Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 Can.. As long can afford... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
G1234 3rd Gear November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 (edited) title changed, that is the best i can summarised to the limited wording. the new tittle is very misleading and Sexist. Edited November 29, 2016 by G1234 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear November 29, 2016 Author Share November 29, 2016 You must know a lot of rich technicians Technician is a broadstroke term. DSTA scholar researchers can also be called lab technicians Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 the new tittle is very misleading and racist. sexist you mean? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
G1234 3rd Gear November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 sexist you mean? hhaah ya. Was reading too much Trump stuffs lately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 hhaah ya. Was reading too much Trump stuffs lately. actually not sexist lar... a man asking if a man should be sole contributor... he never ask why only man contribute.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 The housing type defines the environment kids grow up in. I'm sure many will agree. Esp latchkey kids, those staying in those ah beng infested estates may grow up looking up to them. if it is 1950s to 1980s, then your statement about ah beng infested HDB estates might be correct. Some of them might be bukit ho swee, tiong bahru, redhill. I used to stay around there. Have some ah beng neighbours and classmates. I thought it was quite a nice area to grow up in since my platoon/co/bttn mates in the army were also a mixed bag of characters from all walks of life. But it is now 2016. Loads of new estates are already built, lived in by new and young families. And those 3 estates I mentioned above are also no longer "infested". Maybe you meant - Pte estates have facilities like swimming pools, tennis courts etc so that your child can partake in those activities without having to leave the comfort of home while those living in the heartlands will have to travel to make use of public facilities. it is not about the $12k or $xk. Your messaging does sound a little elitist. A lot of families do very well with a below $12k family income, with or without kids. I guess the bottomline is "are there smiling faces in the household, regardless of family income, individual contribution, no. of kids, ability of family members?" 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 if it is 1950s to 1980s, then your statement about ah beng infested HDB estates might be correct. Some of them might be bukit ho swee, tiong bahru, redhill. I used to stay around there. Have some ah beng neighbours and classmates. I thought it was quite a nice area to grow up in since my platoon/co/bttn mates in the army were also a mixed bag of characters from all walks of life. But it is now 2016. Loads of new estates are already built, lived in by new and young families. And those 3 estates I mentioned above are also no longer "infested". Maybe you meant - Pte estates have facilities like swimming pools, tennis courts etc so that your child can partake in those activities without having to leave the comfort of home while those living in the heartlands will have to travel to make use of public facilities. it is not about the $12k or $xk. Your messaging does sound a little elitist. A lot of families do very well with a below $12k family income, with or without kids. I guess the bottomline is "are there smiling faces in the household, regardless of family income, individual contribution, no. of kids, ability of family members?" most private estates no swimming pools and tennis courts lar... only condos have... and not all..... those in private estates still need go public swimming pool to swim.... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 if it is 1950s to 1980s, then your statement about ah beng infested HDB estates might be correct. Some of them might be bukit ho swee, tiong bahru, redhill. I used to stay around there. Have some ah beng neighbours and classmates. I thought it was quite a nice area to grow up in since my platoon/co/bttn mates in the army were also a mixed bag of characters from all walks of life. But it is now 2016. Loads of new estates are already built, lived in by new and young families. And those 3 estates I mentioned above are also no longer "infested". Maybe you meant - Pte estates have facilities like swimming pools, tennis courts etc so that your child can partake in those activities without having to leave the comfort of home while those living in the heartlands will have to travel to make use of public facilities. it is not about the $12k or $xk. Your messaging does sound a little elitist. A lot of families do very well with a below $12k family income, with or without kids. I guess the bottomline is "are there smiling faces in the household, regardless of family income, individual contribution, no. of kids, ability of family members?" elites with elitist views are not surprising elites with non elitist views then are... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 most private estates no swimming pools and tennis courts lar... only condos have... and not all..... those in private estates still need go public swimming pool to swim.... lol my bad. I was referring to most pte condo developments. the normal landed properties will mostly not have those facilities but some do squeeze in a lap pool here and there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 my bad. I was referring to most pte condo developments. the normal landed properties will mostly not have those facilities but some do squeeze in a lap pool here and there. actually i always find it dangerous to have lap pool when you have small kids around Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear November 29, 2016 Author Share November 29, 2016 my bad. I was referring to most pte condo developments. the normal landed properties will mostly not have those facilities but some do squeeze in a lap pool here and there. Very simple solution , have both. Stay in the landed, rent out condo for passive income and can use the facilities at the same time . Then again, it boils down to the realistic numbers that matter right ? Really, let's not get stuck with a number. I said earlier , different people have different definitions what's ample and what's not. And the twain will not meet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
G1234 3rd Gear November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 wah 12k/month income is low? how come i can have car, hdb flat and raise 3 kids on much less? Younger family now have high HDB debt. If your HDB is already paid for, or paid off, then it makes a big different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 wah 12k/month income is low? how come i can have car, hdb flat and raise 3 kids on much less? You see The problem is the more u earn, the more u spend The converse may be true Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 Younger family now have high HDB debt. If your HDB is already paid for, or paid off, then it makes a big different. even if higher debt, monthly CPF from dual income should be able to cover if they buy within their means... don't see how big a difference it will make in fact the difference is likely the loan taken or savings used to spend on crazy reno amounts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 (edited) Younger family now have high HDB debt. If your HDB is already paid for, or paid off, then it makes a big different. double post Edited November 29, 2016 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 An Old Fashion Chinese Business Man once told me ... A Wife, should always be the one to look after the Family and Home ... By doing this, the Husband will not have to worry about anything back home and as such, he will be able to fully concentrate on his work and provide for his family. In return, the Wife should have a name in the Family Finances and should never have to worry about money. This will give her a peace of mind and security. Respect begets respect ... No need to define ... No need to calculate ... Disclaimer ... Not I say one ... Traditionally this has worked as the man is generally much better in making money and the woman is good being a home maker. Now................... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 29, 2016 Share November 29, 2016 Errr.... I have to object this one. Men mature later than women. 10 years older maybe is just about right. Maybe I have an old soul. But then I see many men much much older but still never seem to mature, so 10 years might not be enough. lol. Coming from me who dated mostly guys slightly younger, same age or +4.I don't think so. I feel that the men so much older would have too strong an influence over the marriage in terms of experience and possibly wisdom. Especially for young women in their early 20s vs 30s men. 5 to 7 years difference at the most ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...