COE Bidding – 2nd Round of August 2016

Carbon82

Now that the COE results are out, the next big question will be whether ADs will adjust their prices [laugh]

Well... lets camp here and come Friday/Saturday, we will know!

Cat A prices usually follow COE directon, so definitively all upz liao!!

So this tender means prices will be stable?

My car scraps end Dec 2016. Still waiting "don't know when" a good time to buy a new car...sianz!!

Any views I should jump in now?

Tks

There's no good timing imo. I booked 3biddings back and coe was around 56 for cat B. Today AD secured my COE and it's also 56k. Eh... Thought can go lower and get rebate. Haa

Bro,  price have been adjusting down on a weekly basis lor.  The few cars of my choices are 9K to 12K off list price lor.

Go TD and get exclusive.  And not sure why so many BY INVITATION deal lor.

Show them your million eye brows that you are interested to close a deal ...... ya ....

For me, easier, I just dangle my cheque book lor ....... bring cheque book one, not joyride.

Paper says, if without the last 15 mins of 300 bids, Cat A should be below $50k.

Maybe Uber hand again.  :yuush:

Paper says, if without the last 15 mins of 300 bids, Cat A should be below $50k.

Last time when taxi companies bid the same category coe with private car, people blame the coe got pushed up. Now taxi companies no more and now comes uber companies to push up the coe?! Lol. 

no one can really challenge GOV, you know right?

No economy is really bad now, Cisco layoff 14k,HP retrench few thousand, and more ... 

Don't worry, be happy !

So this tender means prices will be stable?

My car scraps end Dec 2016. Still waiting "don't know when" a good time to buy a new car...sianz!!

Any views I should jump in now?

Tks

It's time you decide. Depending on your budget, there's no so called best timing. Not likely to see $10K COE in near future IMHO. Good Luck!

There is no indication that the COE will go down significantly in the near term - next 2 - 3 cycles, maybe more. With the open bidding system, there will not be any 'freak' results. For that to happen, the number of bids would need to be lower or very close to the quota. With the open bidding,  once people see the COE is low during the bidding window, they will jump in.

Too technical to explain but you can see this if you monitor the COE real-time during the bidding. When the number of bids is below the quota, the COE is $1 or very low. Once the bid numbers exceeds the quota, the COE will jump to $50K or more (Cat A & B). This is because of the reserve price setting of the bidders - the sellers, be they ADs or PIs. 

If you want to know the minimum COE for the bidding cycle - look at the COE rebate figures from the major ADs and add a few $K.  With the ADs setting the rebates at $50K or more, that's the absolute minimum they will set in their reserve when submitting the bids.

The other issue is that the COE result is a 'lagging indicator'.  You cannot spot the trend because a low COE may generate demand in the next cycle which will cause the COE to rise. A high COE will lessen demand and may cause the COE to go down. In a way, this smoothen the COE fluctuations caused by short term inputs. We, the buyers, may not like it but that's how the system works.  

If PH buy 100 Altis, do you think AD made the same profit margin ?

It is an opportunity cost for AD, PI and us - Car owners lor

See who crack first lor

U see on the road, I can see so many SLE car plate with LCR aat the bottom of yhe car plate. Sian

hi,

dun quite understand your last statement, what is LCR ??

why sian ??

thanks!

I always see this comment at every bidding, is there any way to know if UBER / GRAB or commercial company bid?

if you have that data, kindly show post-bidding, so everyone can know

thanks!

hi,

dun quite understand your last statement, what is LCR ??

why sian ??

thanks!

I always see this comment at every bidding, is there any way to know if UBER / GRAB or commercial company bid?

if you have that data, kindly show post-bidding, so everyone can know

thanks!

LCR= lion cityrental = uber

And this is just one of the car leasing companies in sg. They r buying so many new coe every bidding, and they might change the culture of car owning in sg

Hi Kia7200,

thanks for your reply, cool !

now I know which one is car rental liao !!!!

LCR - LION CITY RENTAL  - will look out for them !

Hi Kia7200,

LCR - LION CITY RENTAL - will look out for them !

Very obvious 1, red colour logo.

thanks!

RED COLOUR , just curious, can those car owners / rental owners, remove the lion car rental car plate licence plate and put back a KAH MOTOR / BM / Official dealer type? to hide the fact their car is rental / lease ?

other than LCR - which are the biggest car rental company ? - name ?

cheers!

I would be very interested to hear the reply from hui ge - MOT for his comments.

Just wondering whay BS he and LTA can come out with.

Actually, if you see a Altis, you can assume it is a PH, most of the time.  The next is Sienta, also a very popular PH choice. I have 2 at my in-law place CP change shift at 5~6pm everyday. 

Uber even provide them meals in Uber logo Thermal Bag !!!

As for those gigantic Villfire, Alphard almost 100% PH as probably only Jack Neo or ISD need this kind of car lor.

PH from LCR has the License Plate holder changed to show Lion City Rental, double confirmed.

Hi Kia7200,

LCR - LION CITY RENTAL  - will look out for them !