mrhan1982 4th Gear September 28, 2016 Share September 28, 2016 (edited) How does the FXT fair against the Beemer and Evoque. I know the Evoque is slightly perkier since it's lighter/smaller and has a better drivetrain. But the price Ive test driven the xdrive28i x3. It has similar specs 240bhp, 350nm torque as the fxt but weighs 1.8ton... It was priced at 230k after all discounts when I asked in May this year. Though similar paper specs, it's century sprint is 6.7s almost a Sec faster than fxt despite the additional 200kg weight. Impressive machine. Ruthlessly fast. But can feel that it is bulkier and steering is meatier too. Accelerator pedal feel is very different as it is the organ type. It has more depth compare to our floating type pedal. It feels like a bigger tank compared to fxt. Corning was superb with lesser body roll. Only bad is the suspension is rather hard despite in comfort mode. Seats were wide but hard and not very comfortable. Doors were very heavy and solid. Dun think any amount of door sound proofing on the fxt will help to match it. Strangely though, road noise was quite apparent though cabin was very quiet. Only thing is the price which was 110k more thAn my Fxt. Overall, I feel that it takes more effort to drive the x3 as I can feel the weight more. Though it's faster but u got to step deep into the accelerator to unleash it's full potential. Fxt is like its tamer cousin. It's more relaxing to drive. I guess there are some trade offs... Edited September 28, 2016 by mrhan1982 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Thanks regarding clarification on Siri. My WhatsApp calls are NOT routed to the HU speakers and mic. I'm not sure if my HU is Fuji ten, there is no indication anywhere. I only know that MI indicated it to be a Harmon Kardon system when I first placed order Let me double-check WhatsApp call behaviour. All 7-inch HUs in current-gen Subarus in Singapore are factory OEMs by Fuji Ten. Harmon Kardon only refers to the DSP/amp and speaker setups, which vary between different Subaru models. Eg, the 6-speaker non-DSP HK system in your Forester SJ is very different from the 8-speaker DSP HK one in my Legacy BN9 and the Outback BS9. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 (edited) Let me double-check WhatsApp call behaviour. All 7-inch HUs in current-gen Subarus in Singapore are factory OEMs by Fuji Ten. Harmon Kardon only refers to the DSP/amp and speaker setups, which vary between different Subaru models. Eg, the 6-speaker non-DSP HK system in your Forester SJ is very different from the 8-speaker DSP HK one in my Legacy BN9 and the Outback BS9. Huh!? U mean the hk system I've been enjoying so far is inferior to the one they put in legacy and outback? Tmd... I counted 8 speakers in my car and I got verify with mi before. Not sure about dsp. But I tot the hk setup is same for all models? I got 2 speakers on each rear door, 1 speaker on each front door and 2 speakers on dashboard. Total 8. Got 1 amp under front passenger seat. I just checked got dsp leh. http://www.harmankardon.com/content?ContentID=subaru-forester Edited September 29, 2016 by mrhan1982 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Ive test driven the xdrive28i x3. It has similar specs 240bhp, 350nm torque as the fxt but weighs 1.8ton... It was priced at 230k after all discounts when I asked in May this year. Though similar paper specs, it's century sprint is 6.7s almost a Sec faster than fxt despite the additional 200kg weight. Impressive machine. Ruthlessly fast. But can feel that it is bulkier and steering is meatier too. Accelerator pedal feel is very different as it is the organ type. It has more depth compare to our floating type pedal. It feels like a bigger tank compared to fxt. Corning was superb with lesser body roll. Only bad is the suspension is rather hard despite in comfort mode. Seats were wide but hard and not very comfortable. Doors were very heavy and solid. Dun think any amount of door sound proofing on the fxt will help to match it. Strangely though, road noise was quite apparent though cabin was very quiet. Only thing is the price which was 110k more thAn my Fxt. Overall, I feel that it takes more effort to drive the x3 as I can feel the weight more. Though it's faster but u got to step deep into the accelerator to unleash it's full potential. Fxt is like its tamer cousin. It's more relaxing to drive. I guess there are some trade offs... looks like transmission and torque curve plays a significant role in century sprint timings Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Huh!? U mean the hk system I've been enjoying so far is inferior to the one they put in legacy and outback? Tmd... I counted 8 speakers in my car and I got verify with mi before. Not sure about dsp. But I tot the hk setup is same for all models? I got 2 speakers on each rear door, 1 speaker on each front door and 2 speakers on dashboard. Total 8. Got 1 amp under front passenger seat. I just checked got dsp leh. http://www.harmankardon.com/content?ContentID=subaru-forester You are right about the number of speakers and DSP. Paiseh, I was thinking about the Levorg. Thank you for correcting me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JuzFXT 2nd Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 (edited) Huh!? U mean the hk system I've been enjoying so far is inferior to the one they put in legacy and outback? Tmd... I counted 8 