2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Would just like to share this for general info, as I used the difference in FC to decide between which cars to get. Of course there are also other non-$ factors (e.g. SUV vs hatchback vs sedan), but let's ignore that for now.

1) Assuming travel around 1,400 km per month.

2) Difference in 4 km/liter FC will translate into additional ~70 liters of fuel for the less fuel efficient car.

[E.g. 7 km/liter FC car will need 200 litres/mth but 11 km/liter FC car will need ~128 litres/mth]

3) Assume $1.6/liter 95RON petrol, after all the credit card discount, etc.

4) This translates to about difference in ~$110 per month or around $1,300~$1,400 per year.

5) Assuming 10-year ownership, this translate into difference in running cost of $13,000~$14,000.

Insead of compounding the total running cost, you should touch your and ask do you mind spending $100 more a month to drive a car you like, or prefer to drive a car that makes u feel happy when you see your bills.

If u want SUV, and good FC,got for harrier lo,or lexus NX hybrid

I would say, FC is nv the stength of subaru, but fun is. So you need to determine the trade off.

Look at it this way, FNA and Tucson are basicallu the same car, but FNA is cheaper, and yet more fun to drive whereas tucson is more matured

Actually bro the forester does well as a MPV too unless you are sure you need seven seats.

No other car gives you the same bhp per dollar in its class.

So did you buy the wish?

Or maybe the BMW 216 GT?

Agree with you totally... the handling just cannot be match by the rest in the same class..... whatever  I get, will miss it..... but impt to listen and respect the wishes of the wife... haaa....... end of the day, its all for her and the kids.... 

No I don't really need a 7 seater, and no I did not buy the Wish cause wife dislike it....  [rolleyes]

Zoom Zoom.....  [laugh]  [:p] .... nothing close to Forester but comfy and spacious ride for them.... 

Ah, Mazda 5 then.. good car.. let us know how it goes and what's the servicing like at TEK...  all the best bro  [thumbsup]

Thanks bro.... and appreciate all your kind guidance.... guess the SE at Zoom Zoom more hungry for sales. haaa.... offer quite a good overall deal.... actually was not about to walk away from Forester and talk to the SE to see if can offer me some reasonable deal.... but they not keen and instead up $5000 from the last quoted price...

Oh btw, not Mazda 5, her bigger Sis..... heeee.... [:p]  

Ah Mazda Biante..

Odd that MI is increasing their prices.. maybe that's just the SRP, and you can get that 122k if you press them.

It's hardly a time for dealers to up their prices, unless they are trying to build in a bit more margin to secure the COE as the quota drops.. 

I guess these companies want to adopt the Kah / BMW etc models where they don't play the top up game or get associated with unsuccessful COE bids. 

Enjoy the new ride  [:)]

Thanks bro.... and appreciate all your kind guidance.... guess the SE at Zoom Zoom more hungry for sales. haaa.... offer quite a good overall deal.... actually was not about to walk away from Forester and talk to the SE to see if can offer me some reasonable deal.... but they not keen and instead up $5000 from the last quoted price...

Oh btw, not Mazda 5, her bigger Sis..... heeee.... [:p]

Good family car ! What color ?

Lol..seems I opened a can of worms...i got my car in early july...so far my mileage is just over 10k...need to travel around quite frequently daily so u can do the maths...my current life fc is 8.5l/100km with 95, but seems quite easy to achieve below 8l/100km with 98...I am just comparing with my own driving habit over these few month, which comes to this finding...of course ppl HV different driving patterns...since is a forum, we can all share our own experience, nothing right or wrong...to me this fc is quite decent to my expectation, no regrets. If anyone want to find lower fc, feel free to try other cars. No hard feelings. They are all great and unique.

Anyway,of course I cannot expect those mileage saved can overcome the extra spending from 95 to 98. But since I intend to drive this car for 10 years or even more, why can't I treat it better and give a more sweet when she is working~

Cheers all~ :)

What's yr ave mileage per mth?

I suppose it may be more meaningful to compare fc across different petrol types by div distance/cost of petol used?? Eg if ron98 gives better mileage of 5% but cost 10% more... dist/cost would be more meaningful?

Daily at least 60+kms to fetch baby and wife....plus going on site frequently...monthly 2k+ lio...hard working car...

Can share what's the improvement like?

