Tanhangkiang 3rd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 from yesterday straits timesHard and not so hard to imagine 31k coe. My imagination. Altis 89k Impreza 79k Mazda 3 84k Hyundai/Kia 69k Mitsubishi attracts 59k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 Hard and not so hard to imagine 31k coe. My imagination. Altis 89k Impreza 79k Mazda 3 84k Hyundai/Kia 69k Mitsubishi attracts 59k AD maybe able to give good indicator since they are the major players ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perspectivism 3rd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 AD maybe able to give good indicator since they are the major players ha maybe AD smell smoke in the air? quickly clear? i dont feel good about our economy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 maybe AD smell smoke in the air? quickly clear? i dont feel good about our economy not easy to get so many buyers every 2 weeks with 30/40% down payment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perspectivism 3rd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 not easy to get so many buyers every 2 weeks with 30/40% down payment i find now the market super oversaturated liao PH already reach peak economy not so good traffic jam to the brim dont think COE has any chance of going up the trend for past few years since 80+k has been clear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 (edited) not easy to get so many buyers every 2 weeks with 30/40% down paymentI dont believe it too but the past two years has been proving me wrong that every 2 weeks has many people could afford 30/40% down payment. maybe AD smell smoke in the air? quickly clear? i dont feel good about our economy I dont feel good about the economy too, it is so difficult to get a job these days but government just reported their tax related income has improved by 5% YoY. I dont know where the good economy is from. Edited August 27, 2017 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perspectivism 3rd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 I dont believe it too but the past two years has been proving me wrong that every 2 weeks has many people could afford 30/40% down payment. I dont feel good about the economy too, it is so difficult to get a job these days but government just reported their tax related income has improved by 5% YoY. I dont know where the good economy is from. sometimes i wonder how many % of these are using those shady loans and how many % are PH wannabes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 sometimes i wonder how many % of these are using those shady loans and how many % are PH wannabes It is up to anybody's guess but banking data shows that people are taking lesser loan while car are getting more expensive. Fact is also COE proce has been staying strong which is inline with governemnt's intention. COE may continue to fluctuate around this level for a few months but unlikely to go too low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jjandyy 4th Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 i drive a car myself. but i do not feel jealous when i see people being stuck along massive jams and having to part with $2k a month to feed their cars so anyone who offers a counterargument to owning a car is doing so because 'he is jealous'? i really agree with you regarding: time as an argument, but what about those massive jams into HDB heartlands? i drive, but sometimes taking train is really faster option secondly, "you do what you want with your money esp if one has excess of them". i also agree; but what about people who have to plan their parking and routes extremely carefully and some even have to tailgate other cars to escape parking charges? Massive jam into HDB heartland? I live in heartland and I don't see massive jam to my heartland any day on peak hours. So it is not appropriate to generalise here, not everyone who drive live in your heartland or my heartland. And the definition of massive is pretty subjective too. Yes we will definitely see congestions during peak hours, that is also why it is called peak hours. But the effect to each individual will be different. Someone who takes the bus will also be stuck in the same massive jam into HDB heartland. On planning on parking and ERP charges and tailgate to escape parking charges, it is pretty obvious that these are minority cases although you feel them to be common, because many motorists do not care about paying ERP or parking charges, evident by the ineffective results from ERP to control congestions. And I still see many people park at expensive carparks in the city, and I am still on waiting list for season parking at my workplace. There will always be people who will try to beat the system by 'planning' or 'tailgating' but I don't think many will waste time doing that in efficient Singapore..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 If choose to use your hard earned money to buy èè£ (vanity, narcissism, pride), imo it is clearly a fool's choice, like all Drivers. As I explained TIME is not saved when u get stuck in daily after office hour jam on all major roads n expressway, CONVENIENCE is even better with G/ U nowadays (no need queue for parking also), control privacy status are all èè£, as u admitted vanity n pride is the 1 reason u never give up driving? If car price is so cheap, there will be so many G/U, and so much jam on the road that driving will become slower than taking public transport. Maybe u will buy 4 cars since you can afford when car price falls to a quarter? There are people who value time, convenience, privacy, etc over money. There are also people who value money over everything else.Fact of life is money is not everything in life and don't let money overrule your life that you only care about money and nothing else. Probably time is not saved if only you got stuck in the traffic jam doesn’t mean I can't enjoy the privacy after a hard day of hard, doesn’t mean I do not have the time to think about my work schedule of today and tomorrow, what to buy dinner for my kids later, or even plan for my weekend plans, etc. For me, time is not that important because I don't really mind traffic jams and I don't mind taking buses, even if it takes longer. Coming