Time to sell and Rent ?

Sdf4786k

There is no intention to debate rationally or otherwise. Merely pointing out my observations.

I can't say I speak for majority but even the minority matters. Why I concluded on the SES level is because nobody behaves like that in your social circle - they are capable of self check. Not mine.

For the record, not only do some of us have dependants above and below, we cannot afford to take a step off the racing wheel not because of pork rib noodles, but because of health care, insurance, childcare costs etc which constitutes bulk of expenses, not counting transport and enrichment.

That's why I still congratulate you for having the luxury to take a step back. Not in jest, just a different world we live in.

Gov rental flat can be as cheap as 30 plus a month. I see a fair share of ppl taking advantage of gov help and choose to stay at home and practical do nothing. To me we are not helping them, but creating a slow death situation.

If cpf is given back to all at 55 we will see these group of people increasing, definetly not the entire population will squander their money away, but definitely a small percentage will.

Agree on whatever you said but then again you do not know how hard i worked to achieve that and merely focus on the end result.

I had my fair share of relatives/friends with gambling/vices debts , fact is you won't be able to help them unless they help themselves. One fact , if i lend them money to gamble away i might as well use it to gamble myself but if it is for sickness or really not enough , i will always go out of my way to make it happen for them. In fact , i have paid off medical bills for strangers before just not long ago while i was traveling and doing volunteer work.

Health care , child care and any other cost is a varable fixed cost , which can be controlled. For insurance , medical insurance is the single most important factor which can be paid using medisave and nothing from cash.I have not recieved any "enrichment" programs , but does it mean i did worse than my peers? Again personal choice , don't blame it on others.

Again goes back to the fact similar to the noodles you eat and how much you willing to pay for it.

Edited by CH_CO

Health care is a fixed cost until you or loved ones get seriously sick. Childcare cost is a fixed one too that goes up every year. The cost situation can't be perfectly controlled.

Not just relatives, some army friends also behave that way. If we can be assured that no one will take advantage of early CPF withdrawals, I think Govt might have stuck to it. Even a 5% failure and 1 person sleeping on the street is not really acceptable for most Singaporeans.

I am sorry to have prejudged your situation. If just focus on pork noodles and no dependants I think I can probably retire now too.

Failure to set aside for them is a personal choice, if you can afford to buy a car, go for a family travel, then afford to waste your time reading and debating with me, then I find it little reason that you will not have enough for your loved ones in the event they are sick or any other extra ordinary factors which might affect.

Again, what makes you think I do not have dependants, by merely staying with my parents would meant I don't ? Dude, don't be so limited in your reasoning, the problems you have most of us have , just only see how you going to sort it out.

Child care expenses drop the moment you send them to primary school , unless you are those kiasu parent which don't wanna spend time to educate your child and just hand the responsiblity to others so that you have an easy way out. Else it is unlikely to see an increase in cost.

I agree whatever you have highlighted are realistic problems but in one way solvable as long as proper budget is set aside but if you wanna complain that because my loved ones is sick and I have do not have spare money due to expenses on my own wants thus now it is a burden for me to bear those and blame it on the garmen leave the problem for them to solve , then it is not going to be fair either way.

Edited by CH_CO

I have excluded non absolute essentials in the previous post.

Medical cover is not 100% from CPF. I think main breadwinners can see my viewpoints clearly about childcare and insurance. Just these two can make me work another 10 to 15 years.

We are from vastly different situations - this I am absolutely sure.

Down with flu from the haze so can write essays here. Ha...

Edited by Seohster

Calling any parent with children below the age of 3 to help me explain what is increase in cost for childcare. Thanks.

Child care expenses drop the moment you send them to primary school , unless you are those kiasu parent which don't wanna spend time to educate your child and just hand the responsiblity to others so that you have an easy way out. Else it is unlikely to see an increase in cost.

I agree whatever you have highlighted are realistic problems but in one way solvable as long as proper budget is set aside.

I certainly agree we might be facing different situations and thus we see things from a different view. It is just how we make best of our situations and not blame push the blame to others.

Sorry my insurance bill runs in thousands every year too, but most of the time it will still not be 100% , this is how agents wants to make you think. We can discuss this on a seperate thread but this to me is still a controllable cost.

Childcare slightly lesser due to garmen subsidy as i am jobless to them. To me the early years have a variable cost in the providers , a pap childcare would be different from non government childcare and as i mentioned cost has increase to due inflation in rental and wage cost. An child care centre rental can go above 80k per month in certain areas and this will inevitably be transfered to the parents.

Thats is my reason why a drop in cost of rental and property prices will benefit us as a whole over the long run.

That said , still doesn't justify them withholding my cpf. All you need to do is to adjust the retirement age to a flexible where people can decide at 62 or 55.

I have included some cut out from a website on the cost.

In Singapore, there is no standard fee structure for kindergartens. Each kindergarten will charge parents differently; even for kindergartens under the same name such PCF kindergartens, monthly fee will vary from branch to branch. In this article, we try to show readers a typical fee structure of kindergartens in Singapore.

