Yaloryalor 5th Gear March 10, 2016 Share March 10, 2016 Yes. Auto dim rear view mirror that looks very cool with its frameless design. Yes. Auto fold upon locking and left side mirror tilts down when reversing. Can adjust to your preferred angle & save. Side mirrors can also be heated to reduce water moisture on rainy days so your side mirrors stay clear of droplets. Cool! The base model actually not bare at all! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 (edited) I didn't try the CLA200 but did so for the CLA180. It felt rough.. The drive didn't feel worthy of its price tag or badge. The A4 is smoother, engine wise. As for transmission, the S-tronic dual clutch in A4 is superb in acceleration with its audible gear shifts, quick changes in gears but when travelling at low speeds 30km/h and below, the gearbox a bit slow & retarded or some people call it jerky, dunno whether to be in D1 or D2. Give it some RPM or accelerate, the gearbox is a dream to drive. On the other hand, I have never liked the 7G-tronic transmission in the CLA or even the newer C180. It's not jerky on the lower end but it just feels very damped down, uninteresting to drive while accelerating, slower in gear changes. The 7G DCT (on A, B, CLA, GLA) and Stronic/DSG as with all dual clutch transmission, are not conventional torque converter automatic transmission. They are like sequential transmission but with 2 clutches. Anyone who has driven the Alfa's Selespeed (not the current TCT) knows how jerky it is when driven in auto mode. Dual clutch transmissions over the years have refined its auto mode to almost feel the same as conventional auto. But they are still sequential transmission essentially... therefore the for smooth gearshift in auto mode, the conventional auto like BMW's ZF 6 or 8 speeder or Lexus' Aisin 8 speed is much smoother. The advantage of dual clutch transmission is, there is no torque lost (because there is no torque converter) and they achieve fuel economy like a conventional manual if not better. and of course they perform like a conventional manual with same or faster 0-100 timing. As such, to get the best out of a DCT, you should drive it manually with the paddle shift. The gear change will be butter smooth at low end speed or top speed. Having said that, if you ever try a CLA again (180 or 200), try let the car warm up for about 2-3 mins before hitting the road. Once the transmission and engine is fully warmed up (temp gauge showing at least 70-90 deg C), you will find it significantly less jerky. I dont know about Audi's Stronic, but if the principle is the same, then try it ... perhaps the result is the same. Edited March 11, 2016 by Miles 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 The advantage of dual clutch transmission is, there is no torque lost (because there is no torque converter) and they achieve fuel economy like a conventional manual if not better. and of course they perform like a conventional manual with same or faster 0-100 timing. The newer auto-trans all can do torque convertor lockup when at constant torque/speed. This eliminates the traditional energy loss. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 The 7G DCT (on A, B, CLA, GLA) and Stronic/DSG as with all dual clutch transmission, are not conventional torque converter automatic transmission. They are like sequential transmission but with 2 clutches. Anyone who has driven the Alfa's Selespeed (not the current TCT) knows how jerky it is when driven in auto mode. Dual clutch transmissions over the years have refined its auto mode to almost feel the same as conventional auto. But they are still sequential transmission essentially... therefore the for smooth gearshift in auto mode, the conventional auto like BMW's ZF 6 or 8 speeder or Lexus' Aisin 8 speed is much smoother. The advantage of dual clutch transmission is, there is no torque lost (because there is no torque converter) and they achieve fuel economy like a conventional manual if not better. and of course they perform like a conventional manual with same or faster 0-100 timing. As such, to get the best out of a DCT, you should drive it manually with the paddle shift. The gear change will be butter smooth at low end speed or top speed. Having said that, if you ever try a CLA again (180 or 200), try let the car warm up for about 2-3 mins before hitting the road. Once the transmission and engine is fully warmed up (temp gauge showing at least 70-90 deg C), you will find it significantly less jerky. I dont know about Audi's Stronic, but if the principle is the same, then try it ... perhaps the result is the same. Actually for sillyspeed, it's pretty smooth from gear 2 onwards whether in auto or manual mode. The jerkiness comes in during slow/stop-start traffic where it constantly toggle between 2, 1 and full stop, and well, that's pretty much daily peak hour driving. