Carhorn 5th Gear July 17, 2019 Share July 17, 2019 woah richard, ur wheel bearings up lorry so early at 43k km? could be too many suspension mods to stiffen ride. kekekekeke ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
a_freon 1st Gear July 17, 2019 Share July 17, 2019 Hi Freon, Indeed ymmv with only you know how much stability vs compliant and again adjustable cusco touring dampers helps tremendously to acheive your preference, including adjusting to 30/30 or 40/40 in my case within pink for max stability on nshwy. Thanks for the stock arb but another fna kaki will pass his stock one to rsr kaki with swap to cusco one while rsr kaki takes my wrx sti one. Just collected my ride from ah keong of bks woodlands with all 4 new ntn japan bearings that may or may not be used by Subaru Japan, back to front cusco arb while rear arb remain stock as well as the sti rear flexible stiffener .. this is best ride experienced so far with back to firm and sharp sharp handling/steering due to front cusco arb, quiet ride free of wonk wonk whispering with new bearings after 43k km as well as more compliant rear with the flexible rear stiffener. Cheers. Richard No worries. My stock ARB is just sitting in the storeroom collecting dust so I thought I’d ask. (: My ride has this irritating “tightening” sound whenever I make a right turn up a slope in a MSCP or when the turn is more than 90deg. This “tightening”sound has been there since I was on the stock shock absorbers as well. I’ve changed a drive shaft since but it comes and goes. Bearings and bushings are all in good condition. Not too sure where else I can go to get this settled. The sound did go away for a while after I installed the magic collars but not sure how to relate this. Could it be some nuts working itself loose during the drive causing some parts of the body to be loose and have the “tightening” sound I don’t know. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear July 17, 2019 Share July 17, 2019 Guys, just got my throttle body replaced today on my FXT, mileage was 52k km. Since yesterday i was having P2119 fault code whenever i was on boost, sometimes even at 0.1bar. Symptoms were that the car was sluggish and revs dont climb smoothly and hesitation abound. Turned out that the throttle actuator was not opening correctly according to amount of throttle input as it was malfunctioning. Eg. - if turbo spools say 0.1bar compressed air going into engine but MAP received way less than the 0.1bar due to malfunctioning throttle actuator not opening enough to let that 0.1bar air through, then boom fault course triggered at every boost. I could hear the faulty throttle actuator go clicking when i switch on ignition. Whereas the new one gave a smooth motorised sound. A brand new made in Japan throttle body assembly that came with actuator costed me $500 to install. Ouch! Just a heads up for Forester owners. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 17, 2019 Share July 17, 2019 No worries. My stock ARB is just sitting in the storeroom collecting dust so I thought Iâd ask. (: My ride has this irritating âtighteningâ sound whenever I make a right turn up a slope in a MSCP or when the turn is more than 90deg. This âtighteningâsound has been there since I was on the stock shock absorbers as well. Iâve changed a drive shaft since but it comes and goes. Bearings and bushings are all in good condition. Not too sure where else I can go to get this settled. The sound did go away for a while after I installed the magic collars but not sure how to relate this. Could it be some nuts working itself loose during the drive causing some parts of the body to be loose and have the âtighteningâ sound I donât know. Hi Freon, Sorry to hear about this "tightening" sound but BKS and BMS cannot resolve it ? Been back to MI ? Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
a_freon 1st Gear July 17, 2019 Share July 17, 2019 Hi Freon, Sorry to hear about this "tightening" sound but BKS and BMS cannot resolve it ? Been back to MI ? Cheers. Richard Hi Richard, I went to BKS when I first noticed this sound. Keong and I then went for a test drive and he mentioned my drive shaft may have an issue so I had my right forward drive shaft replaced. The sound is still there after replacement and then it was mentioned that it could probably be the suspension, therefore having replaced to the Cusco Touring As. Before the installation of the Touring As, I had the magic collars installed and I spoke to Steven from AK about this sound but he mentioned he did not hear anything when he test drove the car after installing those collars. True enough the sound was gone when I drove back home and it stayed this way for a week or so. But now the dreaded sound is back after the Touring As were installed. I’ve yet to seek opinion from either BKS or BMS since all these installations were done. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 18, 2019 Share July 18, 2019 (edited) Hi Richard, I went to BKS when I first noticed this sound. Keong and I then went for a test drive and he mentioned my drive shaft may have an issue so I had my right forward drive shaft replaced. The sound is still there after replacement and then it was mentioned that it could probably be the suspension, therefore having replaced to the Cusco Touring As. Before the installation of the Touring As, I had the magic collars installed and I spoke to Steven from AK about this sound but he mentioned he did not hear anything when he test drove the car after installing those collars. True enough the sound was gone when I drove back home and it stayed this way for a week or so. But now the dreaded sound is back after the Touring As were installed. Iâve yet to seek opinion from either BKS or BMS since all these installations were done. Hi Freon, Coincidentally, my kaki with rsr + cusco touring A as well as magic collar also struggling with some intermittent undercarriage noise when going down mscp which I believe is from the passenger side ... will PM his contact to you and do call him .. a cool dude ... to compare notes to resolve this issue. Cheers. Richard Edited July 18, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
a_freon 1st Gear July 18, 2019 Share July 18, 2019 Hi Freon, Coincidentally, my kaki with rsr + cusco touring A as well as magic collar also struggling with some intermittent undercarriage noise when going down mscp which I believe is from the passenger side ... will PM his contact to you and do call him .. a cool dude ... to compare notes to resolve this issue. Cheers. Richard Hi Richard, Thanks for always reaching out to help in anyway you can! The sound has been bothering me since I got my car (second hand) so I don’t think it’s those Touring As that’s causing the issue. Nonetheless, still trying to figure that one out. Not sure if any of my ball joints or bushings need some greasing although they’re in good condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 18, 2019 Share July 18, 2019 (edited) woah richard, ur wheel bearings up lorry so early at 43k km? could be too many suspension mods to stiffen ride. kekekekekeHi Carhorn, Not sure if you read on my ocd noise sickness and my faulty left bearing right after car collection which led to my fairly in depth experience on then commonly available tyres for our fxt. I changed from stock tyres to pirelli scorpion verdes cos changed rim and the stock tyres sucks. I changed again to conti cpc 6 before changing again to primacy 3 st within 5k km cos there was this faint wonk wonk sound especially on the left side which those few workshops I seek help from, including tyres shops, advised it was inavoidable tyres pitching sound after several test drives which I did not accept. In the end, it was faulty left bearing which MI replaced under warranty despite installed bbk, rim etc. after some amiable discussion but onto 4th sets of tyres within 2-3 months of owning my fxt :( All was fine and then I had failed front bushings with shuddering steering at>95kmhr around bends few weeks ago which seems common with at least 2 kakis at 50k+ replacing theirs also recently. With all front 4 bushings changed to sg version reportedly more robust then our sj ones, car was exceptionally quiet and then faint wonk wonk sound in no particular directions became obvious and I had to resolve it .. hence got the confirmed made in Japan ones from NTN to replace all. NTN is reportedly used as Subaru's stock bearing but it is also reportedly from both Japan and MIC .. I need to get rid of same doubtful batch of stock bearings as my mentioned dead-on-arrival (DOA) failed left bearing to have a peace of mind and ears. Was test driving at 2am last nite for final confirmation that after slightly more than sgd600 spent, there is no longer any wonk wonk sound .. zero .. except perhaps little tyres noise from already 43k km michelin primacy 3 st that I am still holding back change cos no longer available and current primacy 4 st is of different thread design and noise level despite Michellin's marketing claim of them being 0.5db quieter .. I am having them in my fairly new mazda 6 to experience them but decision has to be made soon with profile 55 targeted instead of current 50. I do love my fxt and hope this clarifies my change of all bearings at 43k km .. absolutely fine for those who tested my car, including head scratching ah keong but I have to drive it every day with my ocd sickness and I am also one who is willing to spend big sgd800 for rear flexible sti stiffeners which I can confirm further notable reduction in harshness especially since I oreli have the sti flexible subframe link/arm which I also highly recommend to address the chronic ride compliant issue or simply remove it with some loss in handling since fna dun even have it as also advised to bro freon on my many experienced abruptness of rsr springs when poor quality roads or humps need to be engaged .. unfortunately too often for me. Cheers. Richard Edited July 18, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 18, 2019 Share July 18, 2019 Hi Richard, Thanks for always reaching out to help in anyway you can! The sound has been bothering me since I got my car (second hand) so I donât think itâs those Touring As thatâs causing the issue. Nonetheless, still trying to figure that one out. Not sure if any of my ball joints or bushings need some greasing although theyâre in good condition. Hey Freon, My pleasure .. I also learned and was helped many times by bros here else would have wasted more time and $. I had informed my kaki with rsr, touring A dampers, magic collars etc. as well as brand new bushings which is very much like you set up with mentioned intermittent front undercarriage noise when coming doen mscp i.e. engaged turning to expect a call .. finger crossed albiet likely to be different reasons oso but no harm I think to exchange notes. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carhorn 5th Gear July 18, 2019 Share July 18, 2019 Thanks for explaining I hv heard many XT bros having their wheel bearings failed around 70-80k km Hvnt hear much from the FNA folks. If XT and FNA share the same wheel bearing parts, I am trying to understand why our XT has a higher rate of failure. Or is it we make the ride too stiff hence more failure elsewhere? How much did Ah Keong charge for the wheel bearings? Concerned my ride will hv the same issue too. approaching 70k km 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear July 18, 2019 Share July 18, 2019 Thanks for explaining I hv heard many XT bros having their wheel bearings failed around 70-80k km Hvnt hear much from the FNA folks. If XT and FNA share the same wheel bearing parts, I am trying to understand why our XT has a higher rate of failure. Or is it we make the ride too stiff hence more failure elsewhere? How much did Ah Keong charge for the wheel bearings? Concerned my ride will hv the same issue too. approaching 70k km https://oards.com/causes-of-wheel-bearing-noise/ Besides those in the above website, using aftermarket wheels with lower offset (ie. protrudes out more) is also another reason as it puts more stress on the wheel hubs. My guess is FNA is 17” tyres which cushion road imperfections better. Also, most of FNA i’ve seen are still on stock rims. No point worrying. If it happens, just replace them. Enjoy the ride and drive safe! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 18, 2019 Share July 18, 2019 (edited) Thanks for explaining I hv heard many XT bros having their wheel bearings failed around 70-80k km Hvnt hear much from the FNA folks. If XT and FNA share the same wheel bearing parts, I am trying to understand why our XT has a higher rate of failure. Or is it we make the ride too stiff hence more failure elsewhere? How much did Ah Keong charge for the wheel bearings? Concerned my ride will hv the same issue too. approaching 70k km Hi Carhorn, Make sense that fxt being stiffer setup fails more especially with stiffer springs, dampers, coilover, wider and lower profile tyres etc. etc.... at least seller of ntn japan bearings advised same bearings for both fna and fxt and I do trust them. Hence fxt also have high torque cvt unlike fna .. but kaki's ride at 60k km leak liao and MI warranty repair included pump but down 3 days but good to check. Frankly it depends how anal you are on wonk wonk and good to know 70-80k km up lorry as I am not aware. Bought bearing at 95 each and sgd600+ including Ah Keong's installation .. not sure how much or where Ah Keong's bearings are sourced except mentioned as Japan which should be the same. Chèers. Richard Edited July 18, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 19, 2019 Share July 19, 2019 Hi Bros, Just did my 40k km servicr under service package and pleasantly surpelrised with all the work done ... various oil change and even clean throttle body and air flow sensor. Btw, going this weekend for subaru festival to sign next package cos promo is 5 services instead of usual 4 and can just add on to previous package to bring it to the more expensive 100k km service items with spark plug, cvt oil etc. change etc. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycar1234 1st Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 I went to car service recently and request them to blow the aircon filter as their selling price really too expensive. 2 weeks later when I got my new filter and changed it myself, shock that the filter was so dusty, first thing in my mind was they never did it. I wrote to complain and after a month of investigation the customer service called to explain that the workshop told them they do did the job, the dust was collected within 2 weeks as it is possible I went to dusty environment. I am not expert on this, but ask me to believed in this answer I really can't accept it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mycar1234 1st Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 (edited) Hi Bros, Just did my 40k km servicr under service package and pleasantly surpelrised with all the work done ... various oil change and even clean throttle body and air flow sensor. Btw, going this weekend for subaru festival to sign next package cos promo is 5 services instead of usual 4 and can just add on to previous package to bring it to the more expensive 100k km service items with spark plug, cvt oil etc. change etc. Cheers. Richard Don't fully believe in what printed on the slip. Edited July 21, 2019 by mycar1234 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 I went to car service recently and request them to blow the aircon filter as their selling price really too expensive. 2 weeks later when I got my new filter and changed it myself, shock that the filter was so dusty, first thing in my mind was they never did it. I wrote to complain and after a month of investigation the customer service called to explain that the workshop told them they do did the job, the dust was collected within 2 weeks as it is possible I went to dusty environment. I am not expert on this, but ask me to believed in this answer I really can't accept it.Where did you service your car? Motorimage ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Epsilon 2nd Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 Hi Bros, Just did my 40k km servicr under service package and pleasantly surpelrised with all the work done ... various oil change and even clean throttle body and air flow sensor. Btw, going this weekend for subaru festival to sign next package cos promo is 5 services instead of usual 4 and can just add on to previous package to bring it to the more expensive 100k km service items with spark plug, cvt oil etc. change etc. Cheers. Richard Hi Richard, MI change the brake fluid and bleed it? I thought you have BBK and usually anything that is not original they will not touch. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 21, 2019 Share July 21, 2019 (edited) Hi Richard, MI change the brake fluid and bleed it? I thought you have BBK and usually anything that is not original they will not touch. Hi Epsilon, Yes, I do have bbk and while I was not there to witness it, I do believe that they did so .. it is part of 40k km service requirement. Anything not done is typically clearly communicated during the handling over with the SE. Cheers. Richard Edited July 21, 2019 by richard_crl032 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...