Lala81 Hypersonic May 7 Share May 7 (edited) On 5/7/2025 at 5:13 PM, Tkseah said: Guess that's why u bought a phone that support microsd.. U using android not so bad.. android phone prices dun jump so much with storage increase as compared to iPhone.. Tbh, probably won't use the extra storage. Haha but good to have that option. Oppo stored it's photos as heic (used by apple) which saves a lot of space. Not sure for Samsung. Edited May 7 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 4:18 PM, Kb27 said: Misfiring is likely due to ignition coils, if the spark plugs you bought are compatible. Misfiring starts with one bad coil. You can replace the bad one and continue using the car. But sooner or later, the others start to break down and misfire again. That's why we replace all of them at the same time. They are wear and tear parts. Spark plugs need to have the correct heat range, correct electrode length and spark plug gap distance. If the spark plug gap distance is wrong, you also have funny problem like misfiring or over-rich combustion. We'd use a feeler gauge to measure/adjust the gap. Normally IIRC it's 1.1mm for Hyundai engine. Yes and no. I replaced only one coil and the rest lasted for the next 2yrs. not totally true that one coil fail the rest must follow. They do not need to be replaced as a set. They either work or do not. I got smoked by incompetent local mechanics who base their knowledge on their sifu or whatever. for sparks yes. Cause the plugs can be worn. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 4:31 PM, Lala81 said: The last time for my accord, I had problems was cos of the difference between 2.0 and 2.4L Engines having different spark plugs and the distributor got the wrong info. So I got refund and paid for the workshop to get the correct ones. This time mine are original spark plugs. So I don't get why they can't work in the first place. If really so lousily manufactured that original sets don't work. then won't the workshop need to stock multiple spares just for one set to work. I smell BS lah, but I don't have the time and energy to go down just to fix a new problem. Unfortunately it seems to be a CON. that’s why most local mechanics cannot be trusted. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 7:47 PM, Mkl22 said: Unfortunately it seems to be a CON. that’s why most local mechanics cannot be trusted. agree, last time got engine light on and mech say need to change ecu, luckily din trust the fellow, bought cheapo obd from TB and diagnosed is sensor fault, got the replacement from stockist think less than $60 self replaced and solved the issue (heng the sensor accessible lah😄) 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 4:52 PM, Lala81 said: Yup I'm pissed off that this happens for preventive maintenance when there was no issue in first place. If ignition coils are so fragile. Then they would be included for regular maintenance. Either it's dishonest or incompetent. Either one I also dunno what to say lah. If i lived abroad, and can do myself, I would... it happens 😁 ignition coil casing is made of plastic and rubber, over time they turned brittle because of the exposure to engine heat if you don't disturb them, they will probably continue to work without issue when your backside itchy, wanted to do preventive maintenance then the mechanic pull/yank them off, the brittle plastic/rubber will crack those microscopic/fine cracks will cause arching resulting weak spark or no spark as the electrical energy went to the arching leak hence misfire 6 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 7 Share May 7 (edited) On 5/7/2025 at 8:57 PM, Gnahp said: it happens 😁 ignition coil casing is made of plastic and rubber, over time they turned brittle because of the exposure to engine heat if you don't disturb them, they will probably continue to work without issue when your backside itchy, wanted to do preventive maintenance then the mechanic pull/yank them off, the brittle plastic/rubber will crack those microscopic/fine cracks will cause arching resulting weak spark or no spark as the electrical energy went to the arching leak hence misfire 60k km need to change ignition coil liao. Then Hyundai must be damn lousy quality. All the USA drivers will have class action suit already. You tell me 100-120k km I bo wei gong... Never heard of anyone needing to change ignition coil at 60k. Maybe even an alfa might find that hard to achieve. Edited May 7 by Lala81 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 (edited) On 5/7/2025 at 9:10 PM, Lala81 said: 60k km need to change ignition coil liao. Then Hyundai must be damn lousy quality. All the USA drivers will have class action suit already. You tell me 100-120k km I bo wei gong... Never heard of anyone needing to change ignition coil at 60k. Not even the most suspect French. I think about 80k can start failing. 60k is too early. But some are quite cheap like 12 bucks each. Edited May 7 by Volvobrick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 9:10 PM, Lala81 said: 60k km need to change ignition coil liao. Then Hyundai must be damn lousy quality. All the USA drivers will have class action suit already. You tell me 100-120k km I bo wei gong... Never heard of anyone needing to change ignition coil at 60k. Maybe even an alfa might find that hard to achieve. You go watch YouTube on Korean cars in USA. Quite many condemn them about reliability. I would think pretty valid. but gnahp is right. If coils anyhow yank can possibly spoil. But have been changing my plugs many times before, never had an issue. Maybe Japanese car plugs or merc stronger. can pm the shop? 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 9:15 PM, Volvobrick said: I think about 80k can start failing. 60k is too early. But some are quite cheap like 12 bucks each. Angmoh websites all say typically 120 to 160k km leh. If really so laoya. They just might as well sell iridium spark plugs with ignition coil as a package cos both last roughly the same length. The fact that they don't even mention it in the manuals means it doesn't spoil that easily. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 7 Share May 7 (edited) On 5/7/2025 at 9:21 PM, Mkl22 said: You go watch YouTube on Korean cars in USA. Quite many condemn them about reliability. I would think pretty valid. but gnahp is right. If coils anyhow yank can possibly spoil. But have been changing my plugs many times before, never had an issue. Maybe Japanese car plugs or merc stronger. can pm the shop? 🤣 I think even a French car can't be this bad... Just search 黄牛 translated in Google. Maybe I'm just suay lor. But really my last time. I actually dislike going to the mechanics. No. 1 most F ing irritating thing is when I pass them the car, they just listen OK ok boss servicing. but never f**king use a pen and paper to write down what the f I tell them. Then 3 hrs later if you don't remind them when they message you, they don't remember. I get being just an employee but how the F u run a business like that. This one thing alone I see 70-80% of the time. Seen so many times. You can't have a bloody pen and post it note on you? And just stick it onto the bloody steering wheel straight away. And tick off what's been done. Edited May 7 by Lala81 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 9:10 PM, Lala81 said: 60k km need to change ignition coil liao. Then Hyundai must be damn lousy quality. All the USA drivers will have class action suit already. You tell me 100-120k km I bo wei gong... Never heard of anyone needing to change ignition coil at 60k. Maybe even an alfa might find that hard to achieve. our last car hor.... the original ignition coils lasted until we traded in the car at 9 years 8 months (280,000km) spark plugs changed twice, at 100,000km and 200,000km both done by me, I think I am more careful than your mechanic 😁 5 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 9:41 PM, Gnahp said: our last car hor.... the original ignition coils lasted until we traded in the car at 9 years 8 months (280,000km) spark plugs changed twice, at 100,000km and 200,000km both done by me, I think I am more careful than your mechanic 😁 Sure. My previous cars and my dad's previous cars all hit 120k + and never had to change ignition coils. That's why I'm so bloody Dulan today. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 (edited) On 5/7/2025 at 9:41 PM, Gnahp said: our last car hor.... the original ignition coils lasted until we traded in the car at 9 years 8 months (280,000km) spark plugs changed twice, at 100,000km and 200,000km both done by me, I think I am more careful than your mechanic 😁 You also diy radiator and oil leaks ah? Mercedes sure to leak coolant and oil. 🤣 Edited May 7 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 10:05 PM, Mkl22 said: You also diy radiator and oil leaks ah? Mercedes sure to leak coolant and oil. yes, DIY replace coolant pipe, rocker cover gasket, turbo pipe etc easy and got meat one, I will eat those difficult got bone one, I will send to workshop, bo bian I also don't like workshop people touching my car every time fix one thing, damage two things 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 9:33 PM, Lala81 said: I think even a French car can't be this bad... Just search 黄牛 translated in Google. Maybe I'm just suay lor. But really my last time. I actually dislike going to the mechanics. No. 1 most F ing irritating thing is when I pass them the car, they just listen OK ok boss servicing. but never f**king use a pen and paper to write down what the f I tell them. Then 3 hrs later if you don't remind them when they message you, they don't remember. I get being just an employee but how the F u run a business like that. This one thing alone I see 70-80% of the time. Seen so many times. You can't have a bloody pen and post it note on you? And just stick it onto the bloody steering wheel straight away. And tick off what's been done. Such strong words coming from you, can imagine how angry/frustrated you were.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 4:47 PM, Lala81 said: Its OK if you have few apps. Now every Tom dick Harry function also need an app. Yah man, KNN jiak png also need download app and ownself order. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 9:33 PM, Lala81 said: I Maybe I'm just suay lor. But really my last time. I actually dislike going to the mechanics. my air filter last time i open and clean myself, np at all i go mech, the first time he open nia, he break my air filter housing........., and i need to order from korea, say what car old already, rubber and plastic very brittle...... alot of mech are not gentle with our car 1. 2 1 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 7 Share May 7 On 5/7/2025 at 9:41 PM, Gnahp said: our last car hor.... the original ignition coils lasted until we traded in the car at 9 years 8 months (280,000km) spark plugs changed twice, at 100,000km and 200,000km both done by me, I think I am more careful than your mechanic 😁 confirm, our own car, we gently slowly dismantle the parts, mech do, they want fast job, chip chip chop chop, any thing break, then : boss this this this spoil, need to change😑 i wont say all, there are some mech and boss out there that really treat your car as their own car, i meet b4, but really very very few ↡ Advertisement 4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...