Ingenius Turbocharged October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 (edited) Anyone can recommend me a popular set top box for watching tv show and movies on demand ? Better still if anyone has a spare one to sell or an unwanted old model to give me to try out. thx.. p/s has been using torrent my whole life so wanna join the other dark side. Edited October 28, 2015 by Ingenius ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 (edited) Anyone can recommend me a popular set top box for watching tv show and movies on demand ? Better still if anyone has a spare one to sell or an unwanted old model to give me to try out. thx.. p/s has been using torrent my whole life so wanna join the other dark side. locally it's minix. Can check the fb group and see what models are people getting. X6 (for basic) or X8H (more hardware). Qoo10 got sell. Lazda for the X8. On TB, i would recommend Himedia H7G3 Edited October 28, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 Anyone can recommend me a popular set top box for watching tv show and movies on demand ? Better still if anyone has a spare one to sell or an unwanted old model to give me to try out. thx.. p/s has been using torrent my whole life so wanna join the other dark side. i think torrent is darker lor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 (edited) Ok noted the models will check them out, thanks for the recommendations. I have never had one and always marvel and wonder if it is better or the usual download and watch later method. I ever saw one of these in my friends place, and when he demo to me, he showed me that some porn titles are inevitably shown, which makes me worried for my young viewers at home. lol. To add, this is more for my family and children. Again, anyone has a old model hording around, can give me to try ? Edited October 28, 2015 by Ingenius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 Ok noted the models will check them out, thanks for the recommendations. I have never had one and always marvel and wonder if it is better or the usual download and watch later method. I ever saw one of these in my friends place, and when he demo to me, he showed me that some porn titles are inevitably shown, which makes me concern for my young viewers at home. lol. To add, this is more for my family and children. Again, anyone has a old model hording around, can give me to try ? Porn titles? Frankly I've not encountered before. Definitely not within genesis or the other commonly used addons within kodi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Author Share October 28, 2015 Porn titles? Frankly I've not encountered before. Definitely not within genesis or the other commonly used addons within kodi. my kodi have leh no joke but I never install Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 Porn titles? Frankly I've not encountered before. Definitely not within genesis or the other commonly used addons within kodi. Wait, let's be clear, are these Android set top boxes same as those streaming boxes sold in Sim Lim ? I am confused. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 Wait, let's be clear, are these Android set top boxes same as those streaming boxes sold in Sim Lim ? I am confused. 90% of streaming boxes are essentially cheap android boxes (something similar to the power of a samsung galaxy S2). Same chip and motherboard u get inside. Because android apps are the best way to get your app to thousands of potential viewers, so most tv boxes are still based on the android system so that they won't have to reprogram their own app to use on the box. U have to know that in china, most people are also using the android app itself to watch on their tv. The audience is more than people who just use boxes. 10% for example, maige, use a box (similar to SH and ST) with their own program. These boxes can't be used to do anything else. So if the provider closes down (run and close shop after gettign the subscription $), the box is worthless. my kodi have leh no joke but I never install really? I've installed kodi many times, but I've never found any porn available on the default options available. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 I see, good knowledge for non-users like me, now I know. Thanks , you have been most forthcoming and helpful. cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Author Share October 28, 2015 90% of streaming boxes are essentially cheap android boxes (something similar to the power of a samsung galaxy S2). Same chip and motherboard u get inside. Because android apps are the best way to get your app to thousands of potential viewers, so most tv boxes are still based on the android system so that they won't have to reprogram their own app to use on the box. U have to know that in china, most people are also using the android app itself to watch on their tv. The audience is more than people who just use boxes. 10% for example, maige, use a box (similar to SH and ST) with their own program. These boxes can't be used to do anything else. So if the provider closes down (run and close shop after gettign the subscription $), the box is worthless. really? I've installed kodi many times, but I've never found any porn available on the default options available. really have tonight I go and see which folder then I tell you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 really have tonight I go and see which folder then I tell you Do a screenshot. NPNT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Author Share October 28, 2015 Do a screenshot. NPNT. ok tonight I do but from what I remember only three only probably those angmo one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 Anyone can recommend me a popular set top box for watching tv show and movies on demand ? Better still if anyone has a spare one to sell or an unwanted old model to give me to try out. thx.. p/s has been using torrent my whole life so wanna join the other dark side. At no cost to you, just download tvmc and install on your PC. http://www.tvaddons.ag/tvmc-windows/ You get Kodi with tvaddons Play with Genesis and watch your favourite movies and tv. Unfortunately, it's mostly for english only. tv box is just a dedicated box running certain OS and the apps, with network connection and hdmi output to tv. If you like what you see on your PC, then you can proceed to buy a box and install the same apps and more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 At no cost to you, just download tvmc and install on your PC. http://www.tvaddons.ag/tvmc-windows/ You get Kodi with tvaddons Play with Genesis and watch your favourite movies and tv. Unfortunately, it's mostly for english only. tv box is just a dedicated box running certain OS and the apps, with network connection and hdmi output to tv. If you like what you see on your PC, then you can proceed to buy a box and install the same apps and more. I see. so it is a streaming app like those on an android phone. Is this classified as video on demand ? cos if not then might as well just d\l and watch later. thx. Am still not sure if I should buy one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 I see. so it is a streaming app like those on an android phone. Is this classified as video on demand ? cos if not then might as well just d\l and watch later. thx. Am still not sure if I should buy one. Yes, it's video on demand. You search, select, click and watch. You can pause, stop and come back later to watch again by resuming play from where you stop. D/L is more dangerous now, with Dallas case and TPP coming up. Watch and forget it. Don't keep copies. You can always repeat watching any time. Before you spend money, try the tvaddons download first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 Looks like tonight must go and re-download Kodi+Genesis liao... Very lazy to go and slowly climb hill... then sometimes no "signboards" somemore (read "subs"). Any repos for Asian LiveTV? Like Taiwan's cable channels. That's what I liked about TVAPP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Share October 28, 2015 (edited) Looks like tonight must go and re-download Kodi+Genesis liao... Very lazy to go and slowly climb hill... then sometimes no "signboards" somemore (read "subs"). Any repos for Asian LiveTV? Like Taiwan's cable channels. That's what I liked about TVAPP. generally kodi is not the best for live tv. I would look for other apps. HDPTV and SEA TV are some options. But I'm not sure what u looking for. I usually only find some taiwan news channels in case my FIL want to watch. Edited October 28, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 28, 2015 Author Share October 28, 2015 Yes, it's video on demand. You search, select, click and watch. You can pause, stop and come back later to watch again by resuming play from where you stop. D/L is more dangerous now, with Dallas case and TPP coming up. Watch and forget it. Don't keep copies. You can always repeat watching any time. Before you spend money, try the tvaddons download first. I use my vpn to watch yesterday Not going to risk any crap ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...