speakers in my car and I got verify with mi before. Not sure about dsp. But I tot the hk setup is same for all models? I got 2 speakers on each rear door, 1 speaker on each front door and 2 speakers on dashboard. Total 8. Got 1 amp under front passenger seat. I just checked got dsp leh. http://www.harmankardon.com/content?ContentID=subaru-forester I think our version is not the higher end one. Cos sound quality not as good as xv too. That's a feedback from a friend who sit in a xv stock and our stock fxt Edited September 29, 2016 by JuzFXT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 (edited) want to beat the X3 x28 timing? Very simple.. just do a piggy back tune for the FXT.. up it to 300hp.. 400nm torque.. anytime 6secs sprint liao And best thing.. it doesn't even cost more than $1.5k to do it.. Unleash all the hidden horses.. anyway in normal driving conditions, there is no need to unleash all the horses. It might just improve FC due to tuning of air/fuel ratios Go back servicing...can just remove the piggyback if needed.. a well hidden piggyback also post no worries to the naked eye Thats the power of TC car.. Edited September 29, 2016 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 want to beat the X3 x28 timing? Very simple.. just do a piggy back tune for the FXT.. up it to 300hp.. 400nm torque.. anytime 6secs sprint liao And best thing.. it doesn't even cost more than $1.5k to do it.. Unleash all the hidden horses.. anyway in normal driving conditions, there is no need to unleash all the horses. It might just improve FC due to tuning of air/fuel ratios Go back servicing...can just remove the piggyback if needed.. a well hidden piggyback also post no worries to the naked eye Thats the power of TC car.. Will void warranty? Stay stock better la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 (edited) scared warranty den dont do anything la.. haha want more power but scared.. subaru engine so far has been very hardy.. wrx, legacy gt has proven that they can withstand very hard beatings.. no problem wan la stock car too boring boost controller.. can set low boost or high boost mode.. Edited September 29, 2016 by Rayoflight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Will void warranty? Stay stock better laPiggybacks don't void warranties unless you leave them installed when you send your car in for servicing. By definition, they leave no trace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Piggybacks don't void warranties unless you leave them installed when you send your car in for servicing. By definition, they leave no trace.That's good.. Any brand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vlanze 1st Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Any1 knows the brand of solar films which comes with the forester? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
havoline49 1st Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Any1 knows the brand of solar films which comes with the forester? I asked previously and was told AutoTint and claimed their in-house brand... My rex was on this as well and so far so good... Cheers... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Any1 knows the brand of solar films which comes with the forester?Autotint, but its the lowest grade. The film sucks, period. Many opted out to do their own... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
havoline49 1st Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 Autotint, but its the lowest grade. The film sucks, period. Many opted out to do their own... I had used it for closed to 10 years and I do agreed that it serve as to darken for the sake of darkening the glasses only and nothing else... at least there are no bubbles popping so far... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SJGDKK8 1st Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 How does the FXT fair against the Beemer and Evoque. I know the Evoque is slightly perkier since it's lighter/smaller and has a better drivetrain. But the price Actually if u drive all three of them with a same engine, 2 litre turbo... All 3 feels different... The feel of sprited drive. FXT on S mode feels more raw less refine but gives you a kick... Evoque is actually in my opinion, with the most turbo lag.. U get a surge and will take a while to get use to... BM is th best of three... Much more refine... Accel linear but those who like a sprite drive might not hear much engine... Other issue Evoque is really Wide and damn hard to park... The head room is pretty bad too... Lastly, the rear space is worst of 3... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 (edited) I had used it for closed to 10 years and I do agreed that it serve as to darken for the sake of darkening the glasses only and nothing else... at least there are no bubbles popping so far...you mean your film is dark? At least autotint gave you a dark one 9years ago. The current solar film they used for motorimage is so bad its not even dark! My colleagues can still suan me say am I sure got solar film... Haiz... Not sure if Autotint standard drop or MI contract the cheapest film to cut cost! Edited September 29, 2016 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear September 29, 2016 Share September 29, 2016 That's good.. Any brand?RSChip, Race Chip, Unichip, Spider and ProRacing are some of the more common piggybacks available here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...