Singapore public servants' computers to have no Internet acc

Cantina

Most public servants should only work within their own intranet.

Only those who have to deal with 3rd party and outside public should have internet access.

Or we should be asking, what are they doing surfing at MCF during office hours.

Actually if used correctly, internet is a powerful tool for work. I use the internet often for work on stuff that I do not understand. I do not contact 3rd party, most of my "customers" are internal. But there are lots of new marine equipment and terms out there where only the internet will be able to give you possible leads and answers.

For e.g. my boss ask me to find out more about Radar scanner for oil spill control. I dont even know such equipment exist!!! Need to google, read up and contact relevant suppliers for quotation and explanation of their capabilities.

If no internet, how are the civil servants going to find out abt new technology in their field? My example above is related to MPA/PSA.

Actually if used correctly, internet is a powerful tool for work. I use the internet often for work on stuff that I do not understand. I do not contact 3rd party, most of my "customers" are internal. But there are lots of new marine equipment and terms out there where only the internet will be able to give you possible leads and answers.

For e.g. my boss ask me to find out more about Radar scanner for oil spill control. I dont even know such equipment exist!!! Need to google, read up and contact relevant suppliers for quotation and explanation of their capabilities.

If no internet, how are the civil servants going to find out abt new technology in their field? My example above is related to MPA/PSA.

my friend works at Mindef. So guess no difference for him. haha used to the tight security liao.

I hope they don't implement this at hospitals. Quite silly.

Google is great!

my friend works at Mindef. So guess no difference for him. haha used to the tight security liao.

I hope they don't implement this at hospitals. Quite silly.

Google is great!

During reservist, in the office, there will be one computer with internet access. I will be always using it. One of the websites in its history is MCF!!! [laugh]

And the buildings in the base are bomb proof!!! Always need to leave the hp at the door. Inside no signal one.

So that doctors can google and know what different drugs is and how each illness affects a person? [laugh] Yeah, some specialist google search and show me. :D

Edited by Adrianli

True, Internet is powerful, if not abused.

In the private sector, employees generally "needed" it more to go search for something.

In the public sector, they are supposed to "follow orders and protocols" more and not to be keh kian. So they need the Internet to be more productive ?

Training and dissemination of knowledge or information can always be done with the Intranet. I'm sure the gahmen has a big one.

Then there are of cuz public servants who really needs to use the Internet, they can make provisions for them to apply for such usage.

Let's not confuse Internet with Intranet.

During reservist, in the office, there will be one computer with internet access. I will be always using it. One of the websites in its history is MCF!!! [laugh]

And the buildings in the base are bomb proof!!! Always need to leave the hp at the door. Inside no signal one.

So that doctors can google and know what different drugs is and how each illness affects a person? [laugh] Yeah, some specialist google search and show me. :D

drug names are a good thing to check. Cos there's generic and branded drugs. Can be hundreds to thousands of different brands. Can't really remember.

Dosages as well. but in hospital, u can check with the pharmacist.

And sometimes forget some stuff which u studied before, just google the syndrome name, can quickly refresh memory.

My main use of internet at work is to show medical porn to patients to illustrate and explain some of the mechanism of injuries or diseased parts. Also useful to show them certain self help items like tennis elbow straps, certain exercise/stretching positions to do themselves at home for plantar fasciitis etc.

Luckily Ah Gong don't pay for my internet.

:grin:

drug names are a good thing to check. Cos there's generic and branded drugs. Can be hundreds to thousands of different brands. Can't really remember.

And sometimes forget some stuff which u studied before, just google the syndrome name, can quickly refresh memory.

Yes a few of my drug pusher friends need to go hsa lo in future

Excuses we can use

What civil servants can say to the bosses once there is “no Internet’’:

a. I can’t do any research because the sole Internet terminal is being used by you all the time.

b. Can I finish that project at home? Don’t worry. I have broadband

c. Sure thing boss. I’ll just tether my phone to the USB port

d. Can do boss! But I left my personal laptop at home

e. Will you pay for my phone data plan upgrade?

f. Update our site? How? Now????

g. You mean people are flaming us online? Gosh! I didn’t know

h. Can I snap a picture of what you sent me so I can read it later?

i. Sorry boss, I cannot do. My personal laptop has no wifi and my handphone is not smart.

j. Can be done. But I have to go to Starbucks to work.

My main use of internet at work is to show medical porn to patients to illustrate and explain some of the mechanism of injuries or diseased parts. Also useful to show them certain self help items like tennis elbow straps, certain exercise/stretching positions to do themselves at home for plantar fasciitis etc.

Luckily Ah Gong don't pay for my internet.

:grin:

a diagram/photo is a 1000 words  [laugh]

Actually is the Dematologist told me to apply sun block on my face due to my illness. Then I asked her what brand to buy and what SPF. She said Eucerin. I said I never heard of this brand before, first tot of sun block lotion came to my mind then was Banana Boat. [laugh]

She said no no no, dont buy that. She then go google and show me the brand and type I should buy. Then I asked her where to buy. She fed up, say she will put it in the prescription and I go to SGH retail pharmarcy to get it. :D

Using it currently, good brand?

Eucerin_Sun_nbsp_Face_Mattifying_Fluid_S

Actually is the Dematologist told me to apply sun block on my face due to my illness. Then I asked her what brand to buy and what SPF. She said Eucerin. I said I never heard of this brand before, first tot of sun block lotion came to my mind then was Banana Boat. [laugh]

She said no no no, dont buy that. She then go google and show me the brand and type I should buy. Then I asked her where to buy. She fed up, say she will put it in the prescription and I go to SGH retail pharmarcy to get it. :D

Using it currently, good brand?

Eucerin_Sun_nbsp_Face_Mattifying_Fluid_S

You dunno how to google ah?

Maybe he Civil Servant... getting himself mentally prepared  and ready for May 2017. :grin:

I am sitting there in the room with the doctor leh. If I sit there and use my hp to google, the patient waiting outside got to wait longer to see the doctor. She google, faster and able to get the correct item to show me.

Furthermore, when she spoke to me and said Eucerin. I didnt know the spelling, I would have tot it starts with a "U" brand. I might have googled and gotten the wrong item.

She must be chio. Want to sit there talk to her longer say lah.... :grin:

Usually patient's will just ask the doctor to spell or write on a note pad for them. Maybe I not chio. :XD:

I am sitting there in the room with the doctor leh. If I sit there and use my hp to google, the patient waiting outside got to wait longer to see the doctor. She google, faster and able to get the correct item to show me.

Furthermore, when she spoke to me and said Eucerin. I didnt know the spelling, I would have tot it starts with a "U" brand. I might have googled and gotten the wrong item.

She must be chio. Want to sit there talk to her longer say lah.... :grin:

Usually patient's will just ask the doctor to spell or write on a note pad for them. Maybe I not chio. :XD:

You old grass

I think there's a danger of people becoming a "doctor"  just by googling.