U384 Clutched October 7, 2018 Share October 7, 2018 It is amusing to know your friends associate Samsung (Korean) as a higher tier phone while dismissing Hyundai (Korean) as a lower tier car. Look at how the Koreans dominate the showbiz/smart phone/electrical appliances etc etc Having driven the Elantra, Sunny, Corolla and Mazda, surely you have a good gauge on how good / bad the Korean car is ? It must be enjoyable enough for you to reconsider the Korean car as your next ride. My impression of Tucson is, it is handsomely styled, has a roomy interior, good Euro NCAP safety rating and comes with reasonable acceleration etc. Go test drive your short listed models. End of the day you have to see which car tick the most box and not let those baseless stigma get into you. Double Thumbs up! When I finally grab the Elantra during 2015 motor show package, I was disappointed with the slower development with the Jap cars, too conservative design. I go for looks, Elantra vs Civic, Corolla, etc. Elantra was so simply too irresistible and I starting to target it 2-3 years before. We face the interior most of the time, I really prefer a more attractive one than a boring one. I test drove the Tucson twice, once last year and delayed my decision due to my loan on Elantra but better still, just last month I chance upon the facelifted Tucson just released for test drive. A little let down there is no ventilated seats but it’s keeping up to date with all other features. Lol showbiz is a really good comparison. If you do watch some k drama like myself, I am really impressed with the totally out-of-the-box plots they are capable of. Scripts full of new ideas. Lol don’t care what the others think, just go for it, now im thinking getting the silvet or the white ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
U384 Clutched October 7, 2018 Share October 7, 2018 Those who still think Korean cars are "no good" are still living in the past. It is only recently that Toyota and Honda started to redesign their old fashion cars to compete with Hyundai and Kia.. As a entire package, Korean cars now are either on par or exceed Japanese makes in some areas. Given a choice, my next car will be a Korean. No right or wrong but I won't say Japanese GOOD and Korean NO GOOD. My choice.. was either the Tucson, or switch to the facelifted K3. Both are attractive and having features I like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear October 7, 2018 Share October 7, 2018 My choice.. was either the Tucson, or switch to the facelifted K3. Both are attractive and having features I like.Good choice and both qualified alternatives to the usual Japanese makes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurrypokteh 1st Gear October 9, 2018 Share October 9, 2018 Double Thumbs up! When I finally grab the Elantra during 2015 motor show package, I was disappointed with the slower development with the Jap cars, too conservative design. I go for looks, Elantra vs Civic, Corolla, etc. Elantra was so simply too irresistible and I starting to target it 2-3 years before. We face the interior most of the time, I really prefer a more attractive one than a boring one. I test drove the Tucson twice, once last year and delayed my decision due to my loan on Elantra but better still, just last month I chance upon the facelifted Tucson just released for test drive. A little let down there is no ventilated seats but itâs keeping up to date with all other features. Lol showbiz is a really good comparison. If you do watch some k drama like myself, I am really impressed with the totally out-of-the-box plots they are capable of. Scripts full of new ideas. Lol donât care what the others think, just go for it, now im thinking getting the silvet or the white ð¬ Bro no need to so headache on the exterior colors lah, go wrap the whole car in matt or metallic finish to your favourite color and problem solved. We have a few 2017 Tucsons fully wrapped in various designs and we are all in a watsapp chatgrp. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
