fxt seats. I was quite surprise at his comments then. After comparing with his 320i seats and my current touran seats, I realise what he meant. The fxt like most Japanese cars have shorter and slightly narrower seats compared to conti cars. Conti cars in general has longer seats to provide better thigh support and are also wider such that they are able to encompass our whole bums nicely. Conti car seats are also firmer and I’ve grown to appreciate this when I do longer drives. They actually provide better support overall for my back compared to jap car seats.

Yes I also do agreed that the stock Hk system in fxt sounded muffled and poor quality compared to stock bmw speakers. In fact, even my vw stock speakers sounded a lot clearer.

My fren once test drove my fxt at speeds up to 15x km/hr. Then he brought me for a ride in his f30 at similar speeds. His commmets were not unjust. Handling and stability wise, totally no fight. I can totally understand your ‘suffering’ As a bmw turned fxt turned bmw owner.

Edited by mrhan1982

Thanks again for sharing your story. Yours is certainly a rare and interesting experience. Richard may be tempted to follow your footsteps?

My fren who drives a f30 320i test drive and had frequent rides on my fxt in the past. He has the same complains as u regarding fxt seats. I was quite surprise at his comments then. After comparing with his 320i seats and my current touran seats, I realise what he meant. The fxt like most Japanese cars have shorter and slightly narrower seats compared to conti cars. Conti cars in general has longer seats to provide better thigh support and are also wider such that they are able to encompass our whole bums nicely. Conti car seats are also firmer and I’ve grown to appreciate this when I do longer drives. They actually provide better support overall for my back compared to jap car seats.

Yes I also do agreed that the stock Hk system in fxt sounded muffled and poor quality compared to stock bmw speakers. In fact, even my vw stock speakers sounded a lot clearer.

My fren once test drove my fxt at speeds up to 15x km/hr. Then he brought me for a ride in his f30 at similar speeds. His commmets were not unjust. Handling and stability wise, totally no fight. I can totally understand your ‘suffering’ As a bmw turned fxt turned bmw owner.

You cannot really compare a suv to a sedan. Even at high speeds, sedan will have a higher downward force than a suv with high ground clearance.

I always feel singapore is the worse when it comes to rebates for clean cars. Even boleh land next door seems to be dealing better. And also somehow the omv of hybrid is always way higher. And plus the categorisation of Cat A and B by the bhp instead of by capacity is ridiculous imho.

Rebate, what is rebate....does it benefit our garman pocket? No right.

So you can forget of rebate.

You cannot really compare a suv to a sedan. Even at high speeds, sedan will have a higher downward force than a suv with high ground clearance.

Yup u r right. I’ve tried a x3 and q5. Both with their own awd. Even suv to suv, the fxt still loses out.

I used to say the fxt has no competitors in its price bracket. I was really happy with my fxt then. I believed that i paid for what I’ve gotten. Really no point comparing. Just be happy with what u have.

Yup u r right. I’ve tried a x3 and q5. Both with their own awd. Even suv to suv, the fxt still loses out.

I used to say the fxt has no competitors in its price bracket. I was really happy with my fxt then. I believed that i paid for what I’ve gotten. Really no point comparing. Just be happy with what u have.

Bro, again both car are at least $100k more than FXT. 

How to compare ?

For sure if the price different is close, all FXT buyer will buy X3 or Q5 already.

No point comparing lah.

Already a fact FXT is just a poor man performance SUV. That's all. You can't get any others similar performance SUV at it price.

FXT seat is the worst. Volvo seat is da best....

Looks like they incorporate the Outlook Design into the forester?

Looks more like ASCENT design to me..like father n son. 

Key point of interests : what is the new drive train spec ?

no Idea...

post-197023-0-29635800-1511512685_thumb.jpg

post-197023-0-43291100-1511512825_thumb.jpg