Cyclist jailed for knocking pedestrian on pavement!

Wah lau eh, dont even have the guts to quote everything i say.

Again try to quote me out of context by cutting off the crucial sentences.

You da man, you also probably a property agent right?

Ok ok no need to explain.

somehow i find you a very logical man.........you sld be well liked here if not for your CCB pay cash comment...........I think I can mark you as friend.............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I really pity the old man cyclist, not supporting his actions though

Not only cyclists can be reckless, pedestrians too

Just last two days was driving along geyland road towards city, those fellows just raised their hand and expect drivers to let them cross the road

I think as drivers, we have to be alert all the time

Even if one day there are no cyclists on the roads (unlikely to happen), there are still reckless pedestrians

Just be patient and drive slowly

No one wants to die and no one wants to kill

Geyland or Gay Land is the land of the free spirited people ; anything goes there ; electric scooters with led lights all over and what nots :a-confused: ; Street Walkers have rights there on the Streets there, [nod] literally ; so car drivers must :a-whiteflag:

is funny............but it happens to me............when I hear ppl from behind say......."excuse me"..."cuse me cuse me"......"借过借过"........i usually will let them pass (usually bicycle)................but if I hear ting ting ting.............become sibei tulan liao.............still have to let them pass............but not without the KNNBCCB look at them.............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Other than ting ting, i usually will give way.

When i hear ting ting, i will heck care. Either you bang me or LL wait for me.

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/why-government-not-doing-enough-160000995.html

Why is the Government Not Doing Enough to Promote Alternative Means of Transport in Singapore?

This is a very very selfish article !!!!

C'mon . . . this little dot is preparing to house 7M population, thus priority for gahmen is to look at the public transports, followed by transportation vehicles. if cyclings as alternative means of transport, then please rid of your crazy ideas!

I'd accept cyclings for leisure activities - the gahmen has been doing its best building park connectors across the whole island...... these cyclists should be well contented coz they did NOT contribute any $ to have these beautiful leisure routes built for them.
in fact, these routes are to be shared by joggers/strollers. but are these cyclists giving way to them???

Since cyclists are NOT giving ways to joggers/strollers, then dun expect too much especially they are NOT contributing to any $ on the road!!! if they think thay are at risk, then go buy thousands dollars insurance like any other wheels on the roads. and they still owe their shares on road tax!

I do cyclings and spent thousands on this hobby, but I do understand that Sillypore is really too small to house all 3 transportation modes on the same roads, paths or ways! thus, cycling in this island can only be encouraged as a leisure, sport or hobby - NEVER promote this as an alternative for transportation!
I (and any other cyclists) should always watch out for inconsiderate wheels on the road. but we do not risk oneself as if he/she has a share on the roads. this bad behaviours & attitudes of cyclists deserve what befalls on them; like those chao ang mos (they think this is their country roads and their so-called rights to cycle on the middle of the left lane!)
the truth is..... if there are no designated bicycle lanes, then cyclists should be the last priority!
- in walk ways, pedestrian crossings etc.....
- in public roads, highways etc.
- in parks

Edited by A_korusawa

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/rude-driver-shows-cyclist-his-middle-finger-at-woodlands-waterfront

Rude driver shows cyclist his middle finger at Woodlands Waterfront

yes, the driver may be rude to show his middle finger (we dunno if he was provoked to do that).

apart from that, the driver did nothing wrong, and as a cyclist, he/she has no choice but to give way (in such scenario)!

the driver did halt, ensure clear traffic before turning in.......

driver's mind will never anticipate such fast moving object appearing into his path on a walkway.

moreover, the cyclist was riding on a walkway dashing towards the vehicle.

of coz, a more considerate driver would probably light on the car signals prior turning, but that's for the oncoming vehicles (you might wanna say). so, it's still cyclists' responsible to slow down & not increase speed & cheong as if he/she can surpass or car should give way.

this is a very common risk to take if you wanna cycle on the road!

Other than ting ting, i usually will give way.

When i hear ting ting, i will heck care. Either you bang me or LL wait for me.

Next time I try............turn and show the ............."long wah lah" face see how............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/why-government-not-doing-enough-160000995.html

Why is the Government Not Doing Enough to Promote Alternative Means of Transport in Singapore?

C'mon . . . this little dot is preparing to house 7M population, thus priority for gahmen is to look at the public transports, followed by transportation vehicles. if cyclings as alternative means of transport, then please rid of your crazy ideas!