Please be informed that you can use your child's Child Development Account to pay for your child's school fee.

1. Monthly Fee

Nursery: Lowest monthly fee is $48 at some PCF kindergartens. Highest monthly fee is $1800; median monthly fee is $180, and average monthly fee is $232.

PCF Kindergartens charge a monthly fee that range from $48 to $210.

Kindergarten 1: Lowest monthly fee is $74.9 at some PCF kindergartens. Highest monthly fee is $1800; median monthly fee is at $180 and average monthly fee is at $249. PCF Kindergartens' monthly fee ranges from $74.9 to $350.

PCF Kindergartens charge a monthly fee that can range from $74.9 to $350.

Kindergarten 2: Lowest monthly fee is $74.9 at some PCF kindergartens. Highest monthly fee is $1800; median monthly fee is $180 and average monthly fee is $250.

Note: PCF Kindergartens have a different monthly fee for Singapore Citizens, Permanent Residents and Foreigners. For example, in one PCF kindergarten in the north, monthly fee for Kindergarten 1 and 2 for Singapore Citizens is $160, permanent residents need to pay $172 and foreigner $220.

2. Registration Fee

Almost all kindergarten will charge a registration fee which may range from $15 to more than $60

3. Uniform Fee

All kindergartens will also require students to pay for the school uniforms.

One set of uniform may cost $15 per set at some PCF kindergarten. Other kindergartens usually charge higher.

PE attire is also needed and it is usually cheaper. It is about $10 at some PCF kindergartens.

4. Material or Book Fees

Students are also required to pay for the study material such as reading books, workbooks or other study materials that are used in the kindergarten.

5. Miscellaneous fee

Miscellaneous fee may cover insurance or stationery used during the lessons. It is usually collected two times in a year.

At some PCF kindergarten, this amount may be at about $70. Exact amount will vary from kindergarten to kindergarten.

6. Deposit

Kindergarten operators may ask you to pay a deposit when you enroll your child into the kindergarten. Amount may vary from kindergarten to kindergarten.

7. Enrichment Program

Some kindergartens offer enrichment programs which parents need to pay in order for their children to join these optional programs

Edited by CH_CO

Calling any parent with children below the age of 3 to help me explain what is increase in cost for childcare. Thanks.

my childcare increase $50 a year... but in a way this is offset with the cheaper milk powder and less pampers used as a child get older..

other than that.... I dunno what other increase there are........besides the monthly fee... still got other thing to pay for childcare?

I do agree with CH_CO... if everyone makes some afford to keep some money for rainy day rather than splurge on luxury items like car, holidays, eating at restaurants, changing of latest handphone, etc... actually Singapore is very liveable...

PS: I dunno what you all discussing about.... retirement , poor people or what....

Edited by Galantspeedz

Sorry we have deviated from topic. The current question is, with the amount you have saved, do you think you can choose to stop working for a period of time until you think it is necessary to start again?

my childcare increase $50 a year... but in a way this is offset with the cheaper milk powder and less pampers used as a child get older..

other than that.... I dunno what other increase there are........besides the monthly fee... still got other thing to pay for childcare?

I do agree with CH_CO... if everyone makes some afford to keep some money for rainy day rather than splurge on luxury items like car, holidays, eating at restaurants, changing of latest handphone, etc... actually Singapore is very liveable...

PS: I dunno what you all discussing about.... retirement , poor people or what....

i chao ah beng arguing in a hawker centre leh. Simi scholar , my england so bad i need to use a whole paragraph to explain simple things which i probably use 1 sentense.

Boh lui mai pua , ai pua mai kai si , su liaoz kao peh kao bu zho si mi.

As for properties , i will not sell the home i am staying at regardless the price unless i kana emblocked.

But as for properties i own , i have no issues selling them if prices are good and if i think price trends are going to continue to detriorate against my favor and so much that even rental income will not cover then i will get out too.

As for selling my primary residence in view of a lower price , personally i find it silly as it is a gamble with no timeline , unless you can tell me u zhun zhun tell me the projected price of the property u are looking for and there will confirm be a seller for you.

Even so , for the waiting time , you will be paying rental cost probably in the range of 3-7% of the property price. Let's say if you sold at 2013 and waited til 2016 to buy , the cost of waiting can range up from 9%~21% depending on location.

If the market only tanks by 30~50% on the optimistic view how much potentially are you going to profit from it? Do your own calculations.

Edited by CH_CO

Sorry we have deviated from topic. The current question is, with the amount you have saved, do you think you can choose to stop working for a period of time until you think it is necessary to start again?

Depends on your expenses(X) , price in alot of allowance(A) for (inflation + rainy day) and multiple by 2 to the projected years(Y) you might be alive.

(X+A) * Y * 2 = Amount

If any part of the equation changes , then considerations can be made. Or if one becomes too bored at home , he can also continue to work. It is always an choice given to the individual.