from a person who switched from fully taking public transport to driving, the benefits of driving became much more than taking public transport. The only bad thing of driving is cost, but cost is all artificially inflated by the govt to make our lives worse off. At least I had freed myself from the public transport days, like the frustrations of multiple transfers just to get to the destination, the frustrations of waiting for each transfers, the frustrations of the crowded buses and can't even get a seat or even being squeezed like a sardine in the crowded buses/Mrt almost everyday to work, the frustrations of other inconsiderate people who disturbed my sleep in the bus with loud music, ringtones, and even spreading of disease (yes, I got a very bad flu recently because many people were sneezing in the bus, think it's a flu season, and I'm not spared from the sick guy sitting beside me), frustration of non privacy because of stupid people trying to earn the 50 dollars in STOMP, and not to mention the frustrations of train delays (even though I don't take MRT). We all work hard to make our lives better,and also make our families closer and give them a better and more convenient life in the car. If working doesn’t allow you to improve your life and the lives of your closed ones, why do you work for and why do you earn so much for? Hoarding your money does have some purpose in future planning but it should also bring value to your life now too, based on its monetary value now. What you think you could have saved now will probably lose more value for every dollar in the future. If you looked back, you could have think that you could have spend some money to improve your life back then. Fact is money losing its value over time is inevitable in today's world and if you do not make use of its higher value today to enjoy some non monetary values today, then what is the value or purpose of your life? I almost quit my job back then before I got a car, because I wasn't motivated to continue slogging in the rat race and can't improve my lifestyle with the money earned. So I bought my first car, stopped those negative thinking, and moved on with my work life and still keep moving and motivated today, and also tomorrow. Actually if talking about saving the environment, yes, I would like to get a greener car for my future cars, if car manufacturers can offer good options and also the govt in doing their part to make such cars reasonably priced. However overpopulation in Singapore is a problem. I'm not convinced of the problems of traffic jams or crowded buses. If we do not stop this overpopulation problem in Singapore, everything, not just transport, will be problematic that will only drag the country further worse off. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanhangkiang 3rd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 not easy to get so many buyers every 2 weeks with 30/40% down payment A*di SE told me that COE is going up very soon, because the CAT B car such as Harrier turbo is arriving. Once the stock are in Singapore, there is no risks of ship sink, then with the engine model and number clearly stated, they would go for force COE bidding this time round. Therefore, price of COE will go up this time. My view of the COE trend, based on moving average data. i find now the market super oversaturated liao PH already reach peak economy not so good traffic jam to the brim dont think COE has any chance of going up the trend for past few years since 80+k has been clear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tmsan 3rd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 i drive a car myself. but i do not feel jealous when i see people being stuck along massive jams and having to part with $2k a month to feed their cars so anyone who offers a counterargument to owning a car is doing so because 'he is jealous'? i really agree with you regarding: time as an argument, but what about those massive jams into HDB heartlands? i drive, but sometimes taking train is really faster option secondly, "you do what you want with your money esp if one has excess of them". i also agree; but what about people who have to plan their parking and routes extremely carefully and some even have to tailgate other cars to escape parking charges? Thanks for sharing your insights n being less hostile than the rest. For the rest, my point is hard earned money must spend wisely even though u hv a lot money, I m sure u can find many better ways spend your money, n at the same time more than satisfy your transport needs through other means than car ownership. Why other countries NO pay $50-100k for a piece of paper (now no need even to print any paper already, even road tax paper also saved, parking coupon paper also saved) other countries car so cheap, parking Anywhere also free, n yet they give up driving, we still haven't wake up? Must wait until ERP v2 implement? ERP2 implement the more u drive u pay more, buy car dun drive u buy for what? Those only go home after peak hours mrt got seats UG so cheap subsidied by all the big banks, why need to drive? If need to drive becos of work, it is your job (your boss) that needs the car, not you. ask your boss to provide a car no need come this forum n monitor coe. Bosses dun come this forum, probably 99% all car dealers here sit in office nothing to do. If u need to fetch family, it is family that needs transport, not you, some more fetching people all over the place is waste time waste petrol get stuck in jam even more. Convenience is kids dun study so far (kiasu parent volunteers at 630am stand besides the road suck in poison), old already then 60+ can die no need live so old for what, spend all the time in and out of hospital at old age becos you hv been suck in too much monocide, been Drivers for too many years get stuck in jam end up high blood high colestrol? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ziege 2nd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 sometimes i wonder how many % of these are using those shady loans and how many % are PH wannabes I would say a mix.. me and my friend bought A3 and Civic 1.6 respectively. We both took min loan to get the financing incentive. If there is no penalty we would pay full cash. On the other hand, visited a few ADs, they all hint the ability to get min. Downpayment if needed. Especially so if you got a car to trade in. Without solid data to differentiate the 2 groups, whatever discussed here is purely speculative Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 A*di SE told me that COE is going up very soon, because the CAT B car such as Harrier turbo is arriving. Once the stock are in Singapore, there is no risks of ship sink, then with the engine model and number clearly stated, they would go for force COE bidding this time round. Therefore, price of COE will go up this time. Cat B now till end Dec 17.PNG My view of the COE trend, based on moving average data. Dont worry. They will find some way to change/counterfix the trend of yr graph. History has proven it many times. Just the stubborn one keep trying to ignore and begging the economic factor can help them out Nevertheless, this hope will end once the coe quota drought season has arrived Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanhangkiang 3rd Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 not easy to get so many buyers every 2 weeks with 30/40% down payment Agree. Cold hard cash is not always readily available. talking about around 4000 tickets of COE each month till year end, the total number of COE for CAT A and B alone is probably 16,000 tickets. This is 400 million of cold hard cash, and another 800 million of loans issued from banks. the sale of average showroom with 400 cars or more per weekend, booking 40 million of sales each weekend combined. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 You have very very narrow field of vision.... With correspondingly singular track of thoughts. From my previous experience in trying to have a meaningful discussion with similar personality, likely will be a futile exercise. Good luck for the rest of your life (assuming is a very long time into your 90s since you don't suck in carbon monoxide, fully healthy without risk of getting hypertension, hyperlipdaemia, diabetes, stroke, cancer) Thanks for sharing your insights n being less hostile than the rest.For the rest, my point is hard earned money must spend wisely even though u hv a lot money, I m sure u can find many better ways spend your money, n at the same time more than satisfy your transport needs through other means than car ownership. Why other countries NO pay $50-100k for a piece of paper (now no need even to print any paper already, even road tax paper also saved, parking coupon paper also saved) other countries car so cheap, parking Anywhere also free, n yet they give up driving, we still haven't wake up? Must wait until ERP v2 implement? ERP2 implement the more u drive u pay more, buy car dun drive u buy for what? Those only go home after peak hours mrt got seats UG so cheap subsidied by all the big banks, why need to drive?If need to drive becos of work, it is your job (your boss) that needs the car, not you. ask your boss to provide a car no need come this forum n monitor coe. Bosses dun come this forum, probably 99% all car dealers here sit in office nothing to do. If u need to fetch family, it is family that needs transport, not you, some more fetching people all over the place is waste time waste petrol get stuck in jam even more.Convenience is kids dun study so far (kiasu parent volunteers at 630am stand besides the road suck in poison), old already then 60+ can die no need live so old for what, spend all the time in and out of hospital at old age becos you hv been suck in too much monocide, been Drivers for too many years get stuck in jam end up high blood high colestrol? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jjandyy 4th Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 Thanks for sharing your insights n being less hostile than the rest. For the rest, my point is hard earned money must spend wisely even though u hv a lot money, I m sure u can find many better ways spend your money, n at the same time more than satisfy your transport needs through other means than car ownership. Why other countries NO pay $50-100k for a piece of paper (now no need even to print any paper already, even road tax paper also saved, parking coupon paper also saved) other countries car so cheap, parking Anywhere also free, n yet they give up driving, we still haven't wake up? Must wait until ERP v2 implement? ERP2 implement the more u drive u pay more, buy car dun drive u buy for what? Those only go home after peak hours mrt got seats UG so cheap subsidied by all the big banks, why need to drive? If need to drive becos of work, it is your job (your boss) that needs the car, not you. ask your boss to provide a car no need come this forum n monitor coe. Bosses dun come this forum, probably 99% all car dealers here sit in office nothing to do. If u need to fetch family, it is family that needs transport, not you, some more fetching people all over the place is waste time waste petrol get stuck in jam even more. Convenience is kids dun study so far (kiasu parent volunteers at 630am stand besides the road suck in poison), old already then 60+ can die no need live so old for what, spend all the time in and out of hospital at old age becos you hv been suck in too much monocide, been Drivers for too many years get stuck in jam end up high blood high colestrol? The main question I have, why do you feel so much for everyone else when they don't even affect you in any ways? The chinese say 'Emperor not stressed/Kan Cheong, eunuchs are stressed'. Unless they are pushing up or sustaining COE prices that it affected your chance or made you paid for it..... sorry just wondering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear August 27, 2017 Share August 27, 2017 On planning on parking and ERP charges and tailgate to escape parking charges, it is pretty obvious that these are minority cases although you feel them to be common, because many motorists do not care about paying ERP or parking charges, evident by the ineffective results from ERP to control congestions. ERP is effective if it is high enough. From observations, it takes $4 to be effective. CTE peak $6 charge is pretty effective. Traffic comes to a standstill after 9am. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...