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 I didn't try the CLA200 but did so for the CLA180. It felt rough.. The drive didn't feel worthy of its price tag or badge. The A4 is smoother, engine wise. As for transmission, the S-tronic dual clutch in A4 is superb in acceleration with its audible gear shifts, quick changes in gears but when travelling at low speeds 30km/h and below, the gearbox a bit slow & retarded or some people call it jerky, dunno whether to be in D1 or D2. Give it some RPM or accelerate, the gearbox is a dream to drive. On the other hand, I have never liked the 7G-tronic transmission in the CLA or even the newer C180. It's not jerky on the lower end but it just feels very damped down, uninteresting to drive while accelerating, slower in gear changes. yea no perfect gearbox altho my personal fav has to b the ZF 8sp. but I thk its a very good step for audi to move to the dsg and refine from there. their engines are so overengineered, the dsg is a better match. like the FL A6 act performs better than the pre FL 2.0. the previous cvt is butter smooth but for the initial lag. There are aftermkt software tunes but only improves the mid - high rev, stil cant solve the initial lag. the CLA is on a-class platform, act car for car, there is no competition. but of cos, merc badge is def higher than audi so compete in the same price range. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 Cool! The base model actually not bare at all!Yeah its base trim but a lot of cosmetic and features are standard as well. It's price tag then of $155K makes very good value if you compare with outgoing BMW318 $165K, C180 $170K, Jag XE Diesel $160K and the petrol variant at $170K. I think my second choice would have been the XE turbo diesel. New handsome design, bigger 2.0L turbo diesel with minimal clatter, exclusivity on the roads, well priced. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 Yeah its base trim but a lot of cosmetic and features are standard as well. It's price tag then of $155K makes very good value if you compare with outgoing BMW318 $165K, C180 $170K, Jag XE Diesel $160K and the petrol variant at $170K. I think my second choice would have been the XE turbo diesel. New handsome design, bigger 2.0L turbo diesel with minimal clatter, exclusivity on the roads, well priced. The XE looks very nice in pics, haven really look at the actual car yet. I think unlike the usual long wheel base Jag cars. XE is more young and handsome look. One thing about the A4 front aircon. Its seems like the Vezel has aircon vent in front of the passenger. Dun quite like the design, prefer clean look at the dashboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 The XE looks very nice in pics, haven really look at the actual car yet. I think unlike the usual long wheel base Jag cars. XE is more young and handsome look. One thing about the A4 front aircon. Its seems like the Vezel has aircon vent in front of the passenger. Dun quite like the design, prefer clean look at the dashboard. To each his own, I guess. I am barely 30 and the XE don't suit me, image wise. Even though the price and performance is good. It feels as though I am driving my dad's car. And being an entry level offering within the Jaguar range, it doesn't have the gizmos or the high tech feel in the cabin. Like someone mentioned, it sort of reminds you that you are only driving the cheapest Jag around thus the barebone feel in the cabin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 Do you mind sharing a pic of the driver console display? The one you mentioned has a bigger centre color display. Everything between the tachometer & speedometer is the color display. So it's bigger than the usual VW/Audi very small screen in the centre which is void of any graphics. Compare with current A3 (smaller screen as mentioned): http://i.i-sgcm.com/news/article_reviews/2014/728_21_l.jpg This newer screen offers date/time, digital speed, current FC, average FC. Across the tab, you can access media controls as well as phone controls. The "Individual" text you see in the bottom centre, displays what mode I am on for Audi Drive Select (Comfort, Auto, Dynamic, Individual). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hummer 3rd Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 Everything between the tachometer & speedometer is the color display. So it's bigger than the usual VW/Audi very small screen in the centre which is void of any graphics. Compare with current A3 (smaller screen as mentioned): http://i.i-sgcm.com/news/article_reviews/2014/728_21_l.jpg This newer screen offers date/time, digital speed, current FC, average FC. Across the tab, you can access media controls as well as phone controls. The "Individual" text you see in the bottom centre, displays what mode I am on for Audi Drive Select (Comfort, Auto, Dynamic, Individual). ahhh.....this new centre driver console looks like the display from the C7 A6 2.0 Ultra sold previously. Niceeee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 Everything between the tachometer & speedometer is the color display. So it's bigger than the usual VW/Audi very small screen in the centre which is void of any graphics. Compare with current A3 (smaller screen as mentioned): http://i.i-sgcm.com/news/article_reviews/2014/728_21_l.jpg This newer screen offers date/time, digital speed, current FC, average FC. Across the tab, you can access media controls as well as phone controls. The "Individual" text you see in the bottom centre, displays what mode I am on for Audi Drive Select (Comfort, Auto, Dynamic, Individual). At least Audi has rectified the shortcoming of not having a clock in A3 DIS. I usually retract the A3 main popup screen when driving (which makes the clock hidden) Does your A4 has navigation / reverse cam? I've seen (in addition to main display) the DIS is also used for those functions in full color (at least in the A3). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 At least Audi has rectified the shortcoming of not having a clock in A3 DIS. I usually retract the A3 main popup screen when driving (which makes the clock hidden) Does your A4 has navigation / reverse cam? I've seen (in addition to main display) the DIS is also used for those functions in full color (at least in the A3). What's DIS? For navigation, new A4 uses Apple car play >>> Google Maps >>> Display onto central dashboard screen in full colour + voice guidance & search function. No reverse camera. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear March 11, 2016 Share March 11, 2016 What's DIS? For navigation, new A4 uses Apple car play >>> Google Maps >>> Display onto central dashboard screen in full colour + voice guidance & search function. No reverse camera. Driver info screen. The screen in between. I think the built in nav (not apple car play) can display nav map/direction on the dis just like virtual cockpit. I saw a picture of it on the A3. Maybe now audi remove this with introduction of the virtual cockpit option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic March 11, 2016 Author Share March 11, 2016 Everything between the tachometer & speedometer is the color display. So it's bigger than the usual VW/Audi very small screen in the centre which is void of any graphics. Compare with current A3 (smaller screen as mentioned): http://i.i-sgcm.com/news/article_reviews/2014/728_21_l.jpg This newer screen offers date/time, digital speed, current FC, average FC. Across the tab, you can access media controls as well as phone controls. The "Individual" text you see in the bottom centre, displays what mode I am on for Audi Drive Select (Comfort, Auto, Dynamic, Individual). I think the 300km/her mark a little overkill..vs the engine capacity 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 12, 2016 Share March 12, 2016 Driver info screen. The screen in between. I think the built in nav (not apple car play) can display nav map/direction on the dis just like virtual cockpit. I saw a picture of it on the A3. Maybe now audi remove this with introduction of the virtual cockpit option. Right now can retrofit via 3rd party vendor to enable Google Map view onto the A4 DIS as shown but not sure how much it costs. A3 DIS a lot smaller than this, so if display the navigation, be it from Apple car play or integrated nav, also a bit pointless. For me, navigation on the central MMI screen is good enough. What I think is lacking is the reverse camera. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear March 12, 2016 Share March 12, 2016 Actually the front aircon vents copied wholesale from vw passat.. Same group company so use same engine and some designs from each other I think the 300km/her mark a little overkill..vs the engine capacityShould just make a 120km/h mark speedo specially for sg mkt. hahaha Its quite shiok to see actually 300km/h! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic March 12, 2016 Author Share March 12, 2016 Actually the front aircon vents copied wholesale from vw passat.. Same group company so use same engine and some designs from each other Should just make a 120km/h mark speedo specially for sg mkt. hahaha Its quite shiok to see actually 300km/h! Ya but 1.4t engine...put 300km/hr 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear March 12, 2016 Share March 12, 2016 I think the 300km/her mark a little overkill..vs the engine capacity Hahaha yeah lor new A4 top speed only 210km/h. I dunno if the FL audi A1 with 1.0TFSI 3 cylinder turbo share the same speedometer.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...