O level results coming out soon!

Mason016

Really?

When i disrupted. I talked to my sispec friends who did the ACLS course, they said the exercise in TW is quite shack. And i talked to them a few months later after they went infantry unit, they said lagi more siong lol. And my friends are quite fit and can really cheong suah one (way better than me anyway).

When i did NDP in 2008, was talking to the NSF Guards 3SG. He say SCS (the renamed sispec) is nuah compared to life as a Guardsman.

I think is because of the terrain and drier air. Some ppl can be very fit but cannot take the walking terrain of TW. Brunei on the other hand has a totally different terrain and humidity which some may find easy for moment. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  

Really?

When i disrupted. I talked to my sispec friends who did the ACLS course, they said the exercise in TW is quite shack. And i talked to them a few months later after they went infantry unit, they said lagi more siong lol. And my friends are quite fit and can really cheong suah one (way better than me anyway).

When i did NDP in 2008, was talking to the NSF Guards 3SG. He say SCS (the renamed sispec) is nuah compared to life as a Guardsman.

You are older than me by a couple of years I think. Probably some changes due to safety?

I can't talk about infantry but in a combat engineer battalion, its confirmed less siong than OBS.

I think is because of the terrain and drier air. Some ppl can be very fit but cannot take the walking terrain of TW. Brunei on the other hand has a totally different terrain and humidity which some may find easy for moment. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  

Speaking of brunei. We had a few Bruneians and an Indon on exchange with us during training. These were experienced career soldiers but not trained in the same vocation - I imagine they'd be the creme of the crop?

Fitness wise, the Bruneians were runt sized but damn fit. But once you throw the full equipment on them, their small size meant that they couldn't do much  [laugh]

You are older than me by a couple of years I think. Probably some changes due to safety?

I can't talk about infantry but in a combat engineer battalion, its confirmed less siong than OBS.

Speaking of brunei. We had a few Bruneians and an Indon on exchange with us during training. These were experienced career soldiers but not trained in the same vocation - I imagine they'd be the creme of the crop?

Fitness wise, the Bruneians were runt sized but damn fit. But once you throw the full equipment on them, their small size meant that they couldn't do much  [laugh]

is a matter of getting used to i think. The body is adjusted to the usual way it needs to work mah. Same case when we were in Australia, their operational weight would have killed us already, but still we manage to walk faster than them and move faster than them. Thais are the best  lot so far, sibei tough.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

today is the final day for the JAE, my son surprised me with his choices of course in Poly, leaving last 5 choices for  JC.

As an 'open' parent, i leave the decision to him but have explained the pro and con, prospect and what to expect, and even finance (for courses that i won't be able to support if he go uni), i can only say 'he is out of my control'   [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]

[laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

today is the final day for the JAE, my son surprised me with his choices of course in Poly, leaving last 5 choices for  JC.

As an 'open' parent, i leave the decision to him but have explained the pro and con, prospect and what to expect, and even finance (for courses that i won't be able to support if he go uni), i can only say 'he is out of my control'   [sweatdrop]  

[laugh]  [laugh] 

whats the surprise? sound like a big surprise.   [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

whats the surprise? sound like a big surprise. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

a course that no local uni offer a degree in and i can't afford the overseas uni [:(]

As an 'open' parent, i leave the decision to him but have explained the pro and con, prospect and what to expect, and even finance (for courses that i won't be able to support if he go uni), i can only say 'he is out of my control'   [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]

Ya.  Leave it to him as long as he knows what he wants.

My cousin too.  Her daughter can get into Tampines JC but she doesn't want and opt for Ngee Ann poly international marketing course instead and she did well for her poly and got into NUS and graduated.

Another example is my colleague, her son got 16 points, can get into JC but opt for Singapore Poly business course instead and he did well in his poly and now he is 2nd year in his NUS.

My kid put SRJC as first choice.  Hope she gets in.

My cousin too.  Her daughter can get into Tampines JC but she doesn't want and opt for Ngee Ann poly international marketing course instead and she did well for her poly and got into NUS and graduated.

Another example is my colleague, her son got 16 points, can get into JC but opt for Singapore Poly business course instead and he did well in his poly and now he is 2nd year in his NUS.

last time I always hear this joke, the poly guys dont like the ITE guys and the uni fellows hate those from poly. The first year is always like a revision to these guys, and most usually ended up doing quite alright. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  

the problem is not about going to poly, is the course   :wacko:  :wacko:

last time I always hear this joke, the poly guys dont like the ITE guys and the uni fellows hate those from poly. The first year is always like a revision to these guys, and most usually ended up doing quite alright. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  

Actually now ITE standard also quite good.  If do well in ITE can go into Poly then followed by university.  Just that the path is longer.

My friend's hb was from ITE  aerospace engineering last time.  He graduated and worked his way up to aerospace engineer now, earning alot of $.   I think along the way, he did some courses to upgrade himself.

yah, sometimes they just want a course that nobody offer or very cold one. I can understand that.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

What course he choose?  I think not all courses in university need to be linked to the course you take in poly right?

My relative took International marketing in poly and took up Marketing in NUS.

My colleague's son took marketing in poly and took up dun know what computer/IT in NUS.   As he didn't go into JC, he needs to take additional subject like English and Maths whereas the JC students can skip these. 

Actually now ITE standard also quite good.  If do well in ITE can go into Poly then followed by university.  Just that the path is longer.

My friend's hb was from ITE  aerospace engineering last time.  He graduated and worked his way up to aerospace engineer now, earning alot of $.   I think along the way, he did some courses to upgrade himself.

I actually has a few army mates whom for some reasons end up in VIs ( those NTC2 before they call it ITE), and a few from the then STI ( they did ITC, I think long gone liao also). Many of them went on to do full time poly, all graduated with some at least 2nd upper later in Uni.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I think we are in the same era.  Yes, our time was VI and STI. 

[grouphug]  [grouphug]  [grouphug]  hehehe. at least got someone understand the terms.