Jay1980 1st Gear May 6, 2016 Share May 6, 2016 Hello all, just like to check for bros who have the Lancer EX 1.6 , any comments on it, in terms of ride and fuel consumption etc? I found the pickup abit sluggish and fuel consumption not so good .. I'm getting 9 to 10km/l only.. Maybe still running in.. Now 2000km only.. Will further monitor. But 1 thing I find mit servicing different from some other brand... Our servicing is 1k already change syn oil thus the next servicing is another 10k. Where my friend Toyota is 1k, 5k mineral oil then 10k change syn oil ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavey Neutral Newbie May 7, 2016 Share May 7, 2016 Thanks Jay.. I am now on the Lancer GLX, in the past also 1, 5, 10 k servicing.. So yes it is strange from 1k to 10 k. Will have a closer look at it then see how. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator May 7, 2016 Share May 7, 2016 I found the pickup abit sluggish and fuel consumption not so good .. I'm getting 9 to 10km/l only.. Maybe still running in.. Now 2000km only.. Will further monitor. But 1 thing I find mit servicing different from some other brand... Our servicing is 1k already change syn oil thus the next servicing is another 10k. Where my friend Toyota is 1k, 5k mineral oil then 10k change syn oil For FC, U a lot of city driving I guess? Normal conventional thinking is to change EO at 1k after minor run in so as to get rid of any possible impurities. After which shld be 10k for each service. I guess Toyota extra careful to change another time at 5k but guess there is no right, no wrong way so the manufacturer shld have their own recommended intervals. Conti cars don't even change at 1k n some only first EO change at 15k!! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay1980 1st Gear May 7, 2016 Share May 7, 2016 For FC, U a lot of city driving I guess? Normal conventional thinking is to change EO at 1k after minor run in so as to get rid of any possible impurities. After which shld be 10k for each service. I guess Toyota extra careful to change another time at 5k but guess there is no right, no wrong way so the manufacturer shld have their own recommended intervals. Conti cars don't even change at 1k n some only first EO change at 15k!! Hopefully the fuel consumption will improve.. anyway still slightly better then my pervious car mazda 6 sp which I got of average 8 to 9km/l... but that was a 2litre 1.5ton car... hmmmm 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 8, 2016 Share May 8, 2016 Got anywhere to install laser shades on a sunday? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neo 1st Gear May 9, 2016 Author Share May 9, 2016 Hopefully the fuel consumption will improve.. anyway still slightly better then my pervious car mazda 6 sp which I got of average 8 to 9km/l... but that was a 2litre 1.5ton car... hmmmm Bro I am getting about 10.5 - 11km/litre. Dont mind me asking which rpm range do you normally drive at? I had 20% NCD paying about $2.2 I have check and the following can be used from 1.5/2.0: - Strut bar etc. - Coilover - Air snorkel (I replace mine with the Ralliart snorkel) There should be more Will like to add on. Do not bother to try to anti-roll bar for 1.5/2.0 Cannot fit our ride 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Just to cfm,the 1.6ex is fwd right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
drivers 2nd Gear May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Just to cfm,the 1.6ex is fwd right? Yes...fwd. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay1980 1st Gear May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Bro I am getting about 10.5 - 11km/litre. Dont mind me asking which rpm range do you normally drive at? Will like to add on. Do not bother to try to anti-roll bar for 1.5/2.0 Cannot fit our ride Never rev above 3k rpm as still running in... maybe is because city driving... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 (edited) Yes...fwd. Thanks. Coz, the last I read in a mag couple of years back in the library was that its AWD. Then, new car section, though it states FWD, the sprint is 13.6 sec. My BIL drives the 1.5 Ex, rated at 12.5 sec. Now 7 yo, clocking past 130-140k km. Cabin condition is still good. Quality plastics. When new 11km per L. Then when he switched to 17 inch, with sprint booster, at 4 out of 7 in favor of pick up he claims can get ~10km per litre. iirc, he does ~2/3 highway. With wear & tear, by now he should be 9.5 to 10km per L I suppose. The 1.5 Ex iirc has comp slightly higher at 11:1. And Mivec controls both timing & lift. So imo, 95 ron will be good. Edited May 9, 2016 by Baal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 Actually 205/55, 205/60-16, were oem sizes for e class of the 90s. Maybe for a little more pick up n better fc, after worn, go 195/60-16. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 9-10kmlitre is seriously bad for a jap bnb sedan. How to tahan? Even Chevrolet Orlando can do better Go petrol kiosk super sian. Mazda 3 does 15kmlitre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahbear82 2nd Gear May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 I heard for lancer EX, you can actually do your servicing/ repair in Johor as they have authorise Mitsubishi workshop there, something abt proton bought over the Lancer model. Anyone bros go in to service to save cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ThErMuS Neutral Newbie May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 9-10kmlitre is seriously bad for a jap bnb sedan. How to tahan? Even Chevrolet Orlando can do better Go petrol kiosk super sian. Mazda 3 does 15kmlitre that is what i am getting on my lancer ex too.. FC sucks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay1980 1st Gear May 9, 2016 Share May 9, 2016 9-10kmlitre is seriously bad for a jap bnb sedan. How to tahan? Even Chevrolet Orlando can do better Go petrol kiosk super sian. Mazda 3 does 15kmlitre Orlando is definitely worst.. my colleague driving it.. don't know is because still running in or really so jialat.. he getting 7km/l now only.. it's 1.4l yet the turbo seems drink... but his still running in.. must ask those old birdie of Orlando then can know real live figure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormee 5th Gear May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 (edited) Guys, Mine is doing at least 14km/L. Started with RON 98 for 1 or 2 tanks after collect car, switched to RON 95 till now for 5 months. But I would say I do more highway driving den city. Mostly to and fro work on TPE. Always clocked >660km till the last bar and pump usually 46-47L.. Never did more den 2.5krpm when picking up. Kinda slow though. Max 2.5krpm when doing 90km/h at highway, but the traffic nowadays during peak hours do not even allow u to cruise at 90km/h lol. Cheers. Edited May 10, 2016 by Wormee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator May 10, 2016 Share May 10, 2016 FC Very subjective on driving conditions ie more city, highway n individual driving habits so even similar car can result in varying FCs. That said, Lancer engine is old technology so can't really compare with new models like Mz3 etc with newer technology, start/stop features etc. However, it's a reliable car at fair price so can't really ask for more. If FC is the main criteria then best to get another car or get diesels or hybrid. 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neo 1st Gear May 10, 2016 Author Share May 10, 2016 Thanks. Coz, the last I read in a mag couple of years back in the library was that its AWD. Then, new car section, though it states FWD, the sprint is 13.6 sec. My BIL drives the 1.5 Ex, rated at 12.5 sec. Now 7 yo, clocking past 130-140k km. Cabin condition is still good. Quality plastics. When new 11km per L. Then when he switched to 17 inch, with sprint booster, at 4 out of 7 in favor of pick up he claims can get ~10km per litre. iirc, he does ~2/3 highway. With wear & tear, by now he should be 9.5 to 10km per L I suppose. The 1.5 Ex iirc has comp slightly higher at 11:1. And Mivec controls both timing & lift. So imo, 95 ron will be good. Bro some slight correction. 1.6EX is the one that is running on 11:1 compression whereas 1.5EX should be on 10.5:1 The minimum requirement for 1.6l will be 95RON If you are interested to meet up with fellow EX drivers (1.5/1.6/2.0) do PM me :P ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...