Edited by CH_CO

For a couple of years should be ok from financial standpoint ... maybe need some minor adjustments but generally I don't really spend in the first placeto

To be honest, not pushing any blame.

We work for the kind of lifestyle we aim for amidst the pressures and expectations surrounding.

I am happy to work but the choice to stop work and look / queue / wait for a childcare space in a PCF childcare somewhere far away, shouldering the medical expenses etc just feels too daunting. I am sorry for appearing that I blame anyone. I don't. I am just emphasising that the insecurity keeps most people going on, and it's still beneficial to the economy by retaining every additional working person.

I certainly agree we might be facing different situations and thus we see things from a different view. It is just how we make best of our situations and not blame push the blame to others.

Sorry my insurance bill runs in thousands every year too, but most of the time it will still not be 100% , this is how agents wants to make you think. We can discuss this on a seperate thread but this to me is still a controllable cost.

Childcare slightly lesser due to garmen subsidy as i am jobless to them. To me the early years have a variable cost in the providers , a pap childcare would be different from non government childcare and as i mentioned cost has increase to due inflation in rental and wage cost. An child care centre rental can go above 80k per month in certain areas and this will inevitably be transfered to the parents.

Thats is my reason why a drop in cost of rental and property prices will benefit us as a whole over the long run.

That said , still doesn't justify them withholding my cpf. All you need to do is to adjust the retirement age to a flexible where people can decide at 62 or 55.

I have included some cut out from a website on the cost.

In Singapore, there is no standard fee structure for kindergartens. Each kindergarten will charge parents differently; even for kindergartens under the same name such PCF kindergartens, monthly fee will vary from branch to branch. In this article, we try to show readers a typical fee structure of kindergartens in Singapore.

Please be informed that you can use your child's Child Development Account to pay for your child's school fee.

1. Monthly Fee

Nursery: Lowest monthly fee is $48 at some PCF kindergartens. Highest monthly fee is $1800; median monthly fee is $180, and average monthly fee is $232.

PCF Kindergartens charge a monthly fee that range from $48 to $210.

Kindergarten 1: Lowest monthly fee is $74.9 at some PCF kindergartens. Highest monthly fee is $1800; median monthly fee is at $180 and average monthly fee is at $249. PCF Kindergartens' monthly fee ranges from $74.9 to $350.

Kindergarten 2: Lowest monthly fee is $74.9 at some PCF kindergartens. Highest monthly fee is $1800; median monthly fee is $180 and average monthly fee is $250.

Note: PCF Kindergartens have a different monthly fee for Singapore Citizens, Permanent Residents and Foreigners. For example, in one PCF kindergarten in the north, monthly fee for Kindergarten 1 and 2 for Singapore Citizens is $160, permanent residents need to pay $172 and foreigner $220.

2. Registration Fee

Almost all kindergarten will charge a registration fee which may range from $15 to more than $60

3. Uniform Fee

All kindergartens will also require students to pay for the school uniforms.

One set of uniform may cost $15 per set at some PCF kindergarten. Other kindergartens usually charge higher.

PE attire is also needed and it is usually cheaper. It is about $10 at some PCF kindergartens.

4. Material or Book Fees

Students are also required to pay for the study material such as reading books, workbooks or other study materials that are used in the kindergarten.

5. Miscellaneous fee

Miscellaneous fee may cover insurance or stationery used during the lessons. It is usually collected two times in a year.

At some PCF kindergarten, this amount may be at about $70. Exact amount will vary from kindergarten to kindergarten.

6. Deposit

Kindergarten operators may ask you to pay a deposit when you enroll your child into the kindergarten. Amount may vary from kindergarten to kindergarten.

7. Enrichment Program

Some kindergartens offer enrichment programs which parents need to pay in order for their children to join these optional programs

To be honest, not pushing any blame.

We work for the kind of lifestyle we aim for amidst the pressures and expectations surrounding.

I am happy to work but the choice to stop work and look / queue / wait for a childcare space in a PCF childcare somewhere far away, shouldering the medical expenses etc just feels too daunting. I am sorry for appearing that I blame anyone. I don't. I am just emphasising that the insecurity keeps most people going on, and it's still beneficial to the economy by retaining every additional working person.

Yes , we do work for the kind of lifestyle we aim for.

I think i should stay jobless as that is the lifestyle i aim for but the cost opof raising a family is really quite high. I am panting everyday, thinking about the future of my children.

Any kangtao for me?

I am physically quite strong, no problem with hard labor.

Yes , we do work for the kind of lifestyle we aim for.

I think i should stay jobless as that is the lifestyle i aim for but the cost opof raising a family is really quite high. I am panting everyday, thinking about the future of my children.

Any kangtao for me?

I am physically quite strong, no problem with hard labor.

http://www.details.com/culture-trends/celebrities/201503/shimiken-japanese-porn-star-interview

This industry looking for physically strong personals