I'd accept cyclings for leisure activities - the gahmen has been doing its best building park connectors across the whole island...... these cyclists should be well contented coz they did NOT contribute any $ to have these beautiful leisure routes built for them.

in fact, these routes are to be shared by joggers/strollers. but are these cyclists giving way to them???

Since cyclists are NOT giving ways to joggers/strollers, then dun expect too much especially they are NOT contributing to any $ on the road!!! if they think thay are at risk, then go buy thousands dollars insurance like any other wheels on the roads. and they still owe their shares on road tax!

I do cyclings and spent thousands on this hobby, but I do understand that Sillypore is really too small to house all 3 transportation modes on the same roads, paths or ways! thus, cycling in this island can only be encouraged as a leisure, sport or hobby - NEVER promote this as an alternative for transportation!

I (and any other cyclists) should always watch out for inconsiderate wheels on the road. but we do not risk oneself as if he/she has a share on the roads. this bad behaviours & attitudes of cyclists deserve what befalls on them; like those chao ang mos (they think this is their country roads and their so-called rights to cycle on the middle of the left lane!)
the truth is..... if there are no designated bicycle lanes, then cyclists should be the last priority!
- in parks

Agree that the article you posted here is selfish. Cyclists belong on the roads and they are a good alternative mode of transport especially for a densely populated country. Public transport is the best option and bicycles will be the next alternative as both these options take up alot less space than private vehicles. Agree with you that its selfish of them to think that cyclists should be the last priority on the roads. However I agree with the article that cyclists shouldn't be allowed on pedestrian paths though.

Next time I try............turn and show the ............."long wah lah" face see how............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

You Face got kena Porker "Long" before one or not? ... [laugh]

Edited by Chowyunfatt

You Face got kena "Long" before one or not? ... [laugh]

want i go long your face then you know................or I call that gay man come long your face............ [:p][laugh][laugh]

i think these days those electric scooters are also becoming more of an issue (or lack of better words , nuisance) on footpaths/ walkways and also at pedestrian crossings and some of them are seen in CBD this days and in long sleeve shirts commuting to work; and they go really fast and even if there is one one on coming , we peds. have to just give way to them it seems so; don't want to have an issue reaching office in time I guess, that 3 secs of giving way but they should be emboldened by that :yuush:

sorry correction

i think these days those electric scooters are also becoming more of an issue (or lack of better words , nuisance) on footpaths/ walkways and also at pedestrian crossings and some of them are seen in CBD this days and in long sleeve shirts commuting to work; and they go really fast and even if there is one one on coming , we peds. have to just give way to them it seems so; don't want to have an issue reaching office in time I guess, that 3 secs of giving way but they should NOT be emboldened by that :yuush:

Edited by BanCoe

Agree that the article you posted here is selfish. Cyclists belong on the roads and they are a good alternative mode of transport especially for a densely populated country. Public transport is the best option and bicycles will be the next alternative as both these options take up alot less space than private vehicles. Agree with you that its selfish of them to think that cyclists should be the last priority on the roads. However I agree with the article that cyclists shouldn't be allowed on pedestrian paths though.

yes, it will utterly crazy to promote cyclings as the next mode of transport on the road in this densely populated country

yes, it will be utterly selfish for cyclists to think that they can take up a lane from all the vehicles in this densely populated country but not paying for a single cent that sustain a country's transport system.

yes, it will be crazily selfish to think that cycling will take up less space where the assumptions that the big mass population including all ages, young kids, not so abled or weaker ones, patients etc. will exercise the option to cycle than drivings or taking transport vehicles!

yes, it will be crazily, selfishly foolish to think that we always have sunshine weather that encourages cyclings thus in the expense of occupying a lane from all road vehicles

yes, it will be (i dunno what to say next) to think that the lane given up for cyclist on the road will always be filled and well utilised . . . (I cannot imagine a cyclist lane in the CTE or PIE) . . . .

yes, it will be ( [confused] ) to think that increasing cyclists on the road will not increase the fatal accident rates on road and paths

http://singaporeseen...ands-waterfront

Guess your eyesight is only this far like the stomper in the video who only look at his justification and usage on the road, but not others?