U384 Clutched October 17, 2018 Share October 17, 2018 Bro no need to so headache on the exterior colors lah, go wrap the whole car in matt or metallic finish to your favourite color and problem solved. We have a few 2017 Tucsons fully wrapped in various designs and we are all in a watsapp chatgrp.Lol bro. Im in the Elantra club. Saw many zhng indeed. Im more pai seh and only did the LEDs. First time in my life until almost 50yo then “zhng”.. hahahaha. Never knew got clubs like this until bought the Elantra n did a random check on HL lights. Very disappointed with the workmanship though.. The logo lights and fog lights keep failing until i gave up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 I'm seriously in dilemma of Tucson 1.6T and new Forester 2.0, believe most of in this thread will be in Tucson, please advise why do you choose Tucson over Forester Tucson wins over Forester points: Engine power, 175hp vs 156hp, 265Nm vs 198Nm road tax, 1.6L vs 2.0L, $738 vs $1208 Fuel Consumption, 14.1 vs 15.3 (highly doubt), Transmission: DCT vs CVT Forester Wins over Tucson points: Drivetrains: AWD vs FWD Safety: 7 Airbags vs 6 Airbags Price: Tucson 1.6T: 115k --- 122k New Forester: 110k --- 120k ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 I'm seriously in dilemma of Tucson 1.6T and new Forester 2.0, believe most of in this thread will be in Tucson, please advise why do you choose Tucson over Forester Tucson wins over Forester points: Engine power, 175hp vs 156hp, 265Nm vs 198Nm road tax, 1.6L vs 2.0L, $738 vs $1208 Fuel Consumption, 14.1 vs 15.3 (highly doubt), Transmission: DCT vs CVT Forester Wins over Tucson points: Drivetrains: AWD vs FWD Safety: 7 Airbags vs 6 Airbags Price: Tucson 1.6T: 115k --- 122k New Forester: 110k --- 120k ??? You won't be able to feel the difference between AWD and FWD, but you will greatly regret the CVT when you want to zham accelerator. Go take a test drive and you will understand how underwhelming the CVT is for performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
westwest1 1st Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 I'm seriously in dilemma of Tucson 1.6T and new Forester 2.0, believe most of in this thread will be in Tucson, please advise why do you choose Tucson over Forester Tucson wins over Forester points: Engine power, 175hp vs 156hp, 265Nm vs 198Nm road tax, 1.6L vs 2.0L, $738 vs $1208 Fuel Consumption, 14.1 vs 15.3 (highly doubt), Transmission: DCT vs CVT Forester Wins over Tucson points: Drivetrains: AWD vs FWD Safety: 7 Airbags vs 6 Airbags Price: Tucson 1.6T: 115k --- 122k New Forester: 110k --- 120k ??? forester $89+++ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 (edited) You won't be able to feel the difference between AWD and FWD, but you will greatly regret the CVT when you want to zham accelerator. Go take a test drive and you will understand how underwhelming the CVT is for performance. Tucson's DCT also is another uncertain point for me, someone advise even German cannot handle DCT well, how confident Korean will be,even if Korea won Germany 2:0 in 2018 World cup Edited October 21, 2018 by MQX87511 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 You won't be able to feel the difference between AWD and FWD, but you will greatly regret the CVT when you want to zham accelerator. Go take a test drive and you will understand how underwhelming the CVT is for performance.Totally agree with you on the cvt on the FNA. I test drove it and it is not to my liking. Cheaper price as compared to Tucson, yes. But, to regret buying it lasts 10 years. However, if one is not into engaging drive and just need a A to B car with a huge family space, FNA is a fabulous buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ceecookie 5th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 Tucson's DCT also is another uncertain point for me, someone advise even German cannot handle DCT well, how confident Korean will beï¼even if Korea won Germany 2:0 in 2018 World cup Hyundai programmed the DCT to shift slower, and there's a temp monitor to warn you if internal temp get too high. Most of the DCT issues are from VAG vehicles coz their DSG shift gear lightning fast. Result in faster 0-100 timings but wear and tear is greatly accelerated. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 (edited) Those who still think Korean cars are "no good" are still living in the past. It is only recently that Toyota and Honda started to redesign their old fashion cars to compete with Hyundai and Kia.. As a entire package, Korean cars now are either on par or exceed Japanese makes in some areas. Given a choice, my next car will be a Korean. No right or wrong but I won't say Japanese GOOD and Korean NO GOOD. Indeed, this group of "Korean no good, Jap best" people are still living in the past. Not just in SG, but other parts of the world, there are such people with such impression. I am a 9.5 year old Korean ride owner, and I can attest the Korean's build is reliable and still decent. Most who have switched to Korean's ride will agree and glad they have enjoyed and made the move, while those who thinks Japs still