Lala81 Hypersonic July 11, 2015 Share July 11, 2015 how about giving her lotsa play with other kids or going out somewhere to burn up all her energy works for my son She gets shack after school so she naps. But her naps can be short cos she doesn't sleep easily. So now with my wife at home, she tries to bring her to a playground in the late afternoon to burn off some energy. My MIL couldn't do that last time, cos she needs to cook dinner. But sometimes also hard la, bring an infant in tow + watch after the older one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear July 11, 2015 Share July 11, 2015 Heh... Perhaps it's time to relook the "alumni priority" more than anything else - have said many times that don't agree with this priority... Cant disagree more. And the vacancies nowadays are kinda few. Miss ed the good old days when all schools got am and pm sessions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 She gets shack after school so she naps. But her naps can be short cos she doesn't sleep easily. So now with my wife at home, she tries to bring her to a playground in the late afternoon to burn off some energy. My MIL couldn't do that last time, cos she needs to cook dinner. But sometimes also hard la, bring an infant in tow + watch after the older one. What is her regular schedule like? School in the morning, come home have lunch, nap, wake up do homework, then dinner, then a bit of homework again or own leisure time and sleep? And sleep at what time? If she doesn't nap well maybe can consider sleeping early. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 What is her regular schedule like? School in the morning, come home have lunch, nap, wake up do homework, then dinner, then a bit of homework again or own leisure time and sleep? And sleep at what time? If she doesn't nap well maybe can consider sleeping early. she mai kun type la. U ask her to sleep, she purposely don't sleep. School morning. End 1130. Come back lunch if she hasn't dozed off yet. Nap usually after lunch and shower depending if she's tired. If she has no school, she can like take until 4-5pm to nap sometimes. Her nap time is inconsistent. If she sleeps too late in the afternoon, then affect her night time sleeping habit. We've practiced strict bedtime and pre-sleep routines since she was born. 9-10pm lights off unless she does something like poop. She'll keep doing her own thing until she dozes off. Have to wake up shortly after 7am. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 she mai kun type la. U ask her to sleep, she purposely don't sleep. School morning. End 1130. Come back lunch if she hasn't dozed off yet. Nap usually after lunch and shower depending if she's tired. If she has no school, she can like take until 4-5pm to nap sometimes. Her nap time is inconsistent. If she sleeps too late in the afternoon, then affect her night time sleeping habit. We've practiced strict bedtime and pre-sleep routines since she was born. 9-10pm lights off unless she does something like poop. She'll keep doing her own thing until she dozes off. Have to wake up shortly after 7am. Your daughter's schedule is almost really like mine. Except that mine nap at around 2pm, plus minus 15 mins. If she is tired that day, she can nap for up to 2 hours but usually is about 1 hour +-, and has to sleep by 10pm. Only on Friday we relax abit but still nap at around that time and night sleep around 10.30pm. Usually mine will do very relax activity like reading or play iPad before she sleeps. So she won't be too active before she sleeps. On rare occasion when she didn't nap, she has to sleep by 9pm. I was thinking since your daughter doesn't sleep easily, napping can become optional unless she is really tired, and get her to try sleeping at 9pm and hopefully by 10 she falls asleep liao. If she falls asleep earlier then that will be bonus. I think usually kids will think they will miss out some fun if we ask them to sleep so they either delay and reject sleeping. I guess we have to use a bit of bargaining and reward method sometimes. But it really depend on individual kid. Sometimes it just doesn't work and we have think of other methods. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 Your daughter's schedule is almost really like mine. Except that mine nap at around 2pm, plus minus 15 mins. If she is tired that day, she can nap for up to 2 hours but usually is about 1 hour +-, and has to sleep by 10pm. Only on Friday we relax abit but still nap at around that time and night sleep around 10.30pm. Usually mine will do very relax activity like reading or play iPad before she sleeps. So she won't be too active before she sleeps. On rare occasion when she didn't nap, she has to sleep by 9pm. I was thinking since your daughter doesn't sleep easily, napping can become optional unless she is really tired, and get her to try sleeping at 9pm and hopefully by 10 she falls asleep liao. If she falls asleep earlier then that will be bonus. I think usually kids will think they will miss out some fun if we ask them to sleep so they either delay and reject sleeping. I guess we have to use a bit of bargaining and reward method sometimes. But it really depend on individual kid. Sometimes it just doesn't work and we have think of other methods. she needs to nap. Or else she will start falling asleep at 6-7pm. She's fallen asleep while at the playground playing or eating dinner halfway ... Haha then gg. she will sleep at 1130pm, then wake up next morning sleep deprived and throw tantrum. Well my girl we've tried everything. So stopped trying liao. Just switch off the lights except night light and let her do what she wants in the room within reason. My wife sleeps with her. every kid is different. Yeah, just have to accept she has sleep problems. I'm not even talking about the night tantrums which have improved a lot. This was very bad between 1-2 years old. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 she needs to nap. Or else she will start falling asleep at 6-7pm. She's fallen asleep while at the playground playing or eating dinner halfway ... Haha then gg. she will sleep at 1130pm, then wake up next morning sleep deprived and throw tantrum. Well my girl we've tried everything. So stopped trying liao. Just switch off the lights except night light and let her do what she wants in the room within reason. My wife sleeps with her. every kid is different. Yeah, just have to accept she has sleep problems. I'm not even talking about the night tantrums which have improved a lot. This was very bad between 1-2 years old. My son never sleeps before 12am. You asked him why he said he does not want the day to pass so quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 My son never sleeps before 12am. You asked him why he said he does not want the day to pass so quickly. super hong sim haha like my son too Err... if i am not wrong last year RPGS .. no need to ballot even if you stay > 2km away from the school as long as you are sgporean. It's really not a hot school. Same as ACS ( Junior) . good to know, was thinking of sending boy to acs jr and worried that maybe cannot get in cos he is in dragon year... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 she needs to nap. Or else she will start falling asleep at 6-7pm. She's fallen asleep while at the playground playing or eating dinner halfway ... Haha then gg. she will sleep at 1130pm, then wake up next morning sleep deprived and throw tantrum. Well my girl we've tried everything. So stopped trying liao. Just switch off the lights except night light and let her do what she wants in the room within reason. My wife sleeps with her. every kid is different. Yeah, just have to accept she has sleep problems. I'm not even talking about the night tantrums which have improved a lot. This was very bad between 1-2 years old. Hmm...I guess she really need to understand the importance of napping. And maybe no playground if she didn't nap. Previously when my daughter has irregular napping time, we still get her to sleep by 10 even when she nap late and wake up near dinner time. Whether she can fall asleep or not is another matter but what we were trying to do is to have a fix schedule. Then slowly her napping time become more regular. We even change our dinner time to between 530 to 6pm so that the gap between waking up from nap and waiting for dinner is not too long. Outdoor activities were restricted to up to 3 times per week. Ie swimming or riding bicycle or playground. But we haven't bring her go swimming or playground ever since school reopened haha. I understand the tantrum thing. There was a period which we always keep the same schedule even on weekends just so that we can help improve our daughter's sleeping habit. That means if we go out on weekends, if it is morning we will be back before 2pm, or back by 9pm if we go out in the afternoon, just so that she can sleep at 10. If cannot get back in time she will nap inside the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 super hong sim haha like my son too good to know, was thinking of sending boy to acs jr and worried that maybe cannot get in cos he is in dragon year... I think kiasu parent website has the stats and figures on balloting. That will give you an idea and decide whether to try acs or not. My son never sleeps before 12am. You asked him why he said he does not want the day to pass so quickly. My son doesn't nap but sleeps at 10. I think boys really ho tong. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear July 13, 2015 Share July 13, 2015 I think kiasu parent website has the stats and figures on balloting. That will give you an idea and decide whether to try acs or not. My son doesn't nap but sleeps at 10. I think boys really ho tong. Ya man. And my son never takes nap. For the past 5 years he has always behaved as such. Damn shagged. Burned his energy by giving him plenty of sports activities but hardly helps. Only become more energetic. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged July 14, 2015 Share July 14, 2015 Phase 2A(2) oversubscribed schools are Henry park 42/23, ai tong 49/36, nan hua 43/37, catholic high 32/30, nanyang 58/55 and red swastika 40/38. For further analysis see http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/event/2015-p1-registration-phase-2a2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 Phase 2A(2) oversubscribed schools are Henry park 42/23, ai tong 49/36, nan hua 43/37, catholic high 32/30, nanyang 58/55 and red swastika 40/38. For further analysis see http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/event/2015-p1-registration-phase-2a2 No Surprise ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 No Surprise ... Some schools intake very small. A cup squeeze until machiam C cup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 Some schools intake very small. A cup squeeze until machiam C cup. So every cup is a good cup? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 So every cup is a good cup? well, a cup in the hand is worth two in the bush but I prefer to have my hands in the bush actually Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyTan_74287 4th Gear July 15, 2015 Share July 15, 2015 Phase 2A(2) oversubscribed schools are Henry park 42/23, ai tong 49/36, nan hua 43/37, catholic high 32/30, nanyang 58/55 and red swastika 40/38. For further analysis see http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/event/2015-p1-registration-phase-2a2 I heard Nanyang does not need balloting as 55 out of 58 were SC. So all 55 in. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...