Edited by A_korusawa

yes, it will utterly crazy to promote cyclings as the next mode of transport on the road in this densely populated country

yes, it will be utterly selfish for cyclists to think that they can take up a lane from all the vehicles in this densely populated country but not paying for a single cent that sustain a country's transport system.

yes, it will be crazily selfish to think that cycling will take up less space where the assumptions that the big mass population including all ages, young kids, not so abled or weaker ones, patients etc. will exercise the option to cycle than drivings or taking transport vehicles!

yes, it will be crazily, selfishly foolish to think that we always have sunshine weather that encourages cyclings thus in the expense of occupying a lane from all road vehicles

yes, it will be (i dunno what to say next) to think that the lane given up for cyclist on the road will always be filled and well utilised . . . (I cannot imagine a cyclist lane in the CTE or PIE) . . . .

yes, it will be ( [confused] ) to think that increasing cyclists on the road will not increase the fatal accident rates on road and paths

Guess your eyesight is only this far like the stomper in the video who only look at his justification and usage on the road, but not others?

Got confused by your article. I thought that the post was from the article. Didn't realise the article is a different one from what you type out so I thought you were saying that cyclists should be on the road. Ya. You are right. you only think of yourself and not others.

Edited by Nzy

- in parks

maybe some people stuck with investment in scooters and sedways and trying to fan the fire ..

yah lohhhh!

I was once very active on road cycling, spending thousands on full carbon setups, forming group cycling trips, advocating road safety, having meetups with ministers on so-called green air transport etc. myself and frens even got hurt from bike road accidents (separate incidents), going thru' the processes of claims and fault findings etc. ironically, I have also witnessed cyclists's denials on their mistakes and demands their compensations.

after much narrations with the authorities, we come to a conclusion that cycling can only be a leisure, hobby/sport but can NEVER be promoted as alternative transportations in this country!

our gahmens is advocating "tee gong" on this topic, just as they did on diesel, hybrid vehicles for carbon-free environment - eat it! this is the hard truth! they will just wait for a huge case; like someone on those scooter being crushed by a bus or lorry and let the system takes its matters (law & insurance) - then a warning sign to all..... !!!

its nowhere we can marginalize our billiion dollars transport system to give way to that cycling alternative.....

example:

cyclist vs vehicle

the car insurance industry has been sustained with millions$ just to manage that 'metal thin cans', besides medical/injury compensations.

imagine if cyclings are encouraged on the road that give rise to definite fatal accident ratings - who is gonna pay for this???

any vehicle can claim for its damages, but what can be claimed for damages by or to the cyclist?

driver can utmost be charged on inconsiderate or rash drivings (only if its proven for incidental or negligence) but its nowhere comparable to physical damages on the cyclist or by the cyclist !!!

as what Sdf4786k quoted; it's noticeably that there are geting too many of this 'crazy ppl' going around in their so-called 'green vehicles' (scooters, sedways etc.). this is worsened by those self-advocate cyclists (especially those FTs) who insisted they have the right of way on our densely, busy, expensive roads!

they kept calling it unsafe but what have they contributed to make it officially safe for cycling? - nothing but complains!

we know how our gahmens system works; managed by pay&pay, and on ROI models . . .

so, if our gahmen's willing to cut out a cyclist lane for a price in comparable to sustain the transport system, are these cyclists willing to pay?

cyclist vs pedestrian

at least, the gahmens see the needs to allow 'breathing space' for all, thus they invested on the park connectors. but they also realise that there will be 'competition' between ppl on foot and on wheels . . . so in order NOT to send the wrong message, as well as avoid further worsened in the directives . . . they start to apply laws as signal to these 'inconsiderate' or I call it 'selfish' cyclist.

from all above; why a selfish cyclist?

an accident bet. a motorbike & car - insurance claim is always in favour of the rider even if its at fault

an accident bet. a cyclist & any vehicle, the cyclist would demand the same as above.

but did the cyclist contribute any to the system?

what if the above accident is bet. a cyclist and a pedestrian?

does the cyclist have any insurance on damages and compensations???

all of us will want to have a carefree walk on the footpath in our densely populated country w/o having fear of being knocked down.

we want our kids and elders to be safe, even walking on walkways.

we oledi gave up the environments to vehicles for that purpose, and left with nothing besides our 4 walls very soon.

we even build and share connectors or sacrifice for designated lane for the cyclist (for their conveniences).

if cyclists here still think that he/she has the right of way...... then they can cycle in the designated lane, or hell.

government will always rave every issue positively

They'll tell you they encourage more singaporeans to become bus drivers and say it's an honourable job

They'll encourage more students to enter ITE as the skillsets learnt are valuable to society

They'll encourage more people to take public transport and say the infrastructure are reliable and modern

naturally they'll advocate cycling and say it's good for health and biofriendly

Selective editing - the cyclist must have pissed the driver off before he cycled against the traffic at the beginning of the clip, and then onto the pavement. Both are technically against the regulations.