Ender Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 11:17 PM, Lala81 said: My dg had panic attack in p5 and p6 due to likely some academic stress. So I spent a few days and did some research into this. I let her watch some videos and I went though with her the following concept. I dunno whether it will happen again but at least I've given her a framework to approach the problem. There's only one permanent solution to a real phobia actually. There's a book on this topic but I can't remember the title offhand. If the stimulus is known, say u are afraid of dogs. You can employ cognitive behavior therapy by getting yourself desensitised to the stimulus. So this is helpful for kids who can't control themselves or those really anxiety disorder type of adults. For young kids scared of my dog including my nephews and nieces, have to let them be in the room with a dog far away doing it's thing. Then gradually they get used to dog somewhere close. Then get it to touch it's fur. Then slowly etc etc until they can have the dog in the lap and be totally fine. Similarly more extreme will be those letting a snake be wrapped around your neck for the photos at the zoo etc. Some even dare to kiss the snake right. If the stimulus is unclear, say like having some academic or life stress causing a full blown panic attack, the only way is to WILLINGLY accept the anxiety. Basically a panic attack is a immense IRRATIONAL fear. "I'm going to die". What you do is that You actually EMBRACE all the sensation of a panic attack. You tell yourself "bring it on, let's see how bad this fear can make me feel". You might feel like you are going to die. But when u haven't died 20mins later, you will see it as overcoming some of that phobia. It may happen several times and it will slowly become less and less overpowering. The problem with just trying to control your breathing and calming your mind is that you are validating your minds perception of the fear. It will eventually boil over somewhere some time. You cannot tell yourself it's irrational when you are trying to protect yourself from it. You can only tell yourself it's irrational when you essentially laugh at it. Of course if the fear is justified of standing near an open ledge/precipice on a cliff, then doing the above may get you in serious harm. And is it worthwhile to confront some minor fear you have. I don't think my mild claustrophobia needs to be fixed since I am a 6 foot guy who is genuinely uncomfortable in tighter seat space. Just be a goggins. EMBRACE THE IRRATIONAL FEAR. The mindset coming into and at the end of panic attack makes a 100% difference. "I'm glad it's over" vs "IS THAT ALL YOU HAVE FOR ME, MOFO?" This is like the philosophy in most movies. To overcome your fear, you have to confront your worst fear face to face. Bring it on.. My had also had panic attack, result in hyper ventilation. Last time rush to KKH , A&E, where they didn't find anything. Ruled out asthma too, and any heart related issues. They say likely anxiety, coz high CO2 detected. On and off till secondary school will get it. By poly, he had outgrown it. I also think this is why he was exempted from IPPT in NS. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 11:17 PM, Lala81 said: My dg had panic attack in p5 and p6 due to likely some academic stress. So I spent a few days and did some research into this. I let her watch some videos and I went though with her the following concept. I dunno whether it will happen again but at least I've given her a framework to approach the problem. There's only one permanent solution to a real phobia actually. There's a book on this topic but I can't remember the title offhand. If the stimulus is known, say u are afraid of dogs. You can employ cognitive behavior therapy by getting yourself desensitised to the stimulus. So this is helpful for kids who can't control themselves or those really anxiety disorder type of adults. For young kids scared of my dog including my nephews and nieces, have to let them be in the room with a dog far away doing it's thing. Then gradually they get used to dog somewhere close. Then get it to touch it's fur. Then slowly etc etc until they can have the dog in the lap and be totally fine. Similarly more extreme will be those letting a snake be wrapped around your neck for the photos at the zoo etc. Some even dare to kiss the snake right. If the stimulus is unclear, say like having some academic or life stress causing a full blown panic attack, the only way is to WILLINGLY accept the anxiety. Basically a panic attack is a immense IRRATIONAL fear. "I'm going to die". What you do is that You actually EMBRACE all the sensation of a panic attack. You tell yourself "bring it on, let's see how bad this fear can make me feel". You might feel like you are going to die. But when u haven't died 20mins later, you will see it as overcoming some of that phobia. It may happen several times and it will slowly become less and less overpowering. The problem with just trying to control your breathing and calming your mind is that you are validating your minds perception of the fear. It will eventually boil over somewhere some time. You cannot tell yourself it's irrational when you are trying to protect yourself from it. You can only tell yourself it's irrational when you essentially