At least 5% I guess based on my experience? But can't expect more... haha

It's a fact that fuel is not cheap in singapore. but if you really worry about the difference of 3-4km/L in FC, you may be stretching your finance to drive a car in the first place.

Worrying about FC may not mean stretched finances.. one is curious what's the FC could be doing in real term.. Nobody likes to pay more.. I also worry why FC sometimes so bad so just want to improve. Really hate to spend $500 a month on fuel but who does right?

Agree with you totally... the handling just cannot be match by the rest in the same class..... whatever I get, will miss it..... but impt to listen and respect the wishes of the wife... haaa....... end of the day, its all for her and the kids....

No I don't really need a 7 seater, and no I did not buy the Wish cause wife dislike it.... [rolleyes]

Zoom Zoom..... [laugh][:p] .... nothing close to Forester but comfy and spacious ride for them....

If don't need MPV for the 7 seat but buy an MPV simply because Wife prefers it, or maybe having the flexibility of possibly ferry 7 pax...

And you prefer Forester but chooses to listen to Wife, yet the person who drive the car is you mostly.....

I'm pretty sure you will still think if FXT after taking delivery of the MPV...

And the only time will feel happy when driving the MPV is when at that occasional moment where one ferry 7-8 pax to fully utilise the MPV seats..

It's your money... Think some more Lor... Now if you are 35, 10 years later 45 Liao... That time then drive tiong chia meh??

I got 3 colleagues who bought a new car in the past 2 months. 2 of them tried many cars and bought the car that their wife likes even though it is not their top choice. When I asked them if their wife drives the car, both also said no. After collecting their cars, they already start regretting but LL as they have to drive the car for 10 years like their old ride.

If you are going to drive the car most of the time, strongly suggest to go with your heart. If you only need the extra 2 seats once in a blue moon, better to pay for the taxi ride for the 2 and get a 5 seater. No joy to drive a big car alone most of the time. Have you ever heard of any MPV driver saying their ride is shiok before? Hope I don't offend anyone here.

Yes I tried it. BMW does live up to its name as the ultimate driving machine. Not the best in looks but the practicality, space and function are good. Good feel plastics too. Toyota six speed gearbox is smooth. Diesel engine has good pull although you need to step a bit to bring up the power.

But it's about 40-30k more..

Nope not really. With high overtrade the price difference is only around 10 to 20k. One of my fren just bought the GT. Meeting him over the weekends and hopefully can give some insight on the ride. Edited by Pocus

Nope not really. With high overtrade the price difference is only around 10 to 20k. One of my fren just bought the GT. Meeting him over the weekends and hopefully can give some insight on the ride.

didn't they just advertise today for 128k? or is that 1series?....

Are you sure that you aren't talking about the Active Tourer bro? That one has a nett price in the region of 145k.. Cheers

Yup, that's the one, the 7seater. 145k is about right.

Issit that 10 to 20k diff from FXT?

Sorry my FXT is with 60k COE so higher cost

Edited by Pocus

I got 3 colleagues who bought a new car in the past 2 months. 2 of them tried many cars and bought the car that their wife likes even though it is not their top choice. When I asked them if their wife drives the car, both also said no. After collecting their cars, they already start regretting but LL as they have to drive the car for 10 years like their old ride.

If you are going to drive the car most of the time, strongly suggest to go with your heart. If you only need the extra 2 seats once in a blue moon, better to pay for the taxi ride for the 2 and get a 5 seater. No joy to drive a big car alone most of the time. Have you ever heard of any MPV driver saying their ride is shiok before? Hope I don't offend anyone here.

In this car, the driver is quite sad. Paying for something that he does not enjoy/nor is his top pick. Some more need to continue maintaining something which he doesn't like. 

Go with the heart not the mind. At least you know you will steal another glance at your car after locking and walking away. 

Nope not really. With high overtrade the price difference is only around 10 to 20k. One of my fren just bought the GT. Meeting him over the weekends and hopefully can give some insight on the ride.

Forums have giving heaps of praises to the 2GT and 2AT. Maybe its time to swing by PML today to have a look. 

well ... i think my 7 seater is quite shiok to drive

Yup, that's the one, the 7seater. 145k is about right.

Issit that 10 to 20k diff from FXT?

Sorry my FXT is with 60k COE so higher cost

Bro the Active Tourer is the five seater version, and goes for around 145 whilst the seven seater version is about 10-15k more.. Cheers