superior bought something more for less. And some of them who thinks Korean rides and build still behind the Japs, actually haven't sat in or drove one for a feel. But such argument will go on and in the end, it is us, as consumers who spend the money. So it is better to visit the showrooms, have a look at the cars, do some research on their engineering and do a test drive to have a much more truthful gauge. I got to say other than engine fuel efficiency, the Koreans have already overtaken the Japs. Hyundai is able to source and build everything in house under the "Hyundai" umbrella. And that tells their strength and ability to improve over the Japanese. But Toyota is fighting hard in the recent years with the "TNGA" engineering and daring to change styling and I felt Hyundai, especially with the "Ex- Audi" designer has better wake up and stop revolutionising his boring "Audi" DNA to Hyundai cars, something which I have never thought attractive in any ways since this "Fluidic Design version two" was introduced. I still felt the first "Fluidic Design version one" where the Elantra MD, i45, etc, that generation range with their truly Korean designer brings out the best and most character in Hyundai design ever. Edited October 21, 2018 by Heartbreakid 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurrypokteh 1st Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 Lol bro. Im in the Elantra club. Saw many zhng indeed. Im more pai seh and only did the LEDs. First time in my life until almost 50yo then âzhngâ.. hahahaha. Never knew got clubs like this until bought the Elantra n did a random check on HL lights. Very disappointed with the workmanship though.. The logo lights and fog lights keep failing until i gave up. Actually we just had a new member joined last week also came from Elantra Car Club one leh...Colin Chia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixus75 3rd Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 Hyundai programmed the DCT to shift slower, and there's a temp monitor to warn you if internal temp get too high. Most of the DCT issues are from VAG vehicles coz their DSG shift gear lightning fast. Result in faster 0-100 timings but wear and tear is greatly accelerated. What can the driver do if the internal temperature is too high? Stop the car? or there is some remediation actions? Tucson is one of my considerations but I have concerns on dry clutch. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contipro 5th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 I'm seriously in dilemma of Tucson 1.6T and new Forester 2.0, believe most of in this thread will be in Tucson, please advise why do you choose Tucson over Forester Tucson wins over Forester points: Engine power, 175hp vs 156hp, 265Nm vs 198Nm road tax, 1.6L vs 2.0L, $738 vs $1208 Fuel Consumption, 14.1 vs 15.3 (highly doubt), Transmission: DCT vs CVT Forester Wins over Tucson points: Drivetrains: AWD vs FWD Safety: 7 Airbags vs 6 Airbags Price: Tucson 1.6T: 115k --- 122k New Forester: 110k --- 120k ??? regardless of a any brand of dry DCT, and you expect to drive thru the long creeping jam of woodland checkpoint at more regular than other spore drivers.and you can accept Dry DCT as part of common wear and tear and consumables material in the ride. then Tuscon is quite a good buy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ceecookie 5th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 What can the driver do if the internal temperature is too high? Stop the car? or there is some remediation actions? Tucson is one of my considerations but I have concerns on dry clutch. Yes, you have to stop the car somewhere and let it idle for the DCT to cool down. Below paper should come with every Tucson that komoco sell 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixus75 3rd Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 Thanks for the pic on DCT. Maybe its not suitable for me cos I am stuck in peak hour PIE traffic on weekdays. If I am hit with the warning, I have to park at road shoulder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear October 21, 2018 Share October 21, 2018 (edited) Thanks for the pic on DCT. Maybe its not suitable for me cos I am stuck in peak hour PIE traffic on weekdays. If I am hit with the warning, I have to park at road shoulder I am sure an hour of slow traffic on pie won't kill the dct. Those hyundai engineers would have stress tested it beyond 60 mins. Just my guestimation. No proof hor. But make sense. Edited October 21, 2018 by Tiger1 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...