laugh at it. Of course if the fear is justified of standing near an open ledge/precipice on a cliff, then doing the above may get you in serious harm. And is it worthwhile to confront some minor fear you have. I don't think my mild claustrophobia needs to be fixed since I am a 6 foot guy who is genuinely uncomfortable in tighter seat space. Just be a goggins. EMBRACE THE IRRATIONAL FEAR. The mindset coming into and at the end of panic attack makes a 100% difference. "I'm glad it's over" vs "IS THAT ALL YOU HAVE FOR ME, MOFO?" Panic attack and anxiety issue i believe most people might experience it somewhere some part in their life, really depends on how the person face it, conquer it and overcome it. I think there is no 100% cure for it and it might come back again or might not come back again. Some people even the panic attack happens again, they might be able and know how to handle it, but it still means it does not completely go away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 (edited) There's a music piece which a scientific study found actually brings down the anxiety level up to 65%. My son found it boring can't sit thru it, force him will make him lose his patient. Prefer his rock music instead. https://www.psychiatrist.com/news/worlds-most-relaxing-song-may-reduce-anxiety-by-65/#:~:text=Weightless outperformed all other tested songs, reducing stress,rate, lower blood pressure, and reduced breathing rates. In case someone wants to try, I think need to have a cooperative mindset to be effective. I don't have. Edited May 31 by Ender 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 11:22 PM, Lala81 said: Claustrophobia is not a completely irrational fear after all. You can get stuck or suffocate or be entombed in a cave due to landslide or anything. But irrational responses like opening emergency doors etc is overdone. Lol Getting inside a lift or got stuck inside a lift when it breakdown can trigger a bad panic attack due to claustrophobia. Some people with claustrophobia even if got stuck inside a MRT train is scary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 11:38 PM, 13177 said: Panic attack and anxiety issue i believe most people might experience it somewhere some part in their life, really depends on how the person face it, conquer it and overcome it. I think there is no 100% cure for it and it might come back again or might not come back again. Some people even the panic attack happens again, they might be able and know how to handle it, but it still means it does not completely go away. I'm not saying that the anxiety symptoms will go away. Especially for those with tendency to have it. But eventually it will reach a point where u can function with it still there. Then it becomes the regular anxiety and fear that we all should rightly have. I can only say if u try to be avoidant with it, it will come back to bite your ass in a big way. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 11:40 PM, Ender said: There's a music piece which a scientific study found actually brings down the anxiety level up to 65%. My son found it boring can't sit thru it, force him will make him lose his patient. Prefer his rock music instead. https://www.psychiatrist.com/news/worlds-most-relaxing-song-may-reduce-anxiety-by-65/#:~:text=Weightless outperformed all other tested songs, reducing stress,rate, lower blood pressure, and reduced breathing rates. In case someone wants to try, I think need to have a cooperative mindset to be effective. I don't have. I find all these so called calming music that experts use for people who have anxiety issue rather useless la. I still think it is up to the individual to find their own method and ways to calm and overcome their anxiety. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 11:43 PM, Lala81 said: I'm not saying that the anxiety symptoms will go away. Especially for those with tendency to have it. But eventually it will reach a point where u can function with it still there. Then it becomes the regular anxiety and fear that we all should rightly have. I can only say if u try to be avoidant with it, it will come back to bite your ass in a big way. True, avoiding anxiety/panic attack indeed not a good way, even though some experts advise to avoid triggering of anxiety is to avoid doing things that will trigger it. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 On 5/31/2025 at 11:36 PM, Ender said: This is like the philosophy in most movies. To overcome your fear, you have to confront your worst fear face to face. Bring it on.. My had also had panic attack, result in hyper ventilation. Last time rush to KKH , A&E, where they didn't find anything. Ruled out asthma too, and any heart related issues. They say likely anxiety, coz high CO2 detected. On and off till secondary school will get it. By poly, he had outgrown it. I also think this is why he was exempted from IPPT in NS. For myself cos of my xp, and I knew my girl has no asthma, then it was very obvious that it's due to anxiety. Anyway both times I know we are partly responsible for the trigger cos we were critical of her academic output earlier. But the solution was not to baby her into not accepting criticism. I would say that the above is more for confronting outright panic attacks. For like just regular vanilla anxiety, coming up with plans ahead of time does help. I also had some minor problems with anxiety at work over the years. And while my solution was not exactly the same, coming out with a fixed plan and setplay and adjusting the mindset did help with the anxiety. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear May 31 Share May 31 (edited) @Lala81 Thanks Dr for your sharing👍 in fact i also kind of accepted it since it doesn't affect me much except i don't dare to fly anytime soon (i can't confront it on an actual plane right 😄) just dun understand how it came abt since i dun I have it when younger since i was referred to a psychiatrist, then i shall take this chance to find out what is the actual stimulus and work on it, doesn't matter the outcome😉 Edited May 31 by Gunzy 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 31 Share May 31 (edited) On 6/1/2025 at 12:52 AM, Gunzy said: @Lala81 Thanks Dr for your sharing👍 in fact i also kind of accepted it since it doesn't affect me much except i don't dare to fly anytime soon (i can't confront it on an actual plane right 😄) just dun understand how it came abt since i dun I have it when younger since i was referred to a psychiatrist, then i shall take this chance to find out what is the actual stimulus and work on it, doesn't matter the outcome😉 Maybe is aging. Some lao lang when old can easily trigger delirium... My father had it during his hospital stay. Later found out from geriatric is some old people has this under stressed condition. Edited May 31 by Ender 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 1 Share June 1 On 6/1/2025 at 12:52 AM, Gunzy said: @Lala81 Thanks Dr for your sharing👍 in fact i also kind of accepted it since it doesn't affect me much except i don't dare to fly anytime soon (i can't confront it on an actual plane right 😄) just dun understand how it came abt since i dun I have it when younger since i was referred to a psychiatrist, then i shall take this chance to find out what is the actual stimulus and work on it, doesn't matter the outcome😉 Not only anxiety issue, many things you might don’t have it when younger or when older but suddenly it just happens, also don’t know the actual cause. Like me i have motion sickness when i am a kid, then when go army the motion sickness miraculously no more and continue quite a few years after ORD until start working also no more motion sickness, but then it came back suddenly again decade ago until now and my motion sickness is like become quite bad now and doesn’t go away.😅 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear June 1 Share June 1 maybe u need tekaning like in ns and stressiing out like when starting out to work 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 2 Share June 2 New study shows Exercise improve Survival rate for Cancer patients. https://www.msn.com/en-sg/news/other/health-experts-have-argued-exercise-could-improve-cancer-survival-now-they-can-prove-it/ar-AA1FVDOv Health experts have argued exercise could improve cancer survival. Now they can prove it 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3 Share June 3 On 6/3/2025 at 2:51 AM, Ender said: New study shows Exercise improve Survival rate for Cancer patients. https://www.msn.com/en-sg/news/other/health-experts-have-argued-exercise-could-improve-cancer-survival-now-they-can-prove-it/ar-AA1FVDOv Health experts have argued exercise could improve cancer survival. Now they can prove it That's what my oncologist said when i finished treatment. Exercise is better than any drug. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3 Share June 3 Angmoh also starting buying prc running shoes. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 3 Share June 3 On 6/3/2025 at 3:09 PM, Lala81 said: Angmoh also starting buying prc running shoes. Ya, I saw this video. The best thing he progressed from Aliexpress to Taoabo app with translation. Really no excuse for Singaporean who claimed not being able to navigate TaoBao app. AMDK can use translation to get good deals, Singaprean with better grasp of Chinese should do better. His review of QiaoDan PB is similar to my experience. So far China has produced very good super racing shoes, almost on par with the Nikes or Adidas at a fraction of the cost. Only the daily trainers they need to catch up. But the future looks promising. Li Ning Red Hare 8 Pro, Qiaodan Strong Winds 3 TR are recently reviewed to be the ASICs Novablast alternatives for daily trainers. I had just placed an order for the QD Strong wind 3 TR on PDD platform yesterday, hopefully it won't disappoint. Going forward, my shoes rotation will likely to be all China Shoes. AMDK shoes looks like no longer a good deal. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 3 Share June 3 He asked how often do we put on sunscreen when we go out into the sun. I almost never. No wonder the cashier keeps on asking for my senior citizen card. I replied to her, I am very old meh? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 4 Share June 4 For the avid runners here...may i know the music loop you guys listen to while running...? Have searched on yt...but too angmoh taste to me...even the search words that included jogging, music for asian...returned techno kind of